We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Three Wheat Heads Inn
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
112
63
13
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
63
13
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssimonside hillslambhot tapdogs welcomebig portionsmenu is extensiveking prawnsfantastic foodviews are fantasticdessert menucharming villagebeer gardenthe portion sizethe pubgreat sunday lunchvegetarian optionsevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed one night with some old friends. Very pleasant old inn. Staff very efficient and helpful. Room very good - great sleep. Food excellent. Highly recommended. Only criticism is the bar is not really a comfortable bar to sit and chat in after a meal - we went up the hill to an old pub instead.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed for three nights on the last weekend of March. The room was really nice with good furnishings. Bathroom was nice and clean if somewhat cool.

The view out across the hills would have been absolutely amazing I am sure but we had very poor visibility all through our time in the Rothbury area but it was very atmospheric.

The staff were really very friendly and we treated as one of the family.

The decoration and carpeting in the public areas was getting a bit tired but all in all it was a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night at the end of March. The room was really nice with good furnishings. Bathroom was nice and clean if somewhat cold.
The view out across the hills was absolutely amazing, especially with the clear blue skies of the morning.
The staff were really friendly. The decor and carpeting in the public areas is getting a bit tired but all in all a very pleasant place to stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SSVG030905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Dropped in for a bit of lunch on a sunny Tuesday . Didn't want a big meal , so went for starters , I had the black pudding and my girlfriend had the king prawns .. Well ... What a treat , both presented beautifully .. Even the side order of garlic bread had a lovely salad with it !! And the tastes were sublime .. Brilliant .. and served with friendliness by the staff . To top it off , sat in the garden with views to die for on the first warm day of 2014 .... Fantastic experience !!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Absolute stunning scenery , first class food. Warm atmosphere staff could not do enough for us. Made us feel very welcome. We met Guinness the Labrador so friendly. The rooms are very comfortable warm and cosy. Enjoyed our stay so much we have booked to stay New Year's Eve to hear the band and pipers.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews