We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, great view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand View Cafe

Grand View Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Grand View Cafe is located at milepost 109.7 of the Glenn Highway at the Grand View Cafe & RV Park, which opened in 1999 as a family friendly business. Delicious brick oven Pizza is served from 3 pm on. Espresso, smoothies, homestyle carrot cake, pies, desserts and sauces made on site for our salads, burgers,specialty sandwiches and Alaskan Cod Fish & Chips. Come experience our cleanliness and friendliness!
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

The Grand View is a small cafe at the RV park. It has about a half dozen tables and advertises "Home Style Meals." In our opinion, the food was pretty average.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    32
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Good beer selection! You can see the Matanuska Glacier from the restaurant, and they have more food options than other places in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcoming atmosphere and good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

The wi-fi is handy, I was surprised they had it so far away from Palmer. They have a telescope you can use to try and spot Dahl sheep on the mountain slopes, and it just gives an overall clean impression. Seemed like they were close to running out of seating a couple times, may I suggest room service to the cabins? Some people will pay a bit more for the privelege of laziness.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank evenprettier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stopped here because we were staying at the Tundra Rose Cabins next door, but it was well worth it. Very friendly staff, huge pizzas (fed us for lunch the next day too) and hearty breakfasts. Excellent coffee and smoothies. Not cheap, but you are miles from anywhere so that's understandable.

One odd thing, it doesn't really have a grand view from inside - the orientation of the building means you cannot see the main valley, mountains of glacier - you have to go outside to see it. But that's ok!

Would go back tomorrow if it was nearer to home.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand View Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grand View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing