We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid”

Rose and Thistle Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose and Thistle Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Alwinton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
“Splendid”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

After a long ramble in the Nothumberland national park this was just the end station we needed. A warm welcome, good menue and comfortable rooms after a long walk. Wonderful garden and beatuful location. A very nice place indeed. This is what a pub in the countryside is all about. Recomended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pål T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

On a damp Northumberland Spring bank Holiday, with a hungry wife and her mum we dropped into the Rose and Thistle for lunch. Lots on the menu to choose from and half portions should you not want a big meal midday, Real ale and dry cider on draught(wife can't stand the sweet and trendy stuff).
Comfortable lounge and great service from friendly staff, and good value from a good menu.Easy to recommend this after a good days walking at the top of the Coquet valley, or just to have a run out to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Called into the pub on a walking trip and instantly felt at home. This is a 'Country Pub' in the true sense of the word. The main bar is a big comfortable room where children are welcome until 9.30pm, and the seating is plentiful; there's also pool table for the athletically inclined.
No fake horse brasses or boring hunting prints here, just some posters for the local agricultural show and upcoming village events. The single draught real ale was excellent.
Most impressive of all is the hospitality of Gareth and Jane the proprietors, which extended on our second visit, to giving us tired ( and well refreshed! ) visitors a lift home during a brief quiet spell.
Their accommodation looks clean and comfortable; next time we visit we will stay there too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pritchmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Just had a week (some of that shared with family) at Hosedon House at Alwinton.Fantastic holiday home,spacious,very well equipped to a very high standard and in the most beautiful location.Ate at the Rose and Thistle Inn next door- great food- especially the chips!
Would love to stay here again-we all had a brilliant time. Thankyou.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evenhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at Hosedon House, which is adjacent to the pub, for the weekend. We were a group of 3 couples on our annual get together and this was one of the best accommodations we've stayed in. Very social kitchen and lounge and lovely spacious bedrooms all en-suite. Had a lovely meal in the pub on the Sunday, overall we had a fab time!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here for a weekend of walking. A warm welcome from both our host Gareth and the real fire in the guest lounge set the scene.

A nice bedroom with a good, hot and powerful shower in the en suite and huge bed. Excellent breakfast included fresh fruit salad, cereal and a cooked English breakfast with lovely local sausages and bacon and possibly even more local eggs.

Basic but good pub food and a well kept pint of real ale in the bar was just what we needed after a slog round the hills in the freezing gales.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Loved this place - took my whole family for my dads birthday and took all 3 rooms in the b&b - lovely warm fire downstairs and great food and welcoming atmosphere in pub next door. Highly recomended!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie_nige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rose and Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Thistle Inn

Property: Rose and Thistle Inn
Address: Alwinton NE65 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alwinton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alwinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rose and Thistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Thistle Inn Alwinton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing