We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How cool would it be to tell everyone that you walked on a glacier?”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mica Guides

Mica Guides
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alaska glacier tours and ice climbing since 1999. Join us for a unique adventure just two hours from Anchorage. Discover glacier trekking or ice climbing on the blue ice of the Matanuska Glacier. Adventures for most ages and abilities.Get off the boat or out of the bus and actually walk on a glacier with our professional guides. Over 17,000 guests have enjoyed our glacier trekking and ice climbing. Now includes the fastest zipline in Alaska.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“How cool would it be to tell everyone that you walked on a glacier?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

A wonderful experience. Only an hour-and-a-half out of Anchorage, it was well worth the drive. We spent about three hours on the glacier itself, spectacular views and knowledgeable guides, it was absolutely fantastic! The best part was that MICA Guides provided all the gear that we needed, boots, pants, jackets, helmets, crampons, even backpacks. All we brought was some water and our cameras.

A must-do!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    38
    10
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great time, amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I (40's & 50's) went with my parents (mid 60's) and we all had a great time. Guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. You can't get a sense of how enormous and beautiful the glacier is unless you are out there - don't miss your chance! Lots of reviews here say it all, we just want to add another excellent rating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great to hike with!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

fun, enthusiastic, young/summer worker guides to hike with. Young, but knowledgeable, gave nice, safe, info. filled hike on glacier. A must to do!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome. One of the coolest thing I've ever done.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The day on the glacier was a highlight of a 9 day Alaska adventure trip.
Climbing on a glacier is awesome. You can't appreciate its beauty or scope until your on it.
Learning about the glacier from people who have seen it change and know it well was great. Learning how to climb with ice axes and crampons was among the coolest things I've ever done.. Our guide Reese gave us the confidence to do it by teaching us everything we needed to know to do it safely. He is passionate about climbing and you could tell he loved what he was doing.
Sandra, our awesome guide on a greater adventure (check out Exposure Alaska) was equally passionate about the outdoors and knowledgeable about ice climbing. You start in a gear room and get fitted with boots, crampons, helmet, gloves and harness. They make sure it all fits properly. Then they take you out on the glacier for a trek and to climb. Other groups were walking around out there with micro spikes strapped on their shoes or nothing at all. They weren't doing what we were doing. I'll do it again when I return to Alaska and if you get the chance..Do it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PKedit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“THAT was cool!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We were a family of 4 with 2 teens who were begging to try this so off we went. It was amazing!! Living in North Carolina there are not many glaciers:)). We had no concept of the enormity, nor the science. By the end of the day we not only had an exciting adventure ice climbing the vertical walls but learned so much else about the nature of a glacier. I can't imagine having a better guide than Danny. Not only a super nice guy, & easy to talk to, he was so knowledgeable in all aspects of his job. We felt VERY safe. He was so vigilant about our safety with every climb we did. You must give it a try!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank scarlettnoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mica Guides also viewed

 

Been to Mica Guides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing