We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ironsign Country House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heddon-on-the-Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ironsign Country House
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We felt welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. Our room was lovely, the host and hostess were charming, dinner and breakfast were delicious - fresh strawberries soaked in rum were the dessert the evening that we were there. The evening meal featured vegetables fresh from the garden. Perfect location on Hadrian's Wall Path. (Shaw party 8.13.12)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2012

Scenic location, premises very clean, evening meal well prepared, breakfast good but not much choice.
Proprieter, Mr Little is blunt to point of rudeness and beware, if you stay there, you report any deficiency, damage or breakage immediately to him to make sure you do not get the blame.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
3  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here for 1 night whilst walking Hadrian's Wall.
The room was extremely large with several windows looking out over open farmland. There were chairs and a sofa to sit on and the room had 4 single beds. The bathroom was also spacious with bath and shower over. The shower lacked pressure though.
Breakfast was sufficient.
The only gripe we had was that we had not booked an evening meal but felt somewhat coerced into dining there. the meal was £17.50 for 3 courses and the food was nothing more than mediocre. Be warned that if you are offered wine, you pay extra. This was not made clear.
Overall a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troll70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Started our walk from Wallsend, and made it to Heddon on the Wall just after 18:00, we called ahead to let them know we were still on the way and would reach Ironsign about 19:00.
What a great welcome we got, despite arriving just after 19:00 (they stop serving dinner at 19:00), we were served what can only be described as "one hell of a fantastic meal".
The rooms were very spacious, very clean and just what our feet ordered after 18 miles of walking- very comfortable beds.
As for breakfast, we could not have wished for any more - we were offered everything we could possilbly want.
This has to be one of the best B&B's we have every stopped in.
Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

On Hadrian's Wall path this is a very good first stop where you'll find comfortable, clean and spacious rooms and tasty food. The evening meal and breakfast were nicely cooked and generous portion sizes - great for walkers. We were well looked after and were grateful to our hosts who accommodated our unplanned early arrival.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 808GillPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Warm welcome, excellent dinner (unexpected;-)), large and comfortable room and bed with quite bathroom. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Some friends and I stayed here when attending a nearby wedding. Owen and his wife were friendly and accommodating, allowing us to check in early and leaving the front door unlocked for when we returned after 1am!

The rooms are spacious and clean, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are well appointed with good showers. Breakfast (cereal/toast/full English) was fine - generally a nice place to stay!

My only real niggle was the lack of card payment facilities - had to drive to Heddon to withdraw cash. Just sonething to be aware of!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshine_mel_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ironsign Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ironsign Country House

Address: Military Road, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Heddon-on-the-Wall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Heddon-on-the-Wall
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The country house is ideally situated for a variety of visitors. Set in the Tyne Valley in beautiful surroundings yet within easy reach of Newcastle, the historic towns of Hexham and Corbridge. Newcastle airport is also easily accessed. Guests can dine in the farm restaurant where the menu features favourite French and other European dishes. An ideal location for exploring Hadrians Wall and Northumberland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ironsign Country House Hotel Heddon-On-The-Wall
Ironsign Country House Heddon-On-The-Wall, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing