We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heddon-on-the-Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ironsign Country House
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Strange place”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our last night, our 6th B & B, as we walked Hadrian's Wall. Large rooms, and comfortable as others have commented. Strangely the heating came on late, as we were going to bed, rather than at a normal time for an evening. But it was warm....finally. 'Set dinner' with a few choices only, was fine. We had eaten worse, and better, on the trip. We were tired and wanted an early start, so eating dinner 'in' was sensible. Helen was kind and helpful, Owen seemed rather less welcoming. I asked if I could drink a glass of my own beer at the dining table, in place of their wine, this was refused. Helen said 'he would not let you'. This expression suggested that there is little harmony in this house, something which one could feel. The outside is a mess, with broken flower pots, half laid flags, sacks of animal food lying open on the paths, broken pond, dead hanging baskets. Boots sit undried at the threshold. A convenient stop, but not of the same standard as others we used along the way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walton_rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    39
    11
    8
    0
See reviews for
21
40
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at this b and b last Saturday night, the 25th May 2014. Turning up late in the day and cold and wet, I had a warm welcome off Helen, and I am extremely grateful that she took the time and effort to drive me into Heddon on the wall for an evening meal. The property is immaculate and I had a very spacious, clean room, there is absolutely nothing I can find to fault with this establishment, so once again many thanks to Helen and Owen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A great place to stay, with friendly and welcoming owners, tasty food (and plenty of it) and a perfect location if you are walking the Wall. Only stayed one night, but would return. Room was great and more than adequate for my needs, with ensuite and great sized walk in shower, and great views from the large windows. It is about 17 miles from Segedunum and as such it is in a great location on the Path for those doing the trek in 5 days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We walked Hadrians wall, and this B&B was ideally situated - literally on the wall path. We were made very welcome, and our room was large and bright. We could have had an evening meal if we requested one. The breakfasts were very good. Had an enjoyable one night stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The food at Ironsign was out of this world and the best of the whole trip. Have never tasted food so good and would go back just for this.
The owners were also very friendly and welcoming, the bedroom was beautiful and pleasant. We began the walk in Newcastle and this was our first day of walking. We arrived tired and hungry and were very well catered for in every sense.
Many thanks.
Mandy and Kathy (the sisters)

Room Tip: Can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

6 of us walking Hadrian's Wall had an excellent stay. Superb even ending meal based on the farm's own fresh lamb and pork with a vast array of fresh vegetables. A very hearty breakfast and friendly service from Owen and Helen. We arrived wet and our boots were thoroughly dried out, the rooms were well heated and everything was spot on.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our penultimate night's accommodation ahead of our last day of walking Hadrian's wall. Ironsign Farm is conveniently located right along the walking route and we were warmly welcomed by Helen on our arrival and shown to our room - which had a massive double bed, tea & coffee facilities, and en suite bathroom.
Owen had called in the morning to check if wanted dinner, and we are glad we signed up - what an amazing cook! We had a melon starter each, and then I had some of the most delicious roast lamb (a big complement from a kiwi!), with lots of roast veg and mashed potato, while my partner had equally nice pork and veg/potato. We then had a choice of 3 different desserts which were all great too. The 3 courses cost £17.50 which is very reasonable and on-a-par with what we were paying elsewhere. The one slight downside was that the 2 lagers we had between us were charged in addition to the £17.50 - which was not made clear up front (when offered to us it sounded like it was part of the deal) - normally not a problem except when there are so few cash points along the walk, cash supplies were very thin on the ground by this point. Just a small point, but one we wanted to make, and the one improvement we would suggest to Helen and Owen.
The bed was very comfortable, and breakfast the next day was great too - a hearty fry up and plenty of toast, great!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiCoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heddon-on-the-Wall
1.0 mi away
Close House Hotel
Close House Hotel
#42 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
93 reviews
12.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
689 reviews
6.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hedgefield House Hotel
Hedgefield House Hotel
#1 of 20 in Newcastle upon Tyne
226 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Twice Brewed Inn
The Twice Brewed Inn
#11 of 62 in Hexham
472 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hadrian Hotel
Hadrian Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wall
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ironsign Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ironsign Country House

Property: Ironsign Country House
Address: Military Road, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Heddon-on-the-Wall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Heddon-on-the-Wall
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The country house is ideally situated for a variety of visitors. Set in the Tyne Valley in beautiful surroundings yet within easy reach of Newcastle, the historic towns of Hexham and Corbridge. Newcastle airport is also easily accessed. Guests can dine in the farm restaurant where the menu features favourite French and other European dishes. An ideal location for exploring Hadrians Wall and Northumberland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ironsign Country House Hotel Heddon-On-The-Wall
Ironsign Country House Heddon-On-The-Wall, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing