We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THAT was cool!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mica Guides

Mica Guides
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alaska glacier tours and ice climbing since 1999. Join us for a unique adventure just two hours from Anchorage. Discover glacier trekking or ice climbing on the blue ice of the Matanuska Glacier. Adventures for most ages and abilities.Get off the boat or out of the bus and actually walk on a glacier with our professional guides. Over 17,000 guests have enjoyed our glacier trekking and ice climbing. Now includes the fastest zipline in Alaska.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“THAT was cool!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We were a family of 4 with 2 teens who were begging to try this so off we went. It was amazing!! Living in North Carolina there are not many glaciers:)). We had no concept of the enormity, nor the science. By the end of the day we not only had an exciting adventure ice climbing the vertical walls but learned so much else about the nature of a glacier. I can't imagine having a better guide than Danny. Not only a super nice guy, & easy to talk to, he was so knowledgeable in all aspects of his job. We felt VERY safe. He was so vigilant about our safety with every climb we did. You must give it a try!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank scarlettnoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    38
    10
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome experience! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Took a three hour hiking tour of the glacier with Abby & Ben. Those two are the BEST guides! Had an absolutely great time. It was fun and educational.

Helpful?
Thank dave-geri99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Ice Trek”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We did the 3 hour ice trek on Matanuska Glacier and it was definitely worth doing. I felt like I could have scaled anything i those crampons. I can't remember our guides name, but she was great. Very cool getting up close and personal with a glacier, I would definitely go back, and maybe try ice climbing next time,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JJRider59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I did some ice climbing on the glazier with Reece and Mandy. The guides were very knowledgeable and encouraging. It was beautiful and challenging. They started with a small climb and then a hike to a larger climb. Don't forget to stop at the top of the climbs and enjoy the view!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ldtHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our guide Malcomm was very informative and took care of all the stuff. I and my husband never tried climbing before but by the end of the day we were able to climb an approx 75ft ice wall.We got to spend a total of 7 hours on the glacier and have some amazing memories.Totally recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sktravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mica Guides also viewed

 

Been to Mica Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing