We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance (and sausages) in Northumbria”

Southlands Farm Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gunnerton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southlands Farm Cottages
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Elegance (and sausages) in Northumbria”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a splendid place. A welcome basket with home-grown and produced sausages, eggs from the farm's chickens, a bag of potatoes, even chilli-hot home-cured salami; a perfectly put-together kitchen; comfortable bedrooms; tasteful decor; eco-toiletries...there is vast attention to gustation and aesthetics in East Cottage and we three were comfortable throughout. More, the location is exquisite, tucked away in a knot of villages not a million miles from Hadrian's Wall, practically within the bounds of the Northumberland National Park and within reasonable driving distance from gems such as Cragside (the first hydroelectrically powered house in the world, and a treasurehouse of Victorian science and art) and the delights of Alnwick and the coast. So far, so remarkable. We were unable, however, to arrange to get more eggs (fresh farm eggs being an altogether different thing from the week-old shop-bought variety), although we left a message. Were we meant to telephone? The owners never seemed to be at home, leaving a slight feeling of imbalance in what was otherwise a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nisha09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stay 1 - 6th April,west cottage, where we stayed is lovely,gunnerton is a little out of the way, though for me this was a plus, and as long as you have transport its not a problem, the owners are very friendly, I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andcam331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Just spent 5 days at Southlands and what can I say. It was just superb, we stayed in the West Cottage and everything was just perfect. Dee and Charles the owners have obviously spent much time and effort making the cottages so welcoming and to such a high spec.
The meat from the Farm Shop was delicious and nothing was too much trouble.
On the advice if Dee we had a meal at the local pub which was also superb and very good value for money.
We will definitely be returning to Southlands and would highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spamcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Our first visit to Northumbria and we are already planning to go back. Staying at Southlands Farm Cottages was brilliant. The cottages are well equipped to a high standard. Dee's welcome pack was great and there was everything we needed for a great stay, plus large and very comfortable beds. Even better the dogs were welcomed. The rain could not diminish our enjoyment - greatly helped by the generous supply of logs for the fire that was not needed as the cottage was warm but which was a glorious addition to the few evenings we stayed in - being drawn back to the local pub in Barrasford by their superb menu, high quality local food and a marvellous Northumbrian welcome. Locally, especially around Hadrian's wall, there was too much to do in a week and everywhere we felt warmly welcomed.
Elizabeth R

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 202Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We are a family of four, with two dogs that live a fairly hectic lifestyle, but for one wonderful week we entered the idyllic life of Southlands Farm Cottages. The McGowan family are so helpful and welcoming, and only too happy to offer guidance towards activities or nearby locations for adults, children and dogs alike. During our stay we were able to go horse-riding, shooting, enjoy the wonders of farm life, help feed the pigs, walk amongst the very friendly Dexter Cows, and learn about the countryside and plants that we lived amongst. The children helped gather vegetables and fruits from the well-stocked cottage gardens raised beds and greenhouse, and I could not forget to mention the tasty freshly laid farm eggs and also the meats from the pigs and cattle.
At Southlands Farm you are seconds away from walking amongst the scenic Northumberland countryside on the farms own land, but if you did want to go farther afield then, Hadrian’s Wall and Kielder Forest offer walks and sailing for the active. For those of us, who enjoy to have a delicious meal cooked for you once in a while, I can strongly recommend the Barrasford Arms and also The Rat at Anick both of which are child friendly but with a hint of adulthood. You can really do as much or as little as you wish.
When we arrived at the cottage we were delighted to see in the kitchen a basket full of home-grown vegetables, eggs and sausages and bacon from the farm. As you enter the cottages they are immaculate and beautifully fitted out with eclectic touches such as handmade iron fittings, a mezzanine double bedroom, log burning stoves and the bathrooms kitted out with fluffy soft white towels and organic bath soaks and shampoos to sooth away aching limbs from a long walk. A drying room was a godsend for a family with children who loved the farm.
There is a real sense of care and responsibility about the countryside that Southlands Farm sits amongst. You are enveloped by the tranquillity and the beauty of your surroundings and then once inside the cottage you can indulge yourself in luxury, and a perfect holiday.
Thank you so much Family McGowan. We really didn’t want to leave and we will most definitely be back…

P.S – Save Halle Berry (The Dexter) when you go you will get to meet her!!

Room Tip: The Wast Cottage with its wet room and mezzanine Double bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gunnerton
3.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
9.0 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
3.0 mi away
Simonburn Bed & Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southlands Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southlands Farm Cottages

Property: Southlands Farm Cottages
Address: Southlands Farm, Gunnerton NE48 4EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Gunnerton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Gunnerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Southlands Farm Cottages Gunnerton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing