We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum Food!”
Review of The Village Inn

The Village Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Village Inn
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yum Food!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stopped at Linden Hall and decided to find a place to eat on the evening. The Village Inn was very close and seemed reasonably priced. We had a lovely home cooked meal. It had a nice friendly atmosphere. Its needs a bit of a reverb but the food was so yum and the staff so friendly we did not care.

Room Tip: The food is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsay w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    25
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
40
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was a last minute booking for new years eve and we are so pleased we found it.the hotel/inn is only 16 miles from where we live and what a find.we were made very welcome by the manager Phil and staff, the room was very clean tidy and adequate for our one night stay.After settling in we went down to the restaurant for an evening meal which we could not fault for both quality and price.The festivities started with a one man singer guitarist Anthony Simm who well entertained us til Gary Barlow (on tv) helped us countdown to new year.Yes as I had read prior there was noise from the bar coming up to our room but it was livable.Lastly to Phil the staff and everyone in Longframlington a huge THANK YOU for a new years eve to remember and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I ate here a few months ago and made a special point of returning. I was not let down. The food really is excellent and I cannot recommend it enough. I had the brie wedges followed by the gammon - fresh, hearty and made with care and attention to detail. Pub food at its absolute best.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stapleford Abbotts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed here for two nights. 13-14 Sept 2013. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The locals were also very friendly. Noise did travel up to our room, but it was not a major issue. Food (evening meals and breakfast was first class.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayd625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was a very last minute choice for a night up in the Northumberland area. It was a reasonably easy find, just away from the main places, but handy enough to get there with a short drive. The pub is reasonably popular in the village, and the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. There was a band on and the free entertainment was really good. A good meal, real ales, and very comfy wing backed chairs near a fire made for an evening fighting the ease to relax too much and fall asleep. Speaking of which, the bedroom was comfy, the bathroom clean, and a good breakfast to start the next day.
So, why not 5 star rating? There's limited parking, the pub is old, so the floorboards are quite creaky, and it is homely, but not somewhere you'd want to spend a very special weekend. Yes, I am being very picky, but it is still a good place to go, and we will use the place again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil0264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at the Village Inn and would happily return though there are minor niggles.
We stayed in room 5, the luxury suite, which is a bit of a misnomer, it is just a room that is larger than the other doubles, but is at the rear of the pub and has great views over the surrounding countryside.
The bed was large and comfortable, and a chaise longue provided us with somewhere to sit.
The room was clean but there was no bedside clock, the en suite was a bit on the small side and the loo seat was the cheapest I've ever seen.
A quid spent on a teapot would have been nice, as would a visitor/welcome pack.
The pub has a very lively atmosphere and the staff are very friendly and helpful, they really give the impression that they care about their customers.
It is loud and sound does travel through the floors, earplugs are provided, but it is easier to join in and go to bed when it quietens down. If you want to go to bed with a mug of Horlicks at 9pm, this is probably not the place for you.
Food is cooked fresh to order, portions are generous and made from good quality ingredients.
The cooked breakfast follows the same pattern, but we would have much preferred a teapot rather than the DIY jug of hot water and a teabag or sachet of coffee.
Our main grumble is around payment.
We were asked to pay our bill for accommodation on arrival, and then found out we couldn't put drinks and food onto our bill.
If we ate in we could put the food and drinks on a tab which had to be paid by 10pm, but other than that everything had to be paid for at the time of purchase which meant we had to go in search of a cash machine in Alnwick.
I can't remember the last time we stayed somewhere that didn't allow a tab to be set up, even if it was just a pad which on which drinks, food etc, were written, a signature taken and then added up at the end of our stay.
It is a great pub, the cost of food and accommodation is good value for money, but little niggles prevent us from rating it as excellent.

Room Tip: Room 5 is good, if travelling alone choose a double with single occupancy, the single looked pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbit64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I recently had a three night stay in the Inn and it was an experience never to be repeated.

When I arrived I was shown to room 4 which looked to be very clean and tidy. I was aware that I had booked a single en suite and had booked it as it was close to where I needed to be and it was the only one available in the area. What I did not know was the room was extremely small, approx. 7 ft square and had two velux ceiling windows for natural light. The en suite shower room was equally small but provided a good supply of hot water. During my stay, the room was not cleaned, nor were the towels changed. My requests were unanswered, although my request for more tea bags and milk were.

I had read the information on the Inns website which did indeed mention 'noise from the bar can travel through the stone walls during opening hours'. On my first evening the live music (which was very good) started at 8pm and finished around 11pm which with the associated bar noise which followed the end of the music meant that sleep before 1am was impossible. The other two evenings followed the same pattern. An ear protector vending machine is handily located in the upstairs hallway for use by visitors.

I did not eat breakfast at the Inn due to their opening times, but can certainly agree with other reviewers that the food and beer served in the evenings was exceptionally good and varied.

In summary...if you want a good nights sleep, do not stay at The Village Inn, if, on the other hand you like your music so loud that it rocks your bedroom floor and vibrates through the toilet, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
4 Thank Cats W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longframlington
4.8 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
3.0 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
1.6 mi away
The Anglers Arms
The Anglers Arms
#1 of 5 in Longframlington
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Granby Inn
#4 of 5 in Longframlington
27 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
677 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn

Property: The Village Inn
Address: Front Street, Longframlington NE65 8AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Longframlington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Longframlingto...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Village Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Longframlington, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing