We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a treat!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning
the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
The interior is bright and airy with fantastic views, especially from the bay.
The view from the cottage of the Cheviot Hills
The garden at the rear extends to over 2 acres
Level access via the garden gate, secure parking for cars. Garage parking for mobility scooters
We also take winter bookings!
fabulous sunsets
Horizon of the Otterburn ranges
On the hill behind the cottage
The Farne Islands
Bamburgh Castle
Coach House floor plan
New Year 2015 at the Coach House - Nuthatch
Roebuck in velvet 11.1.15.  Roe Deer graze on the lawns most days
We love our deer, but they are not supposed to do this!
The doe who will hopefully produce a couple of fawns around June time
May time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thropton, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JackBenso...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed with our 3 dogs late March 2015, we had a great welcome and shown directly to the Coach House by Graham (thanks for the welcome wine and chocolate!). The Coach House was perfect for us humans and dogs. Loads of outdoor space for the dogs to safely explore and inside was warm and cosy. Fabulous sunsets out on the decking, we had all kinds of weather, sun, wind, rain and snow! But mainly dry and sunny. Would highly recommend the Coach House to anyone holidaying with their dogs.

Plenty of local places to visit and walking is exceptional, the local Three Wheat Heads allows dogs into the bar where food is served (food is fantastic-try the restaurant).

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location was fantastic for walking, the property is perfect for those with dogs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sazbott
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unwind & rewild”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

After booking a quick getaway weekend with my dog, The Coach House was just perfect! The location was great for reaching many of Northumberland's treasures and I literally couldn't have wished for a better place to retreat to. The Coach House is a little slice of magic and is super well equipped with everything you'd need to function as a home from home. Very cosy with a beautiful enclosed garden for my 4 legged, a little bit too cold to sit outside in the March evenings, however, I did enjoy sitting in the window at night, so still got to gaze at the huge expanse of stars over the panoramic view that Coach House is blessed with. The hosts were wonderful and we were met with a very warm welcome & some lovely touches were left in the house such as wine, flowers and chocolate. Oh and I slept like a rockstar! Such a comfy bed and pure peace... (The wine may have assisted!!) We will definitely look forward to returning in the summer where we can enjoy the stunning views and garden in all its glory. Perfect.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steccers
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Coach house is a quirky lovely place to stay. It is small, but our three nights were perfect. It is very well equipped with everything you will need for cooking at home.
The chocolates, wine and flowers were a lovely touch.
It was really cold for our visit, but the house is toasty warm.
Graham the owner is always on hand and answered my many emails and questions promptly.
He was very accommodating with our five dogs. Four of them being outdoor kennelled gun dogs, he allowed us to keep them in the garage which is directly underneath the property and was a great help to us.
Overall, I would highly recommend The Coach House.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d0nachie
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, tranquil and picturesque.”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This accommodation Is ideal for couples with dogs. The property is up a quiet lane with an enclosed garden, perfect for our four legged friends. There are plenty of walks from your door step. We received a warm friendly welcome from Graham. The property had everything you need with outstanding views. We were even lucky enough to see a dear on the owners lawn. Loved the log burner outside to sit and have a drink around on an evening. Couldn't fault the place, we even received fresh flowers, wine and chocolates.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie B
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We have just returned from the coach house at Lynnholm after a fantastic weekend in a lovely cottage. Graham the owner is a lovely man who gives you a very warm welcome. The cottage is very well equipped you need to bring nothing apart from you, your clothes, food and drink Graham has thought of everything, lots of information is available for the surrounding areas as well. Thank you once again Graham for the wine,chocolates and flowers they were very much appreciated. Our dog Dexter came with us and had a great time running round the enclosed garden. Would we return - that is a definate. If you want to get away from everything in a beautiful cottage in beautiful quiet surroundings the Coach house is a must.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark J
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Graham and Jackie the owners have a lovely place to stay perfect for couples and the dog.
A real gem of a place so peaceful and views to remember.
A perfect location for a perfect break.
We will definitely be going again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulinean...
Northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well Equpped Romantic Bijou Bolthole With Stunning Views”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Myself, hubby and 2 dogs arrived on a Friday to a very warm welcome from Graham, personally escorted us to the cottage, which was fantastically well equipped. Very comfy bed, stunning views and very peaceful location with good walks from the door. The wine, chocs and flowers were gratefully accepted and appreciated. Spent the day in nearby Rothbury (my place of birth) bought some award winning sausages from the butchers, had a picnic lunch down by the river (unusually warm weather for time of year), then visited family who still lives in the village. Our two Bichon's loved the garden and had a few mad half hours chasing each other. Found the rooks at dusk very atmospheric and took some great video footage. I can thoroughly recommend this lovely property and hope to re-visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing