We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful relaxing weeks holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Brewery Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Brewery Cottage
The Old Brewery Cottage Patio Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The Old Brewery Cottage
The Old Brewery Cottage
Patio Area
Courtyard in spring
Views of melkridge
Cottage Bathroom
Cottage Bathroom
Cottage towel store
Cottage Main bedroom
Cottage Main bedroom
Cottage Main bedroom
Cottage Main bedroom
Cottage Landing
Cottage Sitting Room
Cottage Sitting Room
Cottage Sitting Room
Cottage Kitchen Homemade Jams,Chutneys and Marmalades for sale
Cottage downstairs bathroom
Cottage upstairs sitting room
Kitchen and dinning area ,door to ground floor bedroom
kitchen
Ground floor shower room
upstairs sitting area , TV built in DVD player
Up stairs sitting area
comfy sofa in up stairs sitting area
Summer time
Early morning view from the top of the garden
View of the front of the house with steam rising from the river
View of the pond
Pond
New raised planter in courtyard
Breakfast!
Christmas at the cottage
Christmas
A frosty morning
Girls in the snow
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor bedroom
Ground floor bedroom
Smaller double bedroom
Smaller double bedroom upstairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Melkridge, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris H
1 review
“Wonderful relaxing weeks holiday”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Celebrated my 60th biithday here with my family.the most comfortable holiday ever.An absolute home from home.thankyou Jacqaline and Ronnie

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your special birthday and wish you many more to come.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janewheel...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best cottage ever!!”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a find!!! The cottage is all you could wish for and more. Jackie and Ron have provided everything you could wish for to make your stay comfortable and worry free. They are knowledgeable of the area and always ready to answer any queries.
We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Thank you Jane for your great review, its lovely to know you enjoyed the cottage so much.
Thank you again for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
775r
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything provided in a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed three nights in this lovely cottage. It was better equipped than my own home with a washing machine, dishwasher, coffee machines. Jacqui provided tea/coffee and milk and wine! We enjoyed homemade jams and chutneys, scones and fresh laid eggs. The cottage was spotlessly clean, provided plenty of good quality pillows, duvets, blankets and even hot water bottles. Locality was great, on fringe of Hadrians wall and easy access to so many sites worth visiting. There was nothing I could complain about or be remotely negative about. We loved our stay here and found it relaxing and beautiful. I would recommend this accommodation to others and would like to think I'll be back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for your great review , I am so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back again you where lovely guests . Best wishes Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayne h
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Thank you to Jacqueline for making our stay as comfortable as possible, your cottage is amazing very cozy and every home comfort you can think of. Lovely people, lovely setting and we had a fab few days de stressing. It is situated just off the A69 between Carlisle and Hexham, all of the places to see and very close by. We will come back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: The wifi is very intermittent
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you Jayne for your lovely review . It was a pleasure to have you all to stay , I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to Northumberland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W
1 review
“Lovely accomadation”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Every home comfort. Lovely wine egge jam butter scones. Plenty of towels, books games.
Lists of information about the surrounding area. Friendly owners.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Thank you Carol for your lovely review, and thank you for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philbalch...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accomodation with added hospitality.”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Arrived at the Old Brewery to find a beautiful cottage with every amenity that we required and an added bonus of welcome hospitality.
The cottage we loved, our host Jacqueline gave us a warm welcome, including the provision of afternoon tea. The cottage was clean, fresh, warm and very inviting, everything we needed for our stay.
This is a really lovely quiet place to stay and just a short drive to Hadrians Wall.
Thanks for a great stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality and the uniqueness of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Thank you Phil for your lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for leaving the cottage so nice and tidy.
I hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in the uk.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_moto
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely cottage, very well equipped.
Warm welcome , and an excellent "welcome pack" including scones, jam, eggs and wine.
Excellent location for Hadrian's Wall, Kielder Forest, and The Borders

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thank you Sue for taking the time to give me a review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us , it was a pleasure to have you all stay . thanks again Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing