We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Small but perfectly formed”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Coachhouse Conservatory
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse Bathroom
Coachhouse window
Coachhouse Conservatory
Coachhouse homemade preserves for sale
Coachouse downstairs toilet
Coachhouse Sitting Room/Kitchen
Coachhouse Coffee Machine
Coachhouse Sitting Room/Kitchen
Coachhouse Sitting Room/Kitchen
sitting area in main garden
Early morning view from the top of the garden
View of the pond
The courtyard
Another view of the pond in summer
Max enjoining the sun !
Breakfast!
New chairs and layout
Christmas
Christmas
Frosty morning
Early morning photo of steam rising from the river in front of my house
Sitting area beside the pond
Dahlias in full flower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Melkridge, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen C
South Shields
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Had a fabulous few days at the coach house, Everything you’d need is there. Perfect for the dog.
Fresh laid eggs for breakfast. Lovely bottle of red and homemade scones and shortbread when we got there
You can order meals from Jacqueline if needed. Will be back to enjoy the tranquility

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2018
Thank you Helen we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back again. Best wishes Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review it means a lot . we look forward to having you stay again. Best wishes Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suzanne H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great little house in a lovely location which is kitted out with everything you could possibly need for a short (or longer) stay. Our gorgeous Labrador was also made very welcome. Perfect place for visiting Hadrian's Wall, Hexham, Corbridge and generally beautiful countryside all around you. You just HAVE to try one of Jacqueline's amazing breakfasts, our stay wouldn't have been complete without it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
Thank you for your lovely review so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Old Brewery”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I chose to stay here for our Wedding Anniversay trip and we couldn't have chosen a better place to be.
The accommodation was pretty, comfortable and amzingly well equiped. Owner Jacqueline had left beautiful sweetpeas from the garden,homemade scones,a bottle of bubbly, fruit and chocolates. The place was spotlessly clean and an ideal base for everything we wanted to see and do in Newcastle and Carlisle and for walking Hadrians wall.
We had a wonderful time. Thank you Jacqueline we couldn't recommend a stay with you more highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Thank you Sarah for your lovely review, it was lovely having you stay with us and very pleased to hear you enjoyed it so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark John...
Consett, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend ”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the coachhouse over the bank holiday weekend, myself, my partner and our dog, the owners were very friendly, helpful and welcoming and even gave us some of their free range eggs and home made jam and scones as a welcome snack ( gorgeous!!) , there are lots of lovely walks in the close vicinity and if you need any extra groceries etc a very short drive ( about a mile and a half) gets you to Haltwhistle with lots of shops and takeaways etc. The cottage itself is immaculate and has everything you need for a lovely break, there is good parking and a lovely garden around you to sit and relax in. Anyone wanting a lovely relaxing break away from it all in peaceful countryside surroundings, this is the place for you !! .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review , we are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and your stay in Northumberland's beautiful countryside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful gem of a cottage with everything you could possibly think of.”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage has been well-equipped with every little detail being considered. It really was a home from home. Scones had been freshly made, eggs, tea, coffee and more importantly a bottle of wine in the fridge were waiting. Despite rain and snow, the coach house was very cosy and a wonderful starting point to explore the surrounding area. Hadrian's wall, Gretna Green, Cragside, Kielder Water, Hexham all within easy driving distances. So much to do that there was not enough time to fit everything in. Plenty of information of places to visit on site in the coach house itself. Wi-Fi was better than home!! First visit to Northumberland and it won't be the last. Would definitely book again!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Northumberland there's lots more to see and we hope you come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Anniversary Break”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is the first time we have visited the Old Brewery Coach House and we weren't disappointed. We could only do a late arrival, 7pm and we were still met by a warm friendly face in Jacqueline, who showed us around, and the house was lovely and warm especially as it was cold and wet outside. The facilities of the grade II listed building were second to none! Jacqueline has put a lot of thought into what is needed, everything you need for cooking, dvd's, board games, hairdryer, straighteners! There was also a bottle of wine in the fridge, fresh homemade scones, fresh eggs, bowl of fruit and sweets! The bed was super comfy, lots of fluffy towels too. I would give this accommodation 10/10. The Old Brewery Coach House is central to a lot of scenic walks, cycling and dog friendly pubs. Can't think of a negative about this property and would definitely return, hopefully for a longer stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review and best wishes on your anniversary and wish you both many more to come. I am sorry about the weather hopefully it will be better on your next visit ,best wishes and thanks again Jacqueline.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing