We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stop...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheep Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glacier View
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheep Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glacier View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
235 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great stop...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I found Sheep Mountain Lodge a perfect midpoint stop when driving between Anchorage and Valdez on the Glenn Hwy. Our clean, quiet cabin #11 was furthest from the highway and at a trail head. The front porch offered a side view of Sheep Mountain. Unfortunately, rains prevented our exploring Independence Mine and Matanuska Glacier en route from Anchorage so we arrived early and appreciated our cozy cabin. On a sunny day, we could have hiked their trails near Sheep Mountain and visited their Iditarod kennel as well. Even with ugly weather, we recommend this comfortable, convenient stop at Mile 113.5 of the Glenn Hwy. And, if you are there for breakfast, we recommend the sourdough French bread. It's superb!

Room Tip: Cabin #11 is furthest from the Glenn Highway and at a trail head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    57
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
82
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed one night (July 16, 2011) in one of their newer fully equipped cabins. These cabins are No 1 through No 4 and are very beautiful, spotlessly clean with a fully equipped kitchen and built in kitchen / dining table. The log cabin had a nice bathroom with shower. There is a pedestal sink in the sleeping area with two comfortable queen beds. There is also a state of the art heater and a couch. There is a front porch with a great view of the mountains. The inside of these cabins are just gorgeous and I spent a bit of time just looking around and admiring the design and craftsmanship.

We stayed in cabin No 1 on our last night in Alaska (a three week adventure including an Inside Passage Cruise). The grounds and all the facilities are all maintained in tip top shape. The Owners and folks running this Lodge are very friendly and accommodating. We did not use the restaurant but the menu and prices looked great. Several people told us the food was great with very generous portions. We cooked our last meal in Alaska in our lovely unit. It had every thing we needed and we felt very much at home….a fantastic way to end our Alaskan Adventure.

A very nice surprise was to learn there was a kennel approximately 100 yards away with 18 or so husky sled dogs. The owners are Iditarod competitors and their dogs were here after a long winter of training. It was impressive to see these fine animals including a female that had 4 beautiful pups just three weeks old. There are some hiking trails in the local area but unfortunately we did not have time to explore them.

I was so impressed with the Sheep Mountain Lodge that I was a bit sad we only spent one night here. I would highly recommend the large new cabins No 1 through No 4 if you are traveling through this part of Alaska. As a matter of fact I would suggest planning your itinerary so you have the opportunity to stay at the Sheep Mountain Lodge during your journey around Alaska

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank murphy8812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here on our way from Glennallen to Anchorage for one night.

This lodge is located in a beautiful setting against some gorgeous mountains.

The cottage we got looked very pretty from outside. Inside the room was very clean and bed was comfortable.

In the morning we had breakfast here which was awesome and good quantity too.

We din't spend much time here but it did serve it's purpose for us and we got a good night's sleep

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IamVagabondDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We got here at 11:30 p.m., and the front desk had closed and left a note on the door that our cabins were unlocked and ready for us. This place is in the middle of nowhere, but it was in a convenient place for our plans. It ended up being an oasis for us because we had driven for so long without seeing any lodging that we were wondering if we were in the right place.
The views here are amazing. The food at their restaurant was great. We only stayed here one night, but I think people tend to go there for lengthy stays.
One caveat -- if you need a TV, you won't find one here. But there is plenty to look at outside; sit on your porch and let nature be your entertainment.
Also, if you can't sleep well in a room with light, you'll need to bring an eye mask, as their curtains do not keep the all-night sunlight out very well.
Overall, though, everyone in our group loved this place. If you're in the area, you won't be sorry if you stop here for the night or for longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank elooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Several friends and I (about 10 of us) rented the Hillside house in late February for a long ski and hot tub weekend. Zack was an incredible host. Every morning we awoke to miles of freshly groomed cross country ski trails, incredible views, and rabbit tracks galore. We brought our own food, but we just as easily could have enjoyed Zack's home cooking. After being outside all day it was nice to come back to a warm sauna and hot tub.

Our crew of friends still talk about how much fun we had! Thanks Zack and Sheep Mountain Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glacierord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

I can't believe this is rated as a 1 star property...what a charming delightful place to stay. the views are breathtaking, the rooms (cabins) are reasonably spacious and the beds comfortable. The food at the restaurant is really good and the staff very friendly...all in all a great place to stay for authentic Alaska.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ambrai5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We had a log cabin that was a good size with a nice view. There was an efficient heater in the room, which was just as well, but none in the bathroom which was jolly cold! Amazing place to stay with a very good on site restaurant where they served large portions.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HopefulTraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glacier View
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sheep Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheep Mountain Lodge

Property: Sheep Mountain Lodge
Address: 17701 W Glenn Hwy, Mile 113.5 Glenn Hwy, Glacier View, AK 99674-8113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glacier View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sheep Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sheep Mountain Lodge. Located at the base of the Sheep Mountains at Mile 113 of the Glenn Hwy #1, Sheep Mountain Lodge has been serving Alaskans and travelers since 1946. On the road to Alaska's Interior region, the Lodge is noted for it's cleanliness, hospitality, good food and recreational opportunities. Dall sheep are frequently seen grazing on the mountainside just behind the Lodge. In the summer months, local trails provide ample opportunity for hiking, wildflower walks and wildlife viewing. In the winter months cross-country skiers, snowmobilers and dog mushers explore the areas many trails and recreational opportunities. We offer home-cooked meals made with the freshest ingredients possible, proudly supporting our Alaskan farmers and fishermen whenever possible. We hope to see you at Sheep Mountain Lodge! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sheep Mountain Hotel Glacier View
Sheep Mountain Lodge Alaska/Glacier View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing