We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostess With the Mostess”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thropton Demesne Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #3 of 5 Thropton B&B and Inns
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hostess With the Mostess”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Me and my partner stayed here a few weeks a go and my god can i not rate this place highley enough. Warm welcome through out our stay from the lady in charge whos name escapes me... Besides that we stayed in the Lavender Room which has a lovely view of the countryside and was most comfortable.
This B & B has a real family feel to it, and loved reading the book in the Room which i uderstand the manageress' father wrote, which i read over a glass of wine (which by the way i took with me and was allowed to chill it in the fridge, makes a lovely change from going to a hotel and being charged £20 for the pleasure of something i can buy for £8 at sainsburys). Following our wine we can recommend the three wheat heads pub for food on an evening.
After a blissful and quiet nights sleep in our room what a better way to start the morning with a full english!
What a treat this place was and can not recommend enough. This is my first review and won't be my last as i say as i find, and i find this b&b 5*
Will submit photos once i work out my new phone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    10
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
50
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We chose this b and b as it was indicated it was a 5 star establishment but it definitely was not. The room had back cobwebs, stains on the carpet around the tea making facilities inside the cups were stains of tea or coffee and the glasses were stuck to the coasters one glass had a crack and you couldn't see through them they were so smeary. The bedspread was filthy around the edge of one side. Now for the bathroom urine stains down the outside front of the pan, shower screen filthy with mould plus the rubber was hanging off. The bin hadn't been emptied, no toilet rolls and the lino on the floor had rust marks where the toilet brush stood. These rooms had not been cleaned for weeks. The breakfast that was a shambles, the table wasn't laid, we had to ask for toast and as for the fruit juice that was well out of date it was fizzy and the milk had bits floating in it. Booked in to stay for 5 nights and left after the first.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, Owner at Thropton Demesne Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
How dare this person try to ruin our business and our reputation built up over 12 years? We are responding to this whilst on holiday in France where we have been for the last 4 weeks. We have left the B&B in the very capable hands of two people. His comments state the room has 'back cobwebs'??? The marks on the carpet were the result of nail varnish being spilt by a guest when it was 3 days old. Nothing has been able to remove the splashes.
what exactly happened was as follows: Each of the two people looking after the B & B thought the room had been turned around by the other. An unfortunate mistake but that's the way it was. These guests gave an arrival time and then turned up very early. Having to wait in the carpark obviously got everything off on the wrong foot and they made it clear they were not happy about it. Our friend was not aware at that time that the room had not been prepared. The guests could have sat in the guests' lounge with a coffee whilst the room was cleaned but they chose to stand over her whilst she made up the bed. She was not aware the bathroom had not been cleaned and left the guests to unpack.
Breakfast: What kind of B&B doesn't set a table for breakfast? Who could eat cereal with milk that was off? Apparently, some people as their cereal bowls came back empty. This guest then strolled into the kitchen to ask sarcastically "Is your toaster broken?" He was reminded that we serve freshly home-baked bread as most guests prefer it and often buy a loaf to take home. He was asked if he wanted the bread toasted and he said he did and that's what he got. Then he came into the kitchen again at the end of breakfast to say, and I quote, "Thank you for a wonderful breakfast but we are leaving today because the room hadn't been cleaned."
So after a total misunderstanding for which we have apologised already to the guests when we learned of it, this has resulted in a ruined holiday for us due to this couple's intolerance to mistakes, refusal to allow the cleanliness issues to be rectified and keeness to write damaging criticism in a review.
We open up our family home to guests to share and enjoy. We are constantly told we have a beautiful home. Wonder how they would they feel with such comments directed at them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Having visited Thropton Demesne on several occasions I thought it was about time we left a review. This B&B offers excellent value for money and the rooms are spacious and clean. The showers are powerful and hot, beds are lovely and comfortable with high quality bedding, the breakfast offers more choice than most large hotel chains, and we have stayed in many. With unspoilt views over simonside and beautiful gardens, this place really offers peace and relaxation and we look forward to returning in the new year.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gail_morrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

OK, now -- we really did not want to write a review about the Demesne, as it can only be a brilliant one, and this would attract more people to our second home and make it more difficult for us to get a room. But reading the two not-very-nice reviews here made us change our minds.
We're a couple from Switzerland and we have travelled to Northumberland since 2001 when we first arrived on Dave and Pauline's doorstep, just three weeks after they had opened the B&B. We were at the time on a "Grand Tour" of England, staying in many, many B&Bs. But none could match Thropton Demesne. We have been coming back virtually every year since (which makes over ten stays of around ten nights each), exploring the region, hiking, driving - and most of all enjoying the company of Pauline and Dave, the kindest hosts anyone could wish for.
We have travelled quite a bit, and there is no other place in the world where we have returned to as many times. Frankly, I'm quite sure there never will be.
Pauline and Dave are putting all their effort and love into this gem of a B&B. We like the lovely decoration of the spacious rooms, the absolute quietness of the location (prepare for some sound sleep at night - or during the afternoon, for that matter), the stunning views (after all these years, it's still breathtaking to wake up and see Simonside out of your window), the cooked breakfast (which you have to pre-order the night before to avoid leftovers, here's to sustainable travel) and generally everything. If we could rate the place 7 stars, we would. Oh, and: We even spent our honeymoon there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huemul_Suizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East anglia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Having recently heard of Tripadvisor I decided to tell people about our stay. Dave and Pauline made us very welcome,and we had a room which we soon discovered was unclean.We picked up the glass tumblers that were upside down on coasters and they were both stuck to the coasters.We inspected the coasters and found that they were covered with dirty ring marks,they were never washed all the time we were there. The bath mat was dirty so we shook the bits onto the floor near the window,and the bits were still there on the day that we left. There was human hair on the top of the toilet bowl,and on top of the cistern,and also around the top of the bath.None of this was ever cleaned off during our stay.There was never any indication that toilet, bath or hand basin cleaners were used during our stay.The carpet around the hospitality tray was in a filthy state where people had spilt their drinks. It was also obvious that the room was never Hoovered while we were there.We considered all this was a health hazard. When we booked the Thropton Desmene website showed it to be a 5 Star Guest House granted by VisitEngland which wasn`t true so they were breaking the law.This has now been removed although their website still infers that it is a 5 star.The towels were not Egyptian,breakfast was not served in the conservatory,and there wasn`t a bathrobe in the room.(You shouldn't have to ask for it). Having to order the cooked breakfast every night was a first for us. The sausage and eggs were very good,but the bacon and mushrooms appeared to be " value" not local,and the tomato was cut across the top and grilled for a few seconds.Hardly anyone ordered the mushrooms and tomato after the first morning.We decided to put this down to experience, and not complain as it wouldn`t seem right when Dave and Pauline were so friendly.So,Dave and Pauline please get your act together before someone reports you to the Environmental Health Dept. Since our stay there we have been to two more farmhouse B & B`s that were listed as 3 star but were so good we thought they should be 5 star.Like another reviewer we are amazed at how pleased some people were with everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BluetitEastanglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, Owner at Thropton Demesne Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
As owners of Thropton Demesne Farmhouse B&B, we are horrified that we have received such a review. If there was a house-keeping problem during this couple's stay we were never made aware of any of it at the time, which was over two months ago. No complaint, no hint of a problem. The room they occupied has been in continuous use since then and not a complaint or bad review. We can date the time of their stay because we did not start serving breakfast in the conservatory until the beginning of August and did not advertise this until then. We also chose to come out of the VisitEngland scheme and removed all references to their rating from all our publicity. Why someone should wait two months to bring this complaint to the world's attention is beyond us and very distressing, particularly as we are referred to as "so friendly". For their information, we were 5 star rated for seven years prior to voluntarily come out of the scheme and as such are happy to consider our B&B as of high quality. We are happy to report that we have received our Environmental Health inspection and passed. Our breakfasts are also highly praised by most guests although there are always those who dislike what we do and how we do it. To them we can only apologise and if made aware of their likes and dislikes will always do our best to keep them and all other guests happy during their stay. We have noted the cleanliness issues and will more closely monitor the house-keeping. But why oh why use the keyboard as a weapon instead of a word in the ear at the time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Demesne bed and breakfast doesn't really do this brilliant place to stay, justice. Everything has been really thought through. Easy parking in a quiet yet perfectly placed location in Thropton, which is suitable for walking, visiting the area generally, fishing, golf and all other outdoor pursuits. Maybe just enjoying the countryside. The welcome is warm and genuine, the rooms are beautiful. The whole place is enhanced by home made bread and preserves and also the prolific writings and artistry of the owners. A communal breakfast table makes for affable conversation, the food is marvelous and plentiful with plenty of choice for all.
There is a local pub which also provides good food for an evening repast. The price for this gem is worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Fantastic family home which envelopes you like a big hug when you enter. Dave and Pauline were friendly, full of good advice and very approachable, nothing was too much trouble. The room we had overlooked the Simonside Hills, the view was outstanding. It had everything you needed with some very unexpected extras provided by our hosts (corkscrew, wine glasses, wine chiller, luxury toiletries and books). If you are lucky enough to visit read Dave's self penned tales they are hilarious. On a warm evening it is lovely to sit in the garden and share a glass of wine in amazing surroundings. The breakfast is wonderful with locally sourced produce and Paulines homemade bread and marmalade. Delicious! It is a great base for the National Park, the coast, amazing walking country, historic buildings and Kielder Water. Can't wait to visit again

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lavender Room, amazing view of Simonside Hills, comfy bed, excellent bathroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thropton
0.0 mi away
The Three Wheat Heads Inn
0.0 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Haven
The Haven
#9 of 12 in Rothbury
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thropton Demesne Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thropton Demesne Farmhouse B&B

Property: Thropton Demesne Farmhouse B&B
Address: Thropton NE65 7LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Thropton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thropton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B set in quiet location at the edge of village. 200 year old Farmhouse with stunning views across the River Coquet valley to the Simonside Hills beyond. Guests can be assured of a warm Northumbrian welcome with a proper home cooked breakfast and a relaxed, informal atmosphere. For a walking or touring holiday, a break for a special occasion or simply some chill out time, Thropton Demesne is definitely the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Thropton Demesne Farmhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thropton Demesne Farmhouse B&B Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing