We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay and eat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glacier View
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand View Cafe & RV Park
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and eat!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed one night at the Grand View RV Park, and were very happy with our stay. The property is surrounded by beautiful mountain views in all directions, and there were water, electric, and dump hookups at the site. We brought our own food for dinner but couldn't resist getting some pie from the cafe, and it was delicious! We also at breakfast at the cafe, and it was equally good. The servers and staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay at Grand View RV Park again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mlelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Spent a couple of days here in a mobile home. The park is a nice size and feels very homey. At first I was worried about the bathrooms-- there are only two combination bath-shower rooms, that is, two toilets and two showers for the entire campground. As it turned out, no problem there-- I only had to wait one time. The privacy of the showers made up for it, though it would be nice if there was a seat for sitting on as you change.

Along with the views of mountains and Dall sheep, the cafe is a highlight. Really good breakfast, nice coffee drinks, and delicious strawberry-rhubarb, fruits-of-the-forest, and brownie pies, all served with cheer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Wyoming
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

To say they have wifi here is false advertising. The wifi works if you are right next to or in the cafe, so it's more like a wifi hot spot. When I questioned the gals at the desk about it they said silly things like, our wifi can only accommodate 100 devices (there were fewer than 6 campers parked at the time) and I only work here. (Oh really? I thought you owned the place).
Good grief. We count on good wifi to help plan our next stop, so we seek out places that have it. A simple access point at the laundry room would allow wifi to work in the entire area or perhaps even just a better antenna on the cafe would do the trick. The area is not that large.
Our Verizon mifi didn't work here either or we would have used that instead.
We could make calls on our cells however.
We did not use the showers or laundry here, but did notice they only have two washers and two dryers.
The campsites are all gravel and ours was level. There are no trees, but the view is beautiful. The sites are a bit narrow though. Our neighbors awning was almost touching our trailer.
The cafe is expensive. When we checked in they gave us a card that said we could get pancakes, eggs and bacon for $7.95 or $2.00 of pizza.
The glacier is fantastic though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maraywil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Beautiful views! Great owners and super meals in the restaurant. Washrooms clean and shower/toilet private. No trees, but who needs trees in such a beautiful place! The family who own this park are doing a great job. The girls who serve in the restaurant grew up on the premises and they are really good at being hostesses. I will stay there again - for sure. I think the Glennhighway is the most beautiful highway to travel in Alaska and this RV Park is halfway between Palmer and Glenallen.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijeras, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The name didn't lie, it has some great views. Very pretty area near the Matanuska glacier and the sun was shining! We had just left the rain and fog of Kenai Peninsula and the sun was much welcomed. The park is well designed and clean and the staff is friendly. We really enjoyed the area. Originally we were only going to do an over nighter on the way from Seward to Valdez. but it was quiet and restful after the crowded zoo atmosphere of Seward's Waterfronts RV Parks that we stayed another day. They have a nice cafe too. And do take the short trail to the bluff, nice view of the glacier.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Biff_Review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

A nice, friendly RV park in an amazing location. Good laundry room and showers. Also has an onsite cafe that did amazing breakfasts and was open into the evening. One of the better value for money parks that we visited on a three week trip.You are given a useful information leaflet on arrival which gives directions for local trails to the glacier views. The Dall sheep can be seen all around the area, from your RV! The free WIFI is also very useful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grand View Cafe & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand View Cafe & RV Park

Property: Grand View Cafe & RV Park
Address: 22518 W Glenn Hwy, Milepost 109.5 Glenn Hwy, Glacier View, AK 99674-8111
Region: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glacier View
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Grand View Cafe & RV Park Alaska/Glacier View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing