We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildly comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glacier View
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Majestic Valley Wilderness Lodge
New York, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wildly comfortable”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Four days at MVWL were the perfect conclusion to our Alaska trip. Its setting is spectacular (see pictures below), looking up a valley to snow-covered peaks in the Chugach Mountains. There are excellent day hikes available in the vicinity, and it was a pleasure to come back to the lodge for a hot shower and first-rate meal. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful. Not only did they ask about food preferences, but they then went out of their way to honor them -- no small feat when the nearest grocery store is 60 miles away. The lodge is spotless, and offers free wifi.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main lodge are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    6
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

THIS IS NOT IN SUTTON.....We made that mistake which resulted in a 100 mile detour, but that is our fault. We I arrived, cross and tired I was given a beer and all was better in the world. If you want dinner, you have what is on offer. For us that was steak or salmon. The kids had salmon, we had steak. The food was excellent, and the 3 courses was $30 per person, which we felt was fair. They then offered to start a fire for us outside - (see picture) - This was nearly 11pm....Breakfast in the morning was also very very good. The rooms are pretty basic, but the view and staff more than make up for it..

They also have smoked beer...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spencermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at MVWL for two nights and had a great time. During the day we had activities at the Matanuska glacier and came back to a wonderful meal prepared by Mathias and served by his wife. They are a young couple from Boston and were running the place in the summer season of 2012. The location is great and the food was wonderful. Highly recommended. Free WiFi was available at the main house (where you eat).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Windnut17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The ambiance, service and food at Majestic Valley are top-notch. The owners of Majestic Valley Lodge are to be congratulated for hiring a fabulous young couple to manage their facility. When I called to make reservations, I was treated with genuine warmth and hospitality. I explained that our rafting trip had been kicked back from morning to afternoon, and we’d need to check in early if possible, grab some food, and then drive back down the Glenn for our rafting trip. I was told no problem, and they’d have a sack lunch for us.

Despite checking their website, we were not sure what to expect, but the lodge is an incredibly beautiful log structure, well-maintained inside and out, in a gorgeous valley off the main road. A big friendly dog ambled up to our car, and we found the hostess in the big commercial kitchen. This gal was born to host but is taking a break from college back east. She had a warm greeting and two bag lunches with our names on them, like the kind of lunch you wish mom had made for you back in school: turkey and crisp bacon sandwiches, homemade shortbread cookies dipped in chocolate and dusted with pistachio, chips, a big orange, some trail mix and a cup of fresh penne pasta salad. We ate outside on the grounds and that simple meal was so nice.

Our room in the main lodge had been recently updated: granite countertop on the bathroom vanity, radiant heat in the flooring, two massive beds very high off the floor (that was a little funny), Dish TV with limited channels, and a nice shared common area with coffee pot and use of fridge.

After an afternoon of white-water rafting nearby, dinner was as good as we’d hoped. The chef (and husband of our friendly hostess), prepared a meal that kicked the butt of anything I’ve had at the better restaurants in downtown Anchorage, and also from my years of living in other cities in other states... The Copper River salmon was perfectly prepared, with a crusty glaze and side of the most perfectly dente asparagus and snap peas I’ve ever had. Mashed potatoes and the veggies had a most perfect garlic butter sauce. Creamy cheesecake made just that afternoon for dessert, all served in the main hall with views of the valley and mountains. They made a big fire in the fire pit after dinner, where a few guests gathered to enjoy the evening.

There are two cabins on the grounds, and a bunkhouse (the original lodge) with its own common area. The bunkhouse was older but charming, and the cabins have a split set-up so that the beds are separated by the bathroom. And yay to indoor plumbing (each accommodation has its own private bathroom). Breakfast was also good, and the huge porch was a nice place to sit in the morning sun. Sorry we could not stay for halibut dinner that night. We’d return again anytime, and now prefer this establishment to Alyeska Hotel for a short out-of-Anchorage overnight (or more) trip.

True, they don’t use room keys, but you’re in the wilds of Alaska; your stuff is safe. There are a number of trails, rafting, glacier hikes, and so forth in the area, plus a landing strip next door (quiet the entire time we were there).

Room Tip: The lodge rooms are fancier and newer and you can take an inside staircase to the main hall for dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CrowdAvoidance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The hilights are the friendly service, great views,and good food. The main building is beautiful but the room I stayed in was very basic.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egjeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, USA
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This full service lodge has bunkhouses, cabins, common lodge dining area, wifi, meals and a great staff. It's located east of Anchorage and situated on a hillside over looking an incredible valley.
We stayed in a cabin which had a queen and a dbl. The summer night is not blocked by the white blinds.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuffelBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed one night in room with the king bed in the ground level of the lodge. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. We did not eat at the lodge. They have a dining hall which requires you to commit to a certain time and meal. Because we were traveling from Girdwood, we could not commit to set time. The dining hall is on the 2nd level, but we did not hear any noise or footsteps from the dining hall. The dining hall was impressive with high ceilings and many windows. I wished we could have eaten there.
The room has some quirks. The king bed was four feet off of the ground. This required my wife to use the stool that is furnished in the room. You are furnished one face cloth and towell per person which was not a big deal , but not the norm. They must have planned for a queen bed because the light switches for the lights above the bed were behind the head board. It took us a few minutes to locate these.
The one thing I did not like was that no key to the room was provided. We were the only people staying in the lodge area, but the ground level lodge area had two exterior doors. There are no lodge personnel on the first floor, so I was a little concerned about the security of our belongings while we were away for dinner. The next morning while loading the car, we locked ourselves our of the room. It took awhile to get someone to come unlock the door.

The lodge has a great view of a valley. If I was furnished a room key, I would stay here again. My wife could tolerate the high bed. If they still stick to the no room key policy then I would look elsewhere even though I gave this a Very Good rating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pablo312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Majestic Valley Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Valley Wilderness Lodge

Property: Majestic Valley Wilderness Lodge
Address: Mile 114.9 Glenn Hwy, Mailing: 16162 West Glenn, Sutton, Glacier View, AK 99674
Region: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Glacier View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic Valley Lodge, mile 114.9 on the Glenn Hwy, is located at a convenient stopping point along the scenic Glenn Hwy (half way between Palmer and Glennallen) and the elevation is just under 3000 feet. The 7000 square foot hand scribed log lodge overlooks two spectacular mountain ranges: the Talkeetnas and the Chugach. Hiking trails abound; arrange for flight seeing, glacier trekking or river rafting. Free Wireless. Satelite TV. Beer and wine bar. Advance reservation for creatively prepared dinners using fresh ingredients and Alaskan seafood. Full course breakfasts are available and may be reserved upon check-in. The chef and staff provide wonderful meals with the individual's dietary needs in mind. The coffee pot is always ready to brew that freshly ground cup of coffee w/ creamer for those guests that enjoy kicking back on the covered porch to watch the wilderness unfold. Adjacent to the lodge is a small bush airstrip, so watching the planes come in for landings is also eventful. Rooms range in price and ammeneties, but all rooms are very clean, pet and smoking free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Majestic Valley Wilderness Lodge Alaska/Glacier View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing