We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ice Fall Trek Highly recommended.”
Review of Mica Guides

Mica Guides
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alaska glacier tours and ice climbing since 1999. Join us for a unique adventure just two hours from Anchorage. Discover glacier trekking or ice climbing on the blue ice of the Matanuska Glacier. Adventures for most ages and abilities.Get off the boat or out of the bus and actually walk on a glacier with our professional guides. Over 17,000 guests have enjoyed our glacier trekking and ice climbing. Now includes the fastest zipline in Alaska.
Odessa, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ice Fall Trek Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We did the 9:30am – 3 hours long “Ice Fall Trek” at the beginning of a month long tour of Alaska.
The two of us ended with a personal guide (Brian?); it was one his first “solo” tours of the glacier. He was knowledgeable enough, friendly and even carved stairs for us where the climbing was not secure enough. We had a wonderful walk along the glacier, exploring nooks, crannies rivulets, moulins and crevasses with the guide explaining the different formations. Before the tour we were supplied with crampons (a must!) and helmets, and driven to Matanuska Glacier. We had sunny skies, I am not sure it would have been as great if it had been raining.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank D_Odessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    38
    10
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our most memorable adventure in Alaska”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We went on the Ice Fall Trek at 2 in the afternoon on a Tuesday in early June. Whether it was the time of day, the early part of the season, or just the luck of the draw, we ended up with a private tour for the three of us. With such a small group, we were able to cover a lot of territory. Our guide, Richard, was fantastic. We were able to go to some areas that the normal tours don't. The entire crew at the facility did everything they could to ensure that we had an excellent time, from checking in, to setting us up with our gear (helmets, crampons, and boots if necessary), to collecting our gear afterwards. Not only was Richard extremely knowledgable and entertaining, he extended our tour because we were seeing such amazing things and the weather was absolutely perfect.
For the logistics: We recommend grabbing a sandwich at the Carrs in Palmer if you're driving from Anchorage. You might also want to use the "facilities" as there are only out houses at Mica. Bring an empty bottle or two to fill up with glacier melt water - it's fabulous!
This trip was worth every penny!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mdwoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
“3 Hour Ice Trek”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We did the 3 hour Ice Trek and had a Blast! This was my second time doing this tour and it was not a disappointment. As usual with MICA, safety is ALWAYS first! Katie Connor was our guide and was extremely knowledgeable. Katie's knowledge of the glacier as well as the formation and science involved was outstanding. She asked us what we were looking for in the tour and catered to us and we had a great time. Again, I will be back next year with family and friends because of the safety culture and knowledge that MICA provides, but for the Ice Climbing next year! If you're looking for a good adventure, this is who you want to go with!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ledab74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ice Climbing with MICA Guides”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I would highly recommend visiting the Matanuska Glacier with MICA Guides - be it trekking or ice climbing. Not only was this glacier the most beautiful among the ones we have seen at various locations, but also our guide Richard made the whole experience a fabulous one! He and Carla were totally fun and guided us through each step and at the end of the day, we could actually climb the tall and smooth glacier!! The guide personalized the tour for us and we had a fantastic time, probably the best in our Alaska trip :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RekhaDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, WI
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Competant Guides to Matanuska glacier-Fun, Safe, Educational”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Loretta and I highly recommend seeing Matanuska glacier with a guide from MICA. We signed up for the "Hike". Do take the longer "Tour", instead. We were guided by Katie Connor. The training she received was evident through all aspects of our trip. We were confident at all times. The time spent on the glacier was divided between safety, education, and amazing scenery. Walking around without a guide is not safe and you would miss all the valuable insightful information provided throughout. All equipment was furnished (boots, crampons, pack, etc.). Any return to AK by us will include revisiting Matanuska glacier with MICA. This is one of the shining stars of Alaska! Do not miss it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mica Guides also viewed

 

Been to Mica Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing