We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very busy - even on a Thursday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Three Wheat Heads Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Three Wheat Heads Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Thropton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
579 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Very busy - even on a Thursday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Friendly staff, views at the back of this pub / restaurant, as other reviewers have said are stunning. My steak and mushroom pie was lovely, as was the gravy, chips and veg, my partner's chicken was a little over-done and the Mexican chilli style sauce was a little like something bought in ? Very busy, good atmosphere, nice location overall.

Room Tip: We only used the restaurant so can't comment on the hotel ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    56
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
68
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just spent 5 nights at hotel and had a great time. Room spotless with wonderful view of hills. A very warm welcome from all. Breakfast sets you up for the day - chef doesn't believe in small portions. Recommend the evening meals just starve yourself before you go - big portions and worth every penny. Definitely going back again when in the area. Missing the views already.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz5917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here for one night, the staff were friendly and chatty which was nice as I was travelling alone, the view from my room was stunning, the room was spacious and comfortable, the only small moan is that the shower in the bathroom didn't work, however this would not stop me stopping here again. Food was great, including the breakfast. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I was in room 1, amazing view although I think most rooms would offer the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

A chance visit to the Three Wheat Heads last year was so delightful that we chose to spend a couple of nights there this year and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. A very warm welcome awaited us and our immaculately clean well-appointed room had the delightful view across the valley which had enhanced our visit to the restaurant last year. The friendly helpful staff efficiently served our beautifully presented, delicious food and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast presented us with a tantalisingly extensive choice which we were encouraged to tailor to our individual requirements and the tasteful presentation made eating into that extra special experience. Set in the beautiful Northumberland countryside with 2 very local National Trust properties to explore, we look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our summer stay in Thropton confirmed our view.

The rooms are fine, the service ideal and the views are exceptional.

Meals are great - we enjoyed two breakfasts and one evening dinner, and no complaints at all.
Indeed the quality was beyond expectation.

Room Tip: WiFi appears to be in lounge area only - but that suited us fine. Mobile phone coverage is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I ordered lamb cutlets that were supposedly from a spring lamb... well which spring? What we were served was chops from an old sheep thick with fat, big thick mature bones and extremely tough. It was disgusting!

As a butcher for over 50 years I know meat from an old beast when I see it.

However the service was very friendly and the view one of the most spectacular in all of England.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorke_Thom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a very enjoyable stay in a rural pub/hotel in the Rothbury Hills/ Simonside Hills. The views from the garden are excellent and the staff were very attentive to the needs of our group. Breakfast service was a great mixture of good English Breakfast food and a touch of 'School Dinners' for those who might have experienced the specialist restaurant in London. Very funny experience for us all though I'm not sure it is available for everyone's visit!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Popsicle4Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thropton
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Wheat Heads Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Wheat Heads Inn

Property: The Three Wheat Heads Inn
Address: Front Street, Thropton NE65 7LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Thropton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Thropton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Wheat Heads Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 300-year-old coaching inn and B&B. A friendly traditional village pub, recently refurbished throughout with stunning views over the Simonside Hills. Five en-suite bedrooms, free car park, Wi-Fi access, excellent home cooked food, pet friendly. Enjoy a pint of local ale next to our roaring open fire. Rothbury 2 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Three Wheat Heads Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Three Wheat Heads Inn Thropton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing