We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cherry Tree

The Cherry Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Choppington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have visited The Cherry Tree many times & we have never been disappointed. Not only is the food very tasty & exceptional value for money the staff are very welcoming & friendly. A good variety of meals to choose from. We recommend the new burger menu, real steak burgers cooked the way you like, delicious. Sunday lunches are an absolute must. Just make sure you are very hungry, the potions are very generous. Well done all at The Cherry Tree - Well impressed!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    11
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Been here a number of times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

And each time its been lovely food, cheap price and good atmosphere. Definately would recommend. Compliments to the chefs :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katey_Hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stakeford northumberland
1 review
“Good pub grub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Five star food and staff. My husband and I visited the Cherry Tree on Saturday 2nd Nov.We arrived at 5pm. We didn't wait too long for our delicious meal. I had New Yorker-chicken with bacon & cheese on top, smothered with barbeque sauce. My husband had triple cheeseburger. Too much!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank petunia115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover..........good food inside.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We visited The Cherry Tree on a tripadvisor recommendation as we were holidaying in the area. After travelling a few miles and passing two or three other eateries we arrived wondering if we were at the right place, greeted by a bland and slightly grim looking building but on closer inspection it was clear recent improvements had been made.
The inside is bright and well decorated and the staff friendly and helpful. The menu was easy to understand and full of traditional pub fayre reasonably priced. The food arrived quickly, although there were only a couple more tables dining at the time and it didn't disappoint. Generous portions of tasty pub grub without being flash or gastro'd like in some modern pubs. Well done The Cherry Tree we'll definitely visit again next time we're in that neck of the woods.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meggerstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Called in for a quick lunch. Both meals and drinks about £15 which I think is great value. Service was good and all staff were friendly. Its not fancy food but really decent pub grub at good prices, we will definately return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mazza101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cherry Tree also viewed

Choppington, Northumberland
Choppington, Northumberland
 
Ashington, Northumberland
Ashington, Northumberland
 

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing