We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mangaweka white water rafting for 3.5yr old”

Mangaweka Adventure Company
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Mangaweka
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mangaweka Adventure Co, New Zealand offers you a great family experience in New Zealand. Raft or Kayak on the Rangitikei River with your whole family, ages 3yrs and up - it is the best 1hr trip in the North Island with fun splashy rapids, friendly guides and a yummy snack at the finish. Have more time? Take a real New Zealand adventure and camp overnight on the river with our rafting experts. Enjoy the open fire in a far away place, hear the native birds as well as the fun professional guides' stories far away river tales. We gear up your group up and cook the yummy food, including the fresh fire brewed coffee in the morning- its stunning and fun and more comfortable than you think... Have your own camper van? Park up overnight at Awastone, our riverside base. The powered sites have riverside views. Book the hot tub to soak your Tongariro Crossing aches away.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Mangaweka white water rafting for 3.5yr old”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

What fun we had. What a great little stop over we had. The rafting was great fun and very safe. Guide was lovely. Gorge VERY scenic and peaceful. Mangaweka is a beautiful part of NZ (Nth Is). We wish we had more time to enjoy and relax. Huge sandstone cliffs, peaceful surroundings, beautiful river for skimming stones, paddling, swimming and rafting in/on. Our 3.5yr old loved the place. Both campgrounds are scenic. One more rugged than the other however both great and suit different people's wants/needs eg camping, caravanning or motorhoming. I would recommend this area and company to both kiwis and overseas visitors.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A night in the campground”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Had a lovely night with the family in the Awastone camp ground - great location and really good facilities. Love to come back with friends and enjoy a longer stay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for the family”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We took 3 kids on the papa gorge trip and had a fabulous time. The scenery was amazing, the guide was fantastic, the cafe was lovely and the staff were all incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. Whilst it is often difficult to find an activity suitable for all 3 kids, this one was a fun experience for all of us. it wasnt very challenging which was fine for our youngest, but the 14 year old wanted a bit more adventure, so we did spins on the rapid, bounced off the cliff and they all climbed up a rock ledge and jumped off into the gently flowing water. We only wished that we had camped there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunterville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Enjoy the thrill”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The river the scenery and the thrill of the ride. I strongly recommend this if you are passing through Mangaweka.

Helpful?
Thank Lesleystravels56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent fun for all of us.”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We took a party of 6 teenagers and two adults for the Papa Gorge trip and had the best time. Fun friendly staff made the whole trip including the safety briefing interesting. The opportunity to take kayaks as well as the raft meant that we could try our hands at both. The cafe was excellent, the equipment was top notch and I would recommend this company to anyone. We intend to visit again for a longer trip and we are already looking forward to it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Damian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangaweka Adventure Company also viewed

Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 
Rangitikei District, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Waiouru, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Mangaweka Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing