We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our Mini Moon at the Coach House”
other travellers have booked this property
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
The Coach House is situated in two acres of woodland on a private lane that leads up to the moors
the views from the Coach House over the surrounding countryside are stunning
the Coach House is surrounded by decking on 3 sides with great views
The interior is bright and airy with fantastic views, especially from the bay.
The view from the cottage of the Cheviot Hills
The garden at the rear extends to over 2 acres
Level access via the garden gate, secure parking for cars. Garage parking for mobility scooters
We also take winter bookings!
fabulous sunsets
Horizon of the Otterburn ranges
On the hill behind the cottage
The Farne Islands
Bamburgh Castle
Coach House floor plan
New Year 2015 at the Coach House - Nuthatch
Roebuck in velvet 11.1.15.  Roe Deer graze on the lawns most days
We love our deer, but they are not supposed to do this!
The doe who will hopefully produce a couple of fawns around June time
May time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thropton, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AngelaCar...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Mini Moon at the Coach House”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Well then , I will start with an apology to Graham the perfect host . I must have seemed like an excited puppy when we arrived - a little late sorry - I had been so excited from the day Phil had told me he had booked it for our 1st anniversary . And it didn’t disappoint in fact blew both of our expectations away . Now I’d read all of the reviews so thought it was going to be good , but it is exceptional . Everything you could absolutely want had been thought of . I’d taken bits in case I needed them , but Graham and Jackie had it covered from tea and proper coffee to shower gel , amazing . The Coach House is so snuggly it wraps its arms around you as soon as you walk in and gives you a massive hug . Just the place for our anniversary . We packed so much into our 4 night trip it was amazing , but I couldn’t wait to get back each day to snuggle up on the most comfy bed ever and just be . We will most certainly be back next year for longer . The best holiday adventure we have ever had . And a huge thank you for the Flowers, wine and chocolates , such a lovely thought . Ps hope the fish survived !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fl3tchpau...
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing week at the Coach House”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

After a year to the day married my wife and I wanted a break away somewhere special. We found the Coach House while looking on the internet and what a gem! The perfect mix of beautiful countryside and great accomodation(cosy,warm,charming,beautiful and so relaxing). Graham and Jackie were such lovely people to deal with, great communications upto the visit and so friendly and helpful. If you have not been before do not miss out on this very special place. Plenty to do in the area, you will be busy day after day. We are already planning our return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil P
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Place”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Another lovely holiday at the Coach House, been going there now for a number of years and cannot recommend it enough.Not only is it a great retreat after a busy day exploring towns,coasts and the Cheviots to name a few. It is so cosy, relaxing and well equiped for all your needs.Jackie & Graham have thought of everything. theviews from the decking that surround The Coach House are magnificent.We watch the Spotted Flycatchers fledge from a bird box on the side of The Coach House which was great, it also had a camera in the nest box whitch was linked to the TV for a close up.Alnwick is a short drive and well worth a visit.
We will be back next year to explore further.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doosra201...
rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a gem of a cottage”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a lovely place to stay. You get a warm welcome from Graham the owner and his wife. Everything is thought about to make your stay better. The cottage is well maintained and the views are simply beautiful. There are comments about it overlooking the owners house, it does but does not spoil your stay as the owners are unobtrusive. The garden is lovely and the decked areas are lovely to sit out out on.
We had a lovely stay here and the dogs did too. We will certainly return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
1 review
“Ideal 2 Person Get Away”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Up a very quiet lane, own parking, large garden and decking areas with fantastic views. The house is well equipped and makes a great base for exploring the Northumberland coast and Hadrians wall. Sunsets at this time of year over Cheviots are superb on clear nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham E
1 review
“Northumbrian delight”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautiful set in its own nature reserve,the Coach house is an unusual property which gives the impression of being in a treehouse. Clean, attractively furnished and well equipped,the studio and conservatory have a fantastic view over countryside towards the Cheviots. With extensive decking area it is ideal for solitude,relaxation or touring the attractive countryside and coast of Northumberland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
1 review
“Perfect escape”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Perfect cosy retreat with well thought out accommodation. Tranquil location and amazing views. Loads to do nearby or just enjoy relaxing in the beautiful garden. The dogs loved it too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing