We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always happy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cherry Tree

The Cherry Tree
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Always happy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Always happy with the food quality and price. Always something going on, and simply just a nice pub to drink in.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    11
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap Food, expensive drinks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I read the reviews on here & thought sounds good must go & try. Who is writing these reviews, the owner? Food like my work canteen only twice the price, frozen chips horrible. Pint & a half of carling larger £4.95. Portions small still hungry after main & sweet. I have had worse but the reviews on here are definitely way off the mark. Dull interior which is a bit run down. Only one staff behind the bar serving bar area & dinning area & two serving food so service a bit slow too. Meals were quite cheap but it just goes to show you only get what yo pay for. 3 stars max & definitely not the 5 stars portrayed on here, that's for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IbboFTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“D& K DREYER.Best VFM Restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Dine here often,have never been disappointed,good food,friendly and helpful staff.My wife Kim & I have dined in all the local pubs and restaurants and none of these come any where near the value for money that you get at the Cherry Tree

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daviddreyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Every time we go through the door on a weekly basis, the staff could not be more helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My mum, nephew(sometimes) and myself visit the Tree on a weekly basis, and it is hands down our favourite restaurant in the local area to where we live. We are certainly what you would call "finicky" eaters, and the staff and chef do their very best to cater to any order that we may have. We have frequented the Tree since we moved to the Guide post area in about 1990 (I think), and it has consistently, yet much more so in the last few years been a wonderful family eatery, a pub with good events and a nice atmosphere, cost effective, and full of the most pleasant staff that you could wish to find. Nothing is too much trouble, they consistently go the extra mile, and before you order your meal, say a plain chicken burger and chips and a plain chicken burger with potato skins and garlic dip, if something they use has changed due to supplier issues they let you know first, and ask you if you can tell you what you think, so you feel like part of what is going on which is a big plus. They always remember your name, and frankly, it is the best pub food at the most reasonable prices within a 10 mile radius.

If you get the chance, make it your local as they will make you feel wanted, and welcome beyond belief, and I defy you to leave without having a super, filling and to your exact specifications meal!!!!

Special thanks go to, as alway, Danny, Joanne, Jackie and the chef, they all make it part of the week that we look forward to the most. Thanks for everything guys, we think you're fab!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cllr_Rachel_Moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Great food, great value, great place to catch up with friends over a bottle of wine .....need I say more :)

Helpful?
Thank YeomanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cherry Tree also viewed

Choppington, Northumberland
Choppington, Northumberland
 
Ashington, Northumberland
Ashington, Northumberland
 

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing