We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant recommend highly enough”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heddon-on-the-Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ironsign Country House
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cant recommend highly enough”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We arrived wet through and with great relief and Owen gave us a great welcome. Obviously boots come off before you enter the house (i would expect the same at my own house) but Owen provided us with newspaper to stuff our drenched boots and they were placed in the boiler room overnight to dry out.

We ate at the B&B, and the food was absolutely excellent, and marvellous value for money. it was so much better than the pub food we had been eating at other places we stayed at during the week, I would certainly agree with a previous reviewer that it was restaurant standard, and a very good restaurant at that,

The shower was hot, the towels were bath sheet sized, not silly little things (only the second place along our route which had lovely big towels). we were very relaxed, and felt clean and well looked after by the time we went for dinner an hour after our arrival.
Bedrooms were clean and nicely decorated, wonderful views.

Breakfast was great, Owen offered alternatives , as this was our last night having walked west to east, he commented that we must be fed up with 'the full English breakfast' a perceptive comment.

Best of all Owen had arranged for sunshine the following morning (hahaha, not really, but it was a beautiful day)
Owen and Helen saw us on our way the next day and even took photos for us
thank you Owen and Helen.

Debbie, Mary, Sheila and Angie

Just one suggestion , a sign on the B6138 showing where the B&B is, we almost walked past the junction onwards to Heddon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    39
    11
    8
    0
See reviews for
20
40
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We had a warm welcome on our arrival from Owen & Helen. It is ideally situated for walking the Wall. The bedrooms were nice and clean and spacious and plenty of hot water for the much needed shower after walking 10 miles. The added bonus being able to leave the car there whilst being away for several days walking.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank candmsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Our greeting wasn't friendly, we felt in the way as we had refused the 3 course meal, the owner was not prepared to allow us only one course. We had previously phoned to enquire about this and the answer was a resounding ` NO`. We found the room rather jaded and the whole place in need of some TLC. Breakfast was passable very basic and little choice.

Room Tip: Pass this one by if you can, trying to be something it's not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I have nothing but praise for Owen and his wife. I stayed there on the 04th May. Very welcoming place with fantastic views. I was so happy there was a bath to soak in and rest my aching feet. The evening meal was first class and lots of it. I was more than happy especially as I walked 2 miles off target listening to my headphones. I called the B&B and Owen came to my rescue . I would not hesitate to come and stay with you again

Beckie Scotcher

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The place is very nice, great views and good location. The room was good as well.
The problem with this place is the owner's oddness. When booking I told him we were vegetarians, and he said he could cook dinner for us, but on the day we were to arrive he called at 07.43 (!) in the morning to ask whether we ate fish; when I said no he sighed and complained about vegetarians. He repeated this when we arrived. The dinner he cooked was actually quite nice, but if it was such an effort he could have told us to eat in the pub!
Also quite annoying was the fact he didn't offer drying facilities for our boots; when we got there with wet boots he told us to leave them outside, but since they were very wet we brought them into our room (we placed them on our t-shirts to save the room!). Only late at night he offered to put them in the boiler room, but since there was no newspaper they were still wet the next day.
The breakfast was also quite disappointing; he didn't offer us a choice and just served me a veggie breakfast (consisting only of tomatoes, mushrooms and scambled eggs), which I didn't actually want. There was hardly any choice in cereals.
The owner just seems unaware of what walkers want and a bit awkward socially...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

our family group consisted of 8 adults, so we took up all of the rooms. It is well positioned for walking the Wall, we stayed for 2 nights. The B&B is very clean and comfortable, with baths! Great for relaxing those weary bones and feet, we'd walked west to east, so it was our final stay. We walked to the end from here, and taxied back, then on to where we had begun 6 days earlier. Owen went out of his way to ensure we had a taxi, providing us with phone numbers, and then finding a better deal for us.
The food was excellant, 8 had dinner the first evening, and 4 the second, with the others heading to the pub. All of the meals were delicious, including breakfasts.
The rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. We would definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Am surprised to read so much criticism of this b & b yet can't deny some of the things mentioned - yes, perhaps a little expensive for what you get. And true, only white toast with breakfast and true, no fruit or yoghurt on offer BUT enjoyed cereal and tempted to scrambled egg with tomato and bacon which was cooked to perfection. We chose our breakfast time to suit our wish to depart by 9am - maybe that suited Owen too so no problem there. Room - and particularly the bed - was very comfortable; tv did not have writing across it; there were both toiletries and heating on in the bathroom and the shower ran hot (however, did not try it after 8.30pm as mentioned by one reviewer). Could have done with an extra small towel (only one between us along with the two bath towels) and also an additional teaspoon - not only on the bedroom tea tray but also on the breakfast table where curiously there was only one between four of us. Am sure that Owen would have provided one had we asked! Welcome was warm and b&b is in an excellent position if you are walking Hadrian's Wall.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpottyTotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heddon-on-the-Wall
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Close House Hotel
#43 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
89 reviews
12.5 mi away
No photo provided
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
681 reviews
6.0 mi away
No photo provided
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
No photo provided
Hedgefield House Hotel
#1 of 20 in Newcastle upon Tyne
221 reviews
12.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hadrian Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wall
233 reviews
16.8 mi away
No photo provided
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ironsign Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ironsign Country House

Property: Ironsign Country House
Address: Military Road, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Heddon-on-the-Wall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Heddon-on-the-Wall
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The country house is ideally situated for a variety of visitors. Set in the Tyne Valley in beautiful surroundings yet within easy reach of Newcastle, the historic towns of Hexham and Corbridge. Newcastle airport is also easily accessed. Guests can dine in the farm restaurant where the menu features favourite French and other European dishes. An ideal location for exploring Hadrians Wall and Northumberland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ironsign Country House Hotel Heddon-On-The-Wall
Ironsign Country House Heddon-On-The-Wall, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing