We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Honeymoon”
other travellers have booked this property
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning
the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
The interior is bright and airy with fantastic views, especially from the bay.
The view from the cottage of the Cheviot Hills
The garden at the rear extends to over 2 acres
Level access via the garden gate, secure parking for cars. Garage parking for mobility scooters
We also take winter bookings!
fabulous sunsets
Horizon of the Otterburn ranges
On the hill behind the cottage
The Farne Islands
Bamburgh Castle
Coach House floor plan
New Year 2015 at the Coach House - Nuthatch
Roebuck in velvet 11.1.15.  Roe Deer graze on the lawns most days
We love our deer, but they are not supposed to do this!
The doe who will hopefully produce a couple of fawns around June time
May time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thropton, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sjderbysh...
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon ”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have just got back from 5 days in an amazing location. The place has stunning views from inside and outside, we spent time sat in the window watching the world go by and then there was views from both decks which are just as amazing. The comment about been overlooked is rubbish the main house is across the lane but the coach house is actually higher on the hill! We hope to stay again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia P
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A wonderful well equipped dog friendly cottage. Large enclosed decking allowing dogs freedom with no danger of disappearing loved the decking especially at sunset, stunning views. Comfortable bed, plenty of areas to walk and visit local. Dog friendly pubs walking distance. Lots to do within a short car journey. Friendly "hosts" 10 out of 10 all round

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kadams301
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect Getaway!!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I have just spent the most amazing week at the Coach House. We had high expectations after looking at the pictures online and reading the reviews, and we were certainly not disappointed! The Coach House is warm, cozy and welcoming and very comfortable. Pictures on the website don't do it justice!
The house is well equipped, kitchen and bathroom are lovely and we could have sat in the sunroom forever watching the birds. The mature gardens are beautiful, so much so that we could easily have stayed in every day!! The owners Graham and Jackie were so warm and welcoming (thanks for the wine, choccies and flowers that were waiting for us) and we had absolute privacy all week.
Had lovely days out in Alnwick and Morpeth and enjoyed regular trips to Rothbury which is just a couple of miles along the road as well as local walks with some incredible views.
This is by far the loveliest place we have stayed, and we can't wait to get booked up again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the gardens, complete relaxation in beautiful surroundings
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GillAtHom...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL RETREAT WITH AMAZING VIEWS”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a fantastic week in this wonderful little cottage with its amazing views from the beautiful decking area witch surrounds the cottage and from the private decking/seating at the top of the garden where we enjoyed a wine or two, the cottage may be compact but for us this only adds to the appeal as it has been so well thought out and has everything you could possibly need and more with lots of little extras provided by the lovely owners who couldn't do enough for you (thank you so much for the wine, chocs and flowers such a lovely and thoughtful touch) we spent the days visiting lots of lovely places and had some very nice meals in the area but for us the best times were when we got back to our little haven, lit the bbq and opened a bottle or two! Later in the evening lighting we would light the log burner or simply enjoyi the views from the window seat, our dog had a fun time and it was lovely to let her explore and have a run around the enclosed garden. Thank you for a wonderful holiday we will defiantly return!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shannonwa...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little Gem”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Coach House is a perfect little gem. An amazing place to unwind, relax and destress. Perfect for any occasion, a romantic honeymoon, an anniversary, a special birthday or even a Christmas present. Pamper yourself with a trip to the Coach House or book it as a surprise present for friends or loved ones.

I will definitely be returning to the Coach House in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views, the privacy and the peaceful surroundings.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing honeymoon”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at the coach house for our 5 day honeymoon and it was perfect! We were greeted by Graham and given a tour with great warmth and humour. There was a fresh bunch of flowers, chocolates and a bottle of champagne (with glasses) waiting for us on arrival. We instantly felt relaxed and at home.
The outside space is magical with the choice of two tables on the balcony, and a short walk up to a private picnic area surrounded by trees and birds. We were lucky with the weather and able to sit out every evening.
The coach house is very well equipped with everything you need including binoculars, bird books, local maps and information leaflets.
We thoroughly enjoyed a meal at the Three Wheat Heads in Thropton which was a 15 minute walk.

We hope to come back to visit soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing