We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Three Wheat Heads Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Thropton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have driven past this Inn many times without stopping but this time we did stop, on the recommendation of a friend. We called in at lunchtime when the weather was very bad but there were still quite a few people in the restaurant even though it was midweek off season. The waitress was very friendly and gave us ample time to choose our courses. The food portions were huge and of very good quality, a visit here for dinner is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJM0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    56
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
70
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Went on spec for Sunday lunch on bank holiday. Got a table despite turning up on what was clearly a very busy day. Staff were friendly and helpful, if a bit stressed. Nevertheless, our carvery was served fairly quickly and was very enjoyable. Prices reasonable. Some of the other food being served also looked delicious. I would definitely go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TheRover44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed one night with some old friends. Very pleasant old inn. Staff very efficient and helpful. Room very good - great sleep. Food excellent. Highly recommended. Only criticism is the bar is not really a comfortable bar to sit and chat in after a meal - we went up the hill to an old pub instead.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ploppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed for three nights on the last weekend of March. The room was really nice with good furnishings. Bathroom was nice and clean if somewhat cool.

The view out across the hills would have been absolutely amazing I am sure but we had very poor visibility all through our time in the Rothbury area but it was very atmospheric.

The staff were really very friendly and we treated as one of the family.

The decoration and carpeting in the public areas was getting a bit tired but all in all it was a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night at the end of March. The room was really nice with good furnishings. Bathroom was nice and clean if somewhat cold.
The view out across the hills was absolutely amazing, especially with the clear blue skies of the morning.
The staff were really friendly. The decor and carpeting in the public areas is getting a bit tired but all in all a very pleasant place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stf1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Dropped in for a bit of lunch on a sunny Tuesday . Didn't want a big meal , so went for starters , I had the black pudding and my girlfriend had the king prawns .. Well ... What a treat , both presented beautifully .. Even the side order of garlic bread had a lovely salad with it !! And the tastes were sublime .. Brilliant .. and served with friendliness by the staff . To top it off , sat in the garden with views to die for on the first warm day of 2014 .... Fantastic experience !!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Absolute stunning scenery , first class food. Warm atmosphere staff could not do enough for us. Made us feel very welcome. We met Guinness the Labrador so friendly. The rooms are very comfortable warm and cosy. Enjoyed our stay so much we have booked to stay New Year's Eve to hear the band and pipers.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thropton
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.3 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Wheat Heads Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Wheat Heads Inn

Property: The Three Wheat Heads Inn
Address: Front Street, Thropton NE65 7LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Thropton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Thropton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Wheat Heads Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-year-old coaching inn and B&B. A friendly traditional village pub, recently refurbished throughout with stunning views over the Simonside Hills. Five en-suite bedrooms, free car park, Wi-Fi access, excellent home cooked food, pet friendly. Enjoy a pint of local ale next to our roaring open fire. Rothbury 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Three Wheat Heads Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Wheat Heads Inn Thropton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing