We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missed out on the trout fishing but made up for it by the superb service”
Review of The Anglers Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Anglers Arms
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Missed out on the trout fishing but made up for it by the superb service”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just returned from 2 days at the Anglers arms, terrific service, excellent food with plenty of choice, made to feel so welcome by all the staff.
Rooms were clean, tidy and well presented.
Sadly because of the heavy rain the previous 2/3 days it was not possible to enjoy the Anglers Arms stretch of the river and fish for brown trout.
Overall a very enjoyable stay with a very high level of service which is sadly lacking these days in many places.
Will definately return

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    79
    20
    11
    3
See reviews for
79
282
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

It was our first visit for a little while and we weren't disappointed! Roasts were fantastic as was the vegetables. Sweets very very good . We all had different and everyone enjoyed them. Will be back soon !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonMclean_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I visited the Angler's Arms with members of my family for an evening meal. The welcome was warm and inviting. There was a real family friendly atmosphere. The service was excellent and the food really good, hot, nicely presented and well cooked, the desserts especially the pavlova were delicious. My brother and sister in law who have recently moved to the area said they would definitely go back again and I would be very happy to stay next time I visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March. Our room was quite small (we had a twin room, as requested) but was so clean, comfortable and welcoming. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Both evenings we chatted to other people in the bar and one night was the quiz night which was very popular and the locals were very friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed the food - definitely not 'pub grub'. The room where we had breakfast is a lovely room with fresh flowers on every table. We have already recommended The Anglers Arms to several people and, if we were in the area again, we would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Visited a year last September when Northumberland had the bad floods, stopped for an early evening meal for an early bird menu which was excellent. It was memorable for one reason or another, one being the water flooded into the kitchen & nearly into the bar with the girls mopping it up with sheets & towels unfortunately for them they had to close the kitchen for a foreseeable time, we were relieved in a way as we couldn't manage a dessert from the good portions of starters & mains.
I couldn't believe my eyes when a saw the Groupon offer for £99 for 3 nights B&B, I immediately telephoned our friends to see if they fancied celebrating our anniversary at the Anglers Arms January just gone. We always said we would like to return & knew they had B&B facilities so they jumped at the chance, well it certainly exceeded our expectations lovely bedrooms with smashing home cooked biscuits, great freshly cooked breakfast & lovely evening meals.
Staff very welcoming, ambience very nice well worth a visit & we will certainly return in the future

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
192 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Lovely, warm and welcoming pub, with friendly, helpful staff. Have heard such a lot about the Anglers, and as we were in the area, we thought we would give it a try.
Not an extensive menu, but I think that's not such a big deal if the food is good. Our meals were ok, but I feel I can't really enthuse any further due to one small gripe. My fish was exceptional; fresh, juicy, with huge white flakes, encased in crisp batter, served with frozen chips and frozen peas. The last 2 items just let the fish down somewhat and turned what could have been a sublime fish supper into a pretty run of the mill meal. Such a shame as this lovely place ticked so many boxes, but sorry guys, get that peeler out and give us some real chips.
My partners, and guests meals were fine, and we will go again if we are in the area

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stottyCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Wanted to mix lunch up with a trip out for Dad who was 83 on 1st March. Great setting and easy access for dad as he struggles to walk. as soon as you walk in you are welcomed with a smile and given a choice of where to sit.
The service was very good and the menu if not extensive, covered all the normal pub food basis. My dad and I went for the fish and chips- he chose a smaller portion- though I have to say when my meal came I wish I had done the same as the meal was a FULL plate. my wife ordered a sandwich and that came with chips and salad and was a meal in its self.
Nothing was too much bother and the staff were at hand for drinks and sauces required. The prices were fair for what you got and the food was freshly cooked and plentiful.
As I said the setting of the Inn is great and the interior was classic old English Pub.
I would recommend this Inn as a great lunch stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longframlington
1.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
4.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
9.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#3 of 5 in Longframlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Granby Inn
#4 of 5 in Longframlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglers Arms

Property: The Anglers Arms
Address: Weldon Bridge, Longframlington NE65 8AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Longframlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Longframlingto...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anglers Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are small but well presented, all are ensuite with all the usual amenities. Staying with us you will find is peaceful and relaxing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Anglers Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglers Arms Hotel Longframlington
The Anglers Arms Longframlington, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing