We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best find ever.”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Brewery Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Brewery Cottage
The Old Brewery Cottage Patio Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The Old Brewery Cottage
The Old Brewery Cottage
Patio Area
Courtyard in spring
Views of melkridge
Cottage second bedroom
Cottage second bedroom
Cottage Bathroom
Cottage Bathroom
Cottage towel store
Cottage Main bedroom
Cottage Main bedroom
Cottage Main bedroom
Cottage Main bedroom
Cottage Landing
Cottage Sitting Room
Cottage Sitting Room
Cottage Sitting Room
Cottage Kitchen Homemade Jams,Chutneys and Marmalades for sale
Cottage downstairs bathroom
Cottage upstairs sitting room
Kitchen and dinning area ,door to ground floor bedroom
kitchen
Ground floor shower room
ground floor bedroom
Double bed in ground floor bedroom
upstairs sitting area , TV built in DVD player
Up stairs sitting area
comfy sofa in up stairs sitting area
Summer time
Early morning view from the top of the garden
View of the front of the house with steam rising from the river
View of the pond
Pond
New raised planter in courtyard
Breakfast!
Christmas at the cottage
Christmas
A frosty morning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Melkridge, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo K
1 review
“The best find ever.”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was our second visit. Will go back again and again. Beautiful character cottage with everything you need. Host Jacqueline on hand with homemade pies, quiches and cakes made to order. Delicious. Variety of home made jams, marmalade and chutneys available as well as fresh eggs from chickens in the garden. Just a wonderful place for lots of r and r or loads of history just a stones throw away. Highly recommended just don't book when we want to go!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thank you Jo for your lovely review it is much appreciated , see you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyandJ...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy cottage with every amenity imaginable”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed in The Old Brewery Cottage for two weeks while volunteering at Vindolanda. The cottage is clean, roomy and unbelievably comfortable with extra throws and blankets for chilly September evenings. The beautiful garden, the source of eggs, jams and recipe ideas must provide an ideal venue for barbecues on summer evenings. We did almost all of our own cooking, making full use of the well equipped kitchen, only discovering Jacqueline's delicious home cooking towards the end of our trip. Not only were we only ten minutes from Vindolanda but Hadrian's Wall, Hexham and Haltwhistle are all close and well worth a visit.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Thank you Wendy for taking the time to leave me a super review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick A...
1 review
“Just Fantastic - delightful spacious dog-friendly - so welcoming.”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Centrally placed with easy access to Hadrian's Wall/Way this delightful spacious character cottage has everything as a perfect base for exploring Hadrian country.
The owners couldn't be more helpful and welcoming and will even provide meals if requested. Homemade jams and marmalades available in the cottage, just select and leave the money on the shelf!
Quiet village setting with very close access to the main Carlisle to Newcastle road gives you the peace for a relaxing break and the mobility for visiting attractions with the minimum of hassle.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thank you for your lovely review , I can honestly say it was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us and thanks for reorganising the cupboards you were right I can get more in now!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic find!”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just returned from a couple of nights in the Old Brewery Cottage - what a gem. The cottage was very clean, comfortable and well equipped - everything you could need for a relaxing break. Perfect for us, with three teenagers and a dog. Lovely welcoming touches including a bottle of wine, eggs and freshly made scones. Great location for walking on Hadrian's Wall. Jacqueline, our host, was fantastic too. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us hope you will come back to Northumberland and do some more exploring. Thanks again Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan A
1 review
“John & joan ”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have just had a wonderful weekend at the old brewery cottages where you have everything that you need and more .We were greeted on arrival by a very friendly gentleman called Ron who showed us around the cottage which is huge ( photos don't do it justice ) we had a lovely welcome gift of scones on arrival which were to die for . they were so nice we ordered some more to take home but we ate them all before we left . Thanks Jacqueline our diet went out of the window .This cottage is a gem of a place .And we will definitely be coming back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review , sorry about the diet ! it was a pleasure to have you all stay with us and would love to have you all stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leilah O
2 reviews
“Everything you could wish for, and much more!”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We spent a very relaxing pre-Christmas break at this warm and very comfortable cottage. We have stayed in many cottages in the UK and can honestly say this is one of the very best.

The welcome gifts were very much appreciated - the scones and mince pies were absolutely delicious. We are still enjoying the preserves and chutney, and wish we had bought more!

The creature comfort I loved the most was the soft, luxurious and absolutely huge bath sheets (and yes I have bought some for myself since I got back).

Many, many thanks to you Jacqueline.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2016
thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review for us . we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the towels! Thanks again maybe we will see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Old Brewery Cottage”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed with our daughter, grandson and our two dogs for the first weekend in November and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage is very comfortable and definitely a home from home with every possible convenience. Jacqueline was very friendly and welcoming and we would not hesitate to recommend this lovely cottage to our friends. Thanks again Jacqueline!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Thank you for your lovely review I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes Jacqueline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing