We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Adventure”

Mangaweka Adventure Company
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Mangaweka
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Mangaweka Adventure Co, New Zealand offers you a great family experience in New Zealand. Raft or Kayak on the Rangitikei River with your whole family, ages 3yrs and up - it is the best 1hr trip in the North Island with fun splashy rapids, friendly guides and a yummy snack at the finish. Have more time? Take a real New Zealand adventure and camp overnight on the river with our rafting experts. Enjoy the open fire in a far away place, hear the native birds as well as the fun professional guides' stories far away river tales. We gear up your group up and cook the yummy food, including the fresh fire brewed coffee in the morning- its stunning and fun and more comfortable than you think... Have your own camper van? Park up overnight at Awastone, our riverside base. The powered sites have riverside views. Book the hot tub to soak your Tongariro Crossing aches away.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Family Adventure”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Keeping three teenagers entertained on a holiday is difficult to say the least. Mangaweka Adventure Co took care of that when we booked a Family River Rafting adventure. Our guide kitted us up in warm & waterproof gear (it was June after all!) and after a short road trip to our river entry point, we were then given a safety briefing and then off on our adventure. The Rangitikei river was crystal clear and the scenery stunning. We were given excellent running commentary by our guide and our family of 5 all had a job to do in the boat to ensure the adventure went to plan. The twists, turns and ups and downs the white water threw at us were fantastic and to see the look of pure enjoyment on our kid's faces was sensational. After our white water adventure, we arrived back at Awastone to hot showers, hot soup, tea, coffee & hot chocolates provided by the lovely Tricia. I look forward to coming back (in warmer weather) and camping at Awastone. Fabulous facilities, superbly run and lots of adventures to be had. Look forward to seeing you again Tricia! Cheers Kylie

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taihape
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

It was a lovely time!, Peaceful,Tranquil, Great Hospitality, Awesome scenery, Beautiful river.
Clean hot showers, What more could you ask for- 10/10

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TaihapeTroons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family experience”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Have had a fantastic weekend at the Pavilion in Mangaweka Camp Ground. Cosy cabin, kitted out with the necessities, which was perfect for relaxing. The kids loved the big paddock out the back to kick the ball around, the log fire and BBQ to roast marshmallows over. Can't forget to mention the amazing scenery, and peace and quiet at the campground. Tricia and her family are very friendly and helpful. Very accommodating of our late arrival the night before and nothing was a bother to them. Overall the place is awesome. Have already booked for the school holidays this time spending a few extra nights. The kids are already talking about what we are going to do this time around!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank shacg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Mangaweka white water rafting for 3.5yr old”
Reviewed 6 February 2013

What fun we had. What a great little stop over we had. The rafting was great fun and very safe. Guide was lovely. Gorge VERY scenic and peaceful. Mangaweka is a beautiful part of NZ (Nth Is). We wish we had more time to enjoy and relax. Huge sandstone cliffs, peaceful surroundings, beautiful river for skimming stones, paddling, swimming and rafting in/on. Our 3.5yr old loved the place. Both campgrounds are scenic. One more rugged than the other however both great and suit different people's wants/needs eg camping, caravanning or motorhoming. I would recommend this area and company to both kiwis and overseas visitors.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kylie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A night in the campground”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Had a lovely night with the family in the Awastone camp ground - great location and really good facilities. Love to come back with friends and enjoy a longer stay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangaweka Adventure Company also viewed

Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 

Been to Mangaweka Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing