We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Hadrian's Wall”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heddon-on-the-Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ironsign Country House
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for Hadrian's Wall”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A great place to stay, with friendly and welcoming owners, tasty food (and plenty of it) and a perfect location if you are walking the Wall. Only stayed one night, but would return. Room was great and more than adequate for my needs, with ensuite and great sized walk in shower, and great views from the large windows. It is about 17 miles from Segedunum and as such it is in a great location on the Path for those doing the trek in 5 days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    38
    11
    8
    0
See reviews for
20
39
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We walked Hadrians wall, and this B&B was ideally situated - literally on the wall path. We were made very welcome, and our room was large and bright. We could have had an evening meal if we requested one. The breakfasts were very good. Had an enjoyable one night stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The food at Ironsign was out of this world and the best of the whole trip. Have never tasted food so good and would go back just for this.
The owners were also very friendly and welcoming, the bedroom was beautiful and pleasant. We began the walk in Newcastle and this was our first day of walking. We arrived tired and hungry and were very well catered for in every sense.
Many thanks.
Mandy and Kathy (the sisters)

Room Tip: Can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

6 of us walking Hadrian's Wall had an excellent stay. Superb even ending meal based on the farm's own fresh lamb and pork with a vast array of fresh vegetables. A very hearty breakfast and friendly service from Owen and Helen. We arrived wet and our boots were thoroughly dried out, the rooms were well heated and everything was spot on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our penultimate night's accommodation ahead of our last day of walking Hadrian's wall. Ironsign Farm is conveniently located right along the walking route and we were warmly welcomed by Helen on our arrival and shown to our room - which had a massive double bed, tea & coffee facilities, and en suite bathroom.
Owen had called in the morning to check if wanted dinner, and we are glad we signed up - what an amazing cook! We had a melon starter each, and then I had some of the most delicious roast lamb (a big complement from a kiwi!), with lots of roast veg and mashed potato, while my partner had equally nice pork and veg/potato. We then had a choice of 3 different desserts which were all great too. The 3 courses cost £17.50 which is very reasonable and on-a-par with what we were paying elsewhere. The one slight downside was that the 2 lagers we had between us were charged in addition to the £17.50 - which was not made clear up front (when offered to us it sounded like it was part of the deal) - normally not a problem except when there are so few cash points along the walk, cash supplies were very thin on the ground by this point. Just a small point, but one we wanted to make, and the one improvement we would suggest to Helen and Owen.
The bed was very comfortable, and breakfast the next day was great too - a hearty fry up and plenty of toast, great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiCoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We walked the wall with an 11-year old, fabulously, and Ironsign was our next-to-last stop, having walked from west to east. Our entire trip had been planned months in advance, each B&B along the way, seven of them, all really fine. We had intended to eat at the historic Robin Hood Inn on the way to Ironsign, so my husband had called Ironsign the night before to say we would not be dining in. As it turned out, Robin Hood's chef was on vacation and we found ourselves, after a 13-mile walk with a child, along with other Wall walkers, without a meal. We had a drink there and hoofed it on to Ironsign, arriving around 7 p.m. The proprietors kindly offered to drive us to the Swan, the nearest pub, for dinner, as their kitchen was shut down. Other B&B's along the way (at Bank, for example, and at Saughy Rigg) made this service of driving and picking up part of their accommodation, free of charge. The proprietor here was quite gruff and unpleasant on the drive to the Swan (fine, I don't mind gruff men, but we were paying customers after all and a certain courtesy is expected. He seemed to be resentful of us.). When my husband reached in his pocket at the end of the ride comically for another reason, the proprietor said no don't pay me. We had a fine meal and paid four quid for a cab ride back to the B&B.

In the morning a five quid charge was added to the bill for the drive to the Swan. My husband contested it and the proprietor became unpleasant (we paid in the end). This came shortly after the proprietress refused to serve my late-rising son breakfast (after the other guests had finished), but still before 9 a.m. He had hoofed long and hard the day before and had another 10 miles ahead of him this day. She said the kitchen was shut down. The cereals and juices were still out in the dining room -- that certainly would have sufficed and I offered to pay. I have thought long and hard about this for 10 days, and I have concluded that no right-thinking person would deny a child breakfast, especially when there are no other options around. We were completely stranded and I was dizzy with disbelief. We had some odds and ends provisions that would have to suffice until we could replenish somewhere on the road. We also had our swapped-out breakfast for lunch from the proprietress, which consisted of a single sandwich and nothing more. Other B&B's enroute had professionalized their swap-out lunches to include crisps, a chocolate bar, a piece of fruit, bottle of water, and some even had home-made cakes.

I understand this is a business and a business in someone's home, but when you are the only show in town does it hurt to have an extra roast chicken in the fridge to heat up for late-arriving guests, or boil a quick pasta, or plop down a bowl and cereal and pop some toast and feed people who have no other options in the area?? No excuse for not feeding a kid. So Dickensian.

On the positive side, the place was nice and our room was large and very comfortable and we had no hot water problems. The proprietress even brought up a small jug of fresh milk that night for our coffee in the room. I couldn't square this nice gesture with the food frugality, and I am disappointed to be so disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WallWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRONSIGN, Owner at Ironsign Country House, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We are disappointed with your comments, however the facts of the matter are as follows -
Your husband had negotiated and received a reduced rate because he didn't want to pay for breakfast for your son, who he said didn't eat breakfast and wouldn't be getting up for it.
I'm sure you remember that a place was set for your son, and he would have received a free one had he appeared, but again your husband said he didn't want one and was sleeping through. We did however make him a bacon sandwich free of charge.
You then appeared at 9am and asked if breakfast was finished and was everthing turned off, I replied it was - you said OK and that was the only dialogue exchanged.
On reflection I can only surmise that you were expecting to have another free breakfast.
We have since been informed by a previous B&B that you used the same approach re your son's breakfast.
Prior to your stay we checked with you at least twice what your requirements were re evening meal. Your husband was adamant that he didn't want to eat here, but at the pub. You arrived while we were busy attending to our other guests. Your husband stated that he didn't want to eat - he wanted to go to the pub and then informed us that we were to take you, and he also expected that "someone" at the pub would give you a free lift back.
The issue your husband had in the morning was the fact that we charged for the lift. It is the first time in Ten years that we have done this - I wonder why?
We are known in the North East for our hospitality, which is evident from our reviews, but we do not like being taken for granted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed here after our first day of walking Hadrians Wall. We were given a lovely warm welcome and served a very hearty homemade evening meal (book in advance - 3 courses for only £17.50). Breakfast was excellent too. Our twin room downstairs was lovely and clean, tea and coffee in the room with fresh milk provided aswell. Can't fault this place and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kazzybee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heddon-on-the-Wall
1.0 mi away
Close House Hotel
Close House Hotel
#41 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
89 reviews
12.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
680 reviews
6.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hedgefield House Hotel
Hedgefield House Hotel
#1 of 23 in Newcastle upon Tyne
221 reviews
1.7 mi away
Laburnum Guest House
Laburnum Guest House
#2 of 2 in Wylam
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ironsign Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ironsign Country House

Property: Ironsign Country House
Address: Military Road, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Heddon-on-the-Wall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Heddon-on-the-Wall
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The country house is ideally situated for a variety of visitors. Set in the Tyne Valley in beautiful surroundings yet within easy reach of Newcastle, the historic towns of Hexham and Corbridge. Newcastle airport is also easily accessed. Guests can dine in the farm restaurant where the menu features favourite French and other European dishes. An ideal location for exploring Hadrians Wall and Northumberland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ironsign Country House Hotel Heddon-On-The-Wall
Ironsign Country House Heddon-On-The-Wall, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing