We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Anchor cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Anchor Cottage is a stone-fronted fisherman's cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Anchor Cottage is a stone-fronted fisherman's cottage
the view of the 'Bank Top' (water's edge) from the rear of Anchor Cottage with private bench the pretty rock garden at the rear of the cottage, in summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Anchor Cottage is a stone-fronted fisherman's cottage
the view of the 'Bank Top' (water's edge) from the rear of Anchor Cottage with private bench
the pretty rock garden at the rear of the cottage, in summer
the beach at Druridge Bay, a stone's throw from the cottage
Seven miles of sand and dunes, often with hardly a soul in sight
kitchen/diner with roof lantern and panoramic sea view
kitchen/diner with roof lantern and panoramic sea view
kitchen/diner with wood-burning stove, and double doors leading to living room
kitchen/diner with double doors leading to living room
kitchen/diner with wood burning stove
living room with wood burner, flat-screen smart TV and DVD
There is a lovely view of a medieval Pele Tower from the living room bay window
master bedroom with king-size bed, wall-mounted flat-screen TV and sea view (morning)
master bedroom with king-size bed, wall-mounted flat-screen TV and sea view (evening)
master bedroom (looking towards the front of the cottage) with wall-mounted flat-screen TV
second bedroom, with twin beds, also with sea view
there is a spectacular sea-view from both bedrooms
view of the 'Bank Top' from both bedrooms
downstairs bathroom with bath (there is also a shower room upstairs)
upstairs shower room (there is also a bathroom with bath downstairs)
hall showing front door and stairs
stairs with sturdy bannister
Anchor Cottage
Anchor Cottage
sit back on the bench with a glass of wine and enjoy the sea view
The 'Bank Top' is spectacular at sunrise
...and equally so at dusk
view of the medieval Pele Tower from the front garden
view of the medieval Pele Tower from the front garden
In February, the woods around the Pele Tower are full of snowdrops
paved and enclosed front garden - a sun-trap !
front gate of Anchor Cottage
front door
rock garden at the rear of the cottage in Spring
rock garden at the rear of the cottage (on a stormy day)
the view from the 'Bank Top' on a stormy evening !
fishing on the beach at dusk
sunset on the beach, a stone's throw from Anchor Cottage
sunset on the beach
sunset viewed from the bench on the 'Bank Top'
walking back along the beach to the cottage at dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cresswell, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katherine...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Anchor cottage”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This cottage is everything you hope it will be. It was a spontaneus booking for us and we wasnt dissappointed. Everything is thought of. The beach is wonderful and clean The bench on the bank top is great for morning coffee Afternoon aperitifs and evening hot chocolates.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
The bench on the Bank Top is addictive, isn't it ? You can sit for hours and watch the ever-changing view. Hot chocolate sounds like a good idea too. Really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Anchor Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This cottage is fabulous, it looks brilliant in the photographs but even better in real life. The cottage has been decorated to a very high standard and is immaculately clean. The views from the panoramic kitchen window are outstanding, you can see miles out to sea and it gets even better upstairs where there are Juliet balconies in each of the bedrooms. The cottage was lovely and cosy at night and had wood burning stoves in the kitchen and sitting room with plenty of logs supplied to fuel them. Everything was there to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone thinking of visiting Northumberland as it was in an excellent location with the beautiful sandy beaches a stone's throw away. Check-in and check out was easy and Nigel and Jane (the owners), were easy to contact if there was a problem. Thank you Nigel and Jane for a lovely stay in your beautiful cottage, it's definitely the top of my list for a revisit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for these very kind comments. It's great to hear guests saying they want to return to Anchor Cottage. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect stay.”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Anchor Cottage was a perfect retreat for our 4 night stay. It was beautifully finished and very comfortable with everything we needed. Location was ideal as it was right on the beach. Can't wait to return for a longer stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Thanks for this review, and we're glad you enjoyed the cottage and the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret5...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Stunning cottage, stunning location.”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I really can't speak highly enough of this cottage. It was a real treat to stay there, a far higher standard than any cottage that I have stayed in before. This is really high end, very tasteful, yet comfortable and welcoming. There was nothing missing, so very well thought out, and arriving to find home made cake and milk in the fridge, plus locally made marmalade (with gin - ta ra!) was very nice. I doubt that I will ever stay somewhere with such fantastic sea views again. There is a lot to do in the surrounding area, including lots of lovely eating places. The owners left a lot of useful information and were very friendly to deal with. Simply lovely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
Wow, what an amazing review - thank you for taking the time to write it. We're always thrilled when our guests let us know that they love the place as much as we do. Glad you enjoyed the marmalade - we always try to leave something that's made locally. You're welcome back to Anchor Cottage anytime !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
f l
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Anchor Cottage is wonderful.great views from every window, whatever the weather. We really enjoyed the great cake that was waiting for us and the fresh flowers that made us feel like welcome guests not just renters.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
We're delighted that you enjoyed the views from Anchor Cottage. Sunrises and sunsets can really be spectacular, and the sea is ever-changing, of course. Glad you appreciated the welcome touches, and hope they helped you feel at home in the cottage. Come back soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
757patric...
Bingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfection by the sea”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Anchor Cottage is really lovely, as are the owners. They have converted this fishing cottage into a beautiful holiday let. I have stayed in many holiday cottages and this is truly excellent, nothing has been forgotten and the situation next to the sea is to die for! Sunset and sunrise and a never ending changing coastal scene is perfect for a relaxing break. The beach a minutes walk is fabulous too, but shhhhhh please keep it to yourself :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
What a wonderful review - thank you so much. We're glad you loved the cottage, and 'discovered' the peace and beauty of Druridge Bay, as we did a few years ago ! We'd be delighted to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance J
Wath-upon-dearne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Anchor Cottage”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A must stay, relaxing views from your bedroom and kitchen, has everything for your holiday stay enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Great to hear that you found Anchor Cottage well-equipped and comfortable, and that you enjoyed the views. Come back soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing