We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in the Coquette valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Three Wheat Heads Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Thropton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our summer stay in Thropton confirmed our view.

The rooms are fine, the service ideal and the views are exceptional.

Meals are great - we enjoyed two breakfasts and one evening dinner, and no complaints at all.
Indeed the quality was beyond expectation.

Room Tip: WiFi appears to be in lounge area only - but that suited us fine. Mobile phone coverage is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I ordered lamb cutlets that were supposedly from a spring lamb... well which spring? What we were served was chops from an old sheep thick with fat, big thick mature bones and extremely tough. It was disgusting!

As a butcher for over 50 years I know meat from an old beast when I see it.

However the service was very friendly and the view one of the most spectacular in all of England.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yorke_Thom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a very enjoyable stay in a rural pub/hotel in the Rothbury Hills/ Simonside Hills. The views from the garden are excellent and the staff were very attentive to the needs of our group. Breakfast service was a great mixture of good English Breakfast food and a touch of 'School Dinners' for those who might have experienced the specialist restaurant in London. Very funny experience for us all though I'm not sure it is available for everyone's visit!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popsicle4Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Food was delicious, 9+ out of 10. Service great, Our room No. 5 was clean and the bed comfy. Only downside was the en-suite. Shower door needs changing, the shower switch needs looking at. The hand basin was loose, took 4 to 5 mins for hot water to come through, and 1 night and in the morning no hot water at all, nothing came out of the Hot tap. Toilet cistern , push button kept sticking. The en-suite needs a full make over. It really spoilt our stay.

Room Tip: No 5 room was always full of smells coming from the kitchen. Ok when extractor fan was switched off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elcanbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I went here for a meal on a recommendation from the manager of our holiday rental. The restaurant has a brilliant view over the valley and the staff could not have been more helpful. The food was quite simply fantastic. The menu is fairly extensive and caters for all tastes. The staff were very helpful in explaining the menu and the sercice was superb and friendly. We will go again if we have time. They really do have a good chef.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royle_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Sad circumstances led to a group of us holding a 'wake' for a departed friend at the Three Wheat Heads last week. One friend arranged a full (14 piece) Pipe Band to play for a couple of hours in the inn's garden. Another arranged with the hotel to provide (very good) buffet food outdoors for an uncertain number of people. We used up all five bedrooms at the inn and most of us had dogs with us. One room's bathroom flooded and brought down a ceiling in the bar downstairs... Many other of our activities that weekend must have impacted on the inn's regular restaurant trade yet through all this, George and his staff remained calm and helpful and attentive to our needs. The result was a most memorable send-off for our departed friend. I would certainly go back to eat or stay at the Three Wheat Heads. It's in a lovely village, in a great location. Food, including breakfast, very good. Prices reasonable too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely, clean, well-decorated and furnished room in an old inn with stunning views over the hills. Breakfasts were great and evening meals quirky but tasty. Owner and staff all very friendly though, like other places we ate locally, they must struggle to find young wait staff who really know what they're doing. Deeply disappointed to find no shower in the bathroom (room 3) but maybe we overlooked that somewhere. Would double check next time but definitely go back.

Room Tip: Check for a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splenetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thropton
2.1 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 11 in Rothbury
720 reviews
10.8 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#27 of 68 in Alnwick
293 reviews
6.9 mi away
Clennell Hall Hotel
Clennell Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harbottle
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Rothbury
152 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse
0 mi away
Thropton Demesne Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Wheat Heads Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Wheat Heads Inn

Address: Front Street, Thropton NE65 7LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Thropton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Thropton
Price Range: £75 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Wheat Heads Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-year-old coaching inn and B&B. A friendly traditional village pub, recently refurbished throughout with stunning views over the Simonside Hills. Five en-suite bedrooms, free car park, Wi-Fi access, excellent home cooked food, pet friendly. Enjoy a pint of local ale next to our roaring open fire. Rothbury 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Three Wheat Heads Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Wheat Heads Inn Thropton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing