We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business”
Review of The Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Village Inn
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We've all stopped there a few times now on business and we have all loved the service with a smile that we always get. Great ale and great food!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamDEWAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 100 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed at Fram Park log cabins near by and went down to The Village Inn a couple of times over our visit. Had a lovely pub dinner and sampled some beer which we were told they brewed themselves locally - and very nice it was too! It was very lively in the evening with the locals and we were made very welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My girlfriend and myself stayed for one night. Greeted on arrival by a friendly member of staff, who showed us to our room immediately.

The room was excellent. We have a king size bed at home but this seemed bigger, and also incredibly comfy. The room was very clean and modern, yet traditional. The view out the window was across fields where you could see the sea. You could sit up in bed and see this view, excellent on a morning.

The breakfast was also excellent, full English, good portion and good quality. The lady housekeeper and waitress could not do more for us, and when we mentioned we were going get a taxi to pick our car up (from wedding venue the previous day) she even managed to organise us a lift to pick our car up. The guy who gave us a lift was again very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

The pub has a bistro and it always seemed busy, a good sign. We didn't have time to sample, hopefully will next time. There is also the pub downstairs and a full size snooker table upstairs.

We have a powerful shower at home, and the shower wasn't as powerful as ours but more than adequate. The water was always piping hot whenever we needed it.

The room was above the pub, and we could hear a little bit of noise from the pub downstairs until about midnight. That didn't bother us as it wasn't for long, and we only noticed it when we turned off the tv. We still had great nights sleep. It was also saturday night so probably busier than other nights.

The only fault we had (if it can be called a fault) was that we only had one cup and saucer for coffee in the room. However, I can't really call this a fault as we never reported it because we weren't bothered as we went down for breakfast, and also, if we had reported it I'm confident we would have had two cups within as many minutes!

Excellent place to stay, friendly staff, good quality, brilliant value.

Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrGeorge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed with my girlfriend and another couple in the newly refurbished rooms and even got an upgrade into the master room with no extra cost.
stayed for 3 nights and even enjoyed a fantastic live band on a saturday night.
the food there was absolutley what we wanted. very good hearty pub food just what you need before a great night on the drink. the homecut chips were to die for.
the staff were very friendly and helpful and all in all had a fantastic long weekend away and will definately be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

If you believe the Village Inn's website you would be beating a path to their door for the Sunday carvery. Sadly we did.

Yes I agree the meat was delicious, BUT the vegetables, a good selection. But normally when I cook the Sunday lunch at home the vegetables are hot, yeap shock horror my family like hot veg. At best the veg was tepid, so much that my usually easy going dad complained, and they produced a plate of hot veg, streaming like mad from the kitchens.

Im sure all over the UK Sunday carvery providers have the same problem, but please its 2011 you must be able to give our customers hot veg, you sell this to foreign tourists as the British experiance, please try harder I thought the days of a glass of orange juice and its like as a starter was over,

We did give the Village Inn another chance a few nights later and the food from the menu was exceptable, the desert menu was very poor, but the hot chocolate sponge with hot chocolate sauce was very good.

And yes, the hand cut chips were amazing, very very tasty, so come on Village Inn,please try harder.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbert2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My family (7 of us) stayed here for a weekend. The showers failed in two of the rooms. We had to us the shower in a different room. We also had to ask for fresh towels. It was a pitty because the room was fine other than that. Staff were friendly. Food was ok, four of us had burgers for dinner and they were not cooked in the middle! Breakfast was fine. The room had no hairdryers.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by pictures of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pw1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longframlington
3.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
7.6 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Anglers Arms
The Anglers Arms
#1 of 5 in Longframlington
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Granby Inn
#5 of 5 in Longframlington
28 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
337 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Cook & Barker Inn
The Cook & Barker Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton on the Moor
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Address: Front Street, Longframlington NE65 8AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Longframlington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Longframlingto...
Price Range: £77 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Longframlington, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing