We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place To Unwind or Celebrate”

Rose and Thistle Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose and Thistle Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Alwinton B&B and Inns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Unwind or Celebrate”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having spent some time in the area over the years, the Rose & Thistle always offers all guests a warm and friendly welcome. I recently celebrated my 60th birthday there and a grand time was had by all. The food is always first class and there is always a quality Real Ale on tap.

If you are ever in the area, take the time to pay a visit.

Haydn H Watson.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haydn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

just a quickie to say how much we enjoyed our stay at the Rose and Thistle .... Firstly ..amazing food yet again .. followed by amazing beer and wine .. lots of it !!! followed by beds so comfy you can't get out of em !!!! Gareth , Jane and Jean , and of course the rest of the team you make everyone so welcome it's hard to leave thankyou so much for a wonderful stay , it made my birthday worth celebrating ... we will be back yet again ...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

a truly delightful alwinton inn. the food was delicious and reasonably priced, the accommodation was clean and comfortable with every amenity and the landlord and his family were extremely helpful in every way. I would most definitely recommend this lovely little inn with its beautiful gardens, good food and well stocked bar .. an absolute joy to stay there. x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valstephinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've popped in to the Rose & Thistle on several occasions to have a pint at the end of a walk but never have I stayed there before, what a treat!!!

All 3 rooms are furnished in lovely rustic style, we had the double room and it was great, comfortable mattress, no rolling into the middle, the best shower I have had in a long time, TV, kettle, complimentary bottled water, biscuits, the lot. Good value for money too.

Private eating area and sitting area downstairs, shared between the 3 rooms, lovely ancient building, well looked after.

Great traditional british cooking, made to order, the dinner, breakfast and even the packed lunch was amazing.

Cannot fault it and we'll be rushing back as soon as feasable.

Thank you so much Gareth and Jane, it was delightful, we shall return and bring all our friends :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My son recently moved to Alwinton and since that time the Rose and Thistle has been our first choice venue for a number of family get togethers. There is always a friendly welcome and the food is excellent - home cooking at it's best - a great choice for Sunday lunch. Tender meat and perfectly cooked vegetables followed by apple crumble or sticky toffee pudding. Lovely. The real ale - Tyneside Blonde - is recommended by my other half and I have enjoyed the dry cider on draft and various of the wines on offer. A country pub that's well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megaln035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Arrived filthy, sweaty and a little weary after a long day walking over the Cheviots as part of the Northumberland Inn Way to be greeted by a wonderful beer garden with the most amazing views of the surrounding countryside, basking in the afternoon sunshine and a friendly, convivial landlord who welcomed us with open arms. Both our expectations were surpassed by our stay at The Rose & Thistle. The pub was buzzing with other guests and the steak pie for dinner was delicious. Our accommodation was very comfortable with an amazing power shower that soon had us feeling refreshed. Had a long chat to the landlord who helped us out with further instructions for our last day of walking and met a charming pair of cyclists whom we shared a hearty breakfast with before setting off again. All in all a little gem of a pub in beautiful countryside and perfect for walkers, cyclists or families. Brilliant, thank you. Sue and Penny

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The morning after the week before. Just spent an amazing week staying at Hoseden House cottage in Alwinton. Spent it with mum and dad and two lots of aunties and uncles so seven in total. We have been doing this for the past seven years and by far this was the best property we have ever stayed in, it has everything you could ask for great location, great facilities and it's next to the owners pub which has good food and cold beer, what more could you want. The owners are lovely and to be honest I find the Northumberland people to be so so friendly and nice. We hope there son gets fit soon after breaking his arm on the trampoline while we were there. Just a few things to help you enjoy your stay a little more. If you have a couple of hours to spare turn left out of the drive and drive towards Chew Green the scenery is awesome and the sheep and lambs beware, also if in Alnwick and fancy some great fish & chips make sure you head for Carlos in the town centre, been here twice and they are very very good. Also if your heading in from the coast and want some excellent food try tThe Cook and Barker at Newton on the Moor it's worth the detor and is on the way to Longframlington and Rothbury etc. Please don't forget to visit Cragside an absolute must when in this area. Well back to work Thursday and looking to book next years trip, this will be hard to beat but I will have fond memories and hope one day to return. If you wonder why I put Where's Patti take a look in the visitors book, there's some strange people in this world.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigbert2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rose and Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Thistle Inn

Property: Rose and Thistle Inn
Address: Alwinton NE65 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alwinton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alwinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rose and Thistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Thistle Inn Alwinton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing