We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ice Climbing - A Unique and Amazing Alaskan Experience”
Review of Mica Guides

Mica Guides
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alaska glacier tours and ice climbing since 1999. Join us for a unique adventure just two hours from Anchorage. Discover glacier trekking or ice climbing on the blue ice of the Matanuska Glacier. Adventures for most ages and abilities.Get off the boat or out of the bus and actually walk on a glacier with our professional guides. Over 17,000 guests have enjoyed our glacier trekking and ice climbing. Now includes the fastest zipline in Alaska.
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
2 reviews
“Ice Climbing - A Unique and Amazing Alaskan Experience”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My husband and I spent the whole day hiking to the glacier and then ice climbing. The glacier is absolutely beautiful, it's like you've escaped to a whole different world. Our guide Reese was awesome. He was extremely patient, made you feel comfortable and was incredbily knowledgable about anything related to climbing, hiking and exploring a glacier. Reese showed us techniques and challenged us throughout the day of climbing. We also hiked around the glacier and experienced some of the most amazing views we have ever seen. We are so happy we booked this adventure and we would go back in a heartbeat! The price is completely reasonable (if not a steal given all the time out there!)! We highly recommend MICA guides, they are professional yet still very fun, we felt safe the entire time and all of our questions were answered. Reese did a great job and truly helped make our Alaskan experience memorable!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizVentimiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    38
    10
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A must for any trip to Alaska!”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The Matanuska Glacier is great. Hicking on it is certainly nice... but going ice climbing is an outstanding experience you will remember! Go for it!!!
Be sure to call Mica Guides for your day trip! These guys are the experts and they'll get you the equipment you need, show you the basics, start you off slowly before moving to more challenging climbs if you are up for it. No worries if you've never done this before, if you are able to climb a ladder, you can do this!
Reese & Matt were the best guides we could have hoped for. Safety first. Great tips and coaching. Super friendly! What a great day with just spectacular views!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“All day on Matanuska Glacier!”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My husband and I spent ALL day on the Matanuska Glacier with Richard, of MICA Guides. I booke this trip on-line, but had several conversations by phone wtih the staff of MICA guides. They were most helpful and offered lots of good advice. When we arrived, we were greeted by lots of smiles and enthusiastic employees. Our guide for the day, Richard, was amazing! After a bumpy ride to the glacier, he spent time on the approach explaining the unique attributes of this glacier, demonstrated "thixatropic mud" and generally sharing his wealth of knowledge about glaciers. Our time on the glacier was spent exploring caves and crevasses, ice climbing (the best), and hanging out with Richard on the glacier from early morning until early evening. His fascination and love of glaciers was contagious, and we saw and experienced things we never imagined possible. MICA guides are the best, and Richard is the best guide ever!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank morrikb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You must ice climb (or at least hike) on Matanuska Glacier”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

On a family tour with Get Up and Go Tours included the DON'T MISS opportunity to explore Matanuska Glacier with MICA Guides, and my teenage son was all over the chance to ice climb. We both have just a bit of rock climbing experience, and are in good shape, so this was something we could not pass up. All of the gear fitting and safety briefing was done at the base camp, and then we were off to the glacier to climb. Our guide Mandi was knowledgable, personable, and professional, setting ropes on two routes and serving as our belay babe for multiple climbs on each route. Another highlight was drinking fresh, cold GLACIER WATER running right off the ice into our cup! Cannot recommend this highly enough for those with the physical ability. Otherwise, you should at least do the on-ice hike that MICA offers. Convenient location, good folks, great time. Small downsides: The first person we encountered at sign-in had a flat attitude and provided marginal customer service, but was able to take out money. And the fact that most of the staff live together in a communal camp setting sans showers, and they work hard all day, means that some are a little ripe if you get too close.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DenverDad1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great guides, diversified activities, awesome views”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

First of all. Our guide, Joe, he's cute. :D
And they are all very nice people.
Then when they heard us need to leave a bit early during eventing, they helped us re-arrange the event, but still did all the things. They are awesome!
MICA provides all the equips with shoes, clothes, helmets, safety ropes, hammers...and secured us well~!
We walked into the wild glacier, and surrounded by the amazing icy blue glacier and did ice climbing, starting from easy ones then a more steep one.
After that, they asked us if we want to continue or explore. We would love to try different things so we went for a glacier hike, and saw some amazing secret ice cave! It's really amazing and an awesome add on.
Then we went back and headed for zip-line, which was fast and got a good drop :D.
So, nice people, great guides, great glacier, great activities.
And we honked to say hi when we passed them again later. :D love it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JuliaPetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mica Guides also viewed

 

Been to Mica Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing