We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheep Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glacier View
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sheep Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glacier View
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

The log cabin in which we stayed was large, beautifully constructed, warm and inviting, with every modern convenience inside. The staff even arranged to do a large bag of laundry for us for $10. We also had an excellent meal in the restaurant of salad, salmon and wild rice and berry pie for only $24 plus wine and gratuity. The Lodge has ten miles of hiking trails and we walked on three of them- a total of about five miles-just enough exercise after a day of driving. The views of the mountains were marvelous.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oliverAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    57
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
82
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed for a couple nights here and loved it. The rooms are simple but cozy and the views are breathtaking. There are lovely hiking trails around the cabins and the food is lovely in the restaurant. Perfect place to unwind!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OKAPRANOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheepmtl, Owner at Sheep Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to have you as our guest again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the lodge – beautiful views, big clean room (actually a cabin) with fridge, microwave, sitting area inside and a veranda outside to sit and look at the views. On the down side the heater was a bit noisy, you have to take fast showers or you run out of hot water, and no wi-fi in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Odessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

One night stay in this lodge with killer views was fantastic except when it was time for me to shower the water turned cold right in the middle of the shower which was not cool. i had to get out of the shower dry myself and wait for 1 hour for the hotwater to return.
Nice grounds, Huge cozy cabin.
No wifi except if your are in the cafe. It goes dead anywhere else.
Staffs are kinda pushy for you to order food when you want to hang in the cafe for some internet time which is understandable but don't overdo it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PURPLEYAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheepmtl, Owner at Sheep Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Our classic cabins do have a limited hot water supply. We have put signs in the bathrooms alerting guests that hot water is limited and it can take up to 45 minutes to warm our cold mountain spring water up to shower temperature. Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

After our cruise, our four day land excursion ended with one night at the Sheep Mountain Lodge. We got there late after a long day and drive from Denali which included a little stop in Talkeetna. Our purpose for staying here was to do the Matanuska Glacier Trek the next morning, on our last day before our flight out of ANC at 5pm. Everything worked out great, but I do wish we had more time at the Lodge and at the Glacier. This place was so remote, I have no idea where else we would have stayed if not here. Also, we almost ran out of gas on our way in, so make sure you have a full tank before you make your way here. There was an inconspicous place (The Long Rifel Lodge) to get gas 10 miles away (near the Glacier) but we would have never known it unless we asked the locals. The drive from Denali to the Sheep Mountain Lodge was gorgeous. The lodge/cabin itself was cute, quaint, clean and comfortable. They had free wi-fi and great food options for breakfast and dinner (not sure about lunch). The owners are also Iditaroders and you can see their sled dogs on property. If we had stayed longer, we could have enjoyed some of the hiking trails and maybe seen some wildlife.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaGirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Fantastic location, rooms and people!!! The location is beutiful facing majestic mountians. The staff is very frienkly. The waiter in the cafeteria seemed overworked buI suppose she was. The food though was very good.

Room Tip: Premier cabins are purely beutiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsingh95070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

My wife and I spent one night in this nice little lodge in June. We had a very clean and comfy cabin with a beautiful view. The food in the lodge was very good. The staff was friendly and efficient. We highly recommend this place as a relaxing stop on your trip. The place is right on the Glenn Highway which is a good road with beautiful scenery around every corner.

Room Tip: Don't worry about it, I don't think you can go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tw3retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glacier View
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sheep Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheep Mountain Lodge

Property: Sheep Mountain Lodge
Address: 17701 W Glenn Hwy, Mile 113.5 Glenn Hwy, Glacier View, AK 99674-8113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glacier View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sheep Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sheep Mountain Lodge. Located at the base of the Sheep Mountains at Mile 113 of the Glenn Hwy #1, Sheep Mountain Lodge has been serving Alaskans and travelers since 1946. On the road to Alaska's Interior region, the Lodge is noted for it's cleanliness, hospitality, good food and recreational opportunities. Dall sheep are frequently seen grazing on the mountainside just behind the Lodge. In the summer months, local trails provide ample opportunity for hiking, wildflower walks and wildlife viewing. In the winter months cross-country skiers, snowmobilers and dog mushers explore the areas many trails and recreational opportunities. We offer home-cooked meals made with the freshest ingredients possible, proudly supporting our Alaskan farmers and fishermen whenever possible. We hope to see you at Sheep Mountain Lodge! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sheep Mountain Hotel Glacier View
Sheep Mountain Lodge Alaska/Glacier View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing