We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality and retro designer chic in a stunning landscape”
Review of Energihotellet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Energihotellet
Ranked #1 of 1 Nesflaten B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stumbled across this place via word of mouth while we were travelling around southern Norway. It is truly amazing. It's a bit out of the way but well worth the trip - about an hour from Odda on the southwestern coast. The hotel sits above an old hydro plant - which sounds weird but adds to the 1960s-James-Bond-style-glamour - and the views from the terrace are just incredible. We felt like we'd walked into a movie, with a waterfall on the left hand side, mountains, the Suldal lake. We had drinks on the terrace and were shown to our rooms (which all have the same view as the lake and a modern shower etc) by one of the lovely young couple who run the place, and then went for a walk along the lake. There's a heated pool too but we went for the icy water - refreshing but freezing - before heading up for a sauna and then dinner, which was a delicious local fish dish.
I can't recommend this place highly enough. The couple who run it were really knowledgeable about the history of the hotel and its restoration, and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. It would be great as a winter destination too where you could cosy up by the massive gold fireplace.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Energihotellet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tangstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, Owner at Energihotellet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Arne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, Owner at Energihotellet, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jörg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, Owner at Energihotellet, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hcjekk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, Owner at Energihotellet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bkblomdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olav L, Owner at Energihotellet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nesflaten
17.7 mi away
Sauda Fjord Hotel
Sauda Fjord Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sauda
49 reviews
23.1 mi away
Ryfylke Fjordhotel
Ryfylke Fjordhotel
#1 of 1 in Sand
64 reviews
16.2 mi away
Klover Hotel
Klover Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sauda
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Haukeliseter Fjellstue
Haukeliseter Fjellstue
#1 of 3 in Vinje Municipality
74 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hordatun Hotel
Hordatun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roldal
68 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hovden Fjellstoge
Hovden Fjellstoge
#1 of 3 in Hovden
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Energihotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Energihotellet

Address: Nesflaten, Nesflaten 4244, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Suldal Municipality > Nesflaten
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nesflaten
Price Range: £137 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Energihotellet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Energihotellet is a small design hotel located in the tiny village of Nesflaten in Suldal. In the 1800's Nesflaten was known as a popular tourist area as part of the Discovery Route from Stavanger, through Ryfylke, to Hardanger and Bergen. Today Nesflaten is known through the hydropower headquarters of Hydro's Roldal Suldal Kraft and residential area designed by famed Norwegian Architect Geir Grung in the 1960's. Energihotellet was built as a housing facility for Hydro's workers and guests and retains many unique 60's features such as original furniture and a gold fireplace. Today the hotel focuses on local food ingredients and traditions, culture and hydropower. All 14 rooms have a spectacular view of the Suldal lake and the surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Energihotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing