We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and wonderful hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glacier View
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Homestead Guest Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for three nights in Cabin 3. The cabin was outfitted extremely well; unlike many rental cabins, the kitchen had everything you needed for cooking real meals. It was sparkling clean and very comfortable, and in a gorgeous area with a great hike right outside the door. Sandy and Dan were excellent hosts, happy to help us with whatever we needed. One very small caution: the larger bedroom is separated from the living area by the only bathroom, but we were able to work out the logistics. Although internet is not available at the cabin, slow access is available for free at a nearby and very friendly church lodge. We hope to return someday to this fantastic place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Wonderful cabin and great hosts. We were only booked here for 1 night and wished we had longer to stay. A quiet peaceful place with the sound of the small stream in the background. Beautiful view of the mountains right outside your cabin. The cabin was well furnished and very clean. My sister and I loved it. Do yourself a favor and plan on staying more than just 1 night!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasYaYaSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed two nights in cabin one from 27 July. The cabin is quite spacious and very clean. It is very well equipped with stove microwave fridge BBQ and plenty of utensils plates pans etc. Free WiFi is available at a nearby church camp but is very slow. Dan and Sandy were very welcoming and helpful. We found the cabins a little hard to find as they are in a bush setting so if you want a quiet cabin in the bush where the other cabins are well out of sight and hearing this is a great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights in cabin nr. 3, the biggest cabin they offer. We absolutely loved our stay in this cabin. Superclean and cozy with a living room with full kitchen, a seperate bedroom with a comfortable bed and a big bathroom with a washing machine and dryer. So we were able to do some loads during our vacation. The cabins are on a quiet location, off the Glenn Highway, close to the Matanuska Glacier. We spent some excellent days here in these area, where you can walk up to the Matanuska Glacier from the road and we also spend a fantastic day iceclimbing with Mica Guides. There are no supermarkets in the area, so do your groceries in Palmer! There are 3 restaurants in the area, but also be prepared that the closest is about 7miles away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lex v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in cabin 1. Impeccably clean, cozy, absolutely delightful. The owners Dan and Sandy are very friendly and helpful... A must stay in the Mananuska area!!! We've traveled and stayed in a lot of different places and Homestead Cabins is definately the tops!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Earringss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We LOVED this cabin! We stayed in cabin #3 which had 2 bedrooms and one bath. It also had a full washer and dryer, full kitchen, family room and even a fire pit with seating to enjoy the chilly evening. The cabins are very comfortable and super clean, it had every amenity we could think of including pots, plans, dishes, silverware, spices, grill, grilling utensils, laundry soap and much more! The only thing it didn't have, and it's VERY minor as I had one, was a hair dryer... but I'm sure if we had asked they would have provided one. The cabin was super roomy, the pictures we saw online didn't do it justice. We could have slept 6 or more easily in this cabin. Sandy and Dan that run the cabins are WONDERFUL, so sweet and accommodating. It is located very close to the Matanuska Glacier so you can visit that and explore the area for moose, porcupines and use the many hiking trails. I VERY HIGHLY recommend staying here!! I know if we ever go back, we certainly will!

Room Tip: They have a smaller cabin if you don't need that much space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmbbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and spent two nights in cabin two. The first night we were so excited- we looked out the kitchen window and there was a big moose! What a treat! Sandy and Dan were great hosts and the cabin was nicely furnished. My only wish was that we could have had wifi-so that we could have contacted our children
We have spent 2 weeks in Alaska and have not turned on the TV but we do like to be able to get in touch with our kids
Anyway, most enjoyable stay and would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bea53_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leetribe, Owner at Homestead Guest Cabins, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We just want to let our guests know that internet is available at the lodge next door if you feel the need to "connect". Cell phone coverage can be sporadic in rural areas, but is pretty consistent in the Glacier View area along the highway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Homestead Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Guest Cabins

Property: Homestead Guest Cabins
Address: 31200 W Lee Dr, Glacier View, AK 99674-8225
Region: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glacier View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three cozy hand crafted log cabins available year round in a quiet peaceful setting 1 hour from Palmer/ 2 hours from Anchorage - 5 miles from the Matanuska Glacier. Cabins are fully furnished with bedding, linens, dishes, stove, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, complete kitchen, private bathroom with shower. Free wireless internet in each cabin. Cabins sleep 2-6, rate based on double occupancy. Hiking trails, recreational activities abundant in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homestead Guest Cabins Alaska/Glacier View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing