We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Posada de los Pajaros
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
New York, NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

a gem of a small hotel in a quiet small beach town. the service and breakfast were terrific and we would come back without a doubt. the views from beach front rooms are great and only a small two minute walk to the beach across the main road.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuder85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Great small hotel that has everything you need for a wonderful stay. Very good breakfast, powerfull showers. Trip advisor wants that I continue writing but I believe that with what I mentioned is enough.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arturomesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

The owner and staff of this inn truly understand every aspect of comfort and service. From the moment you enter, your soul is transformed by the hand painted parrot murals throughout the lobby; walls of windows that frame the brightly blooming tropical gardens and vista views to the ocean.

"I have never felt so special" as the owner personally served his prepared fresh fish dinner on short notice. His genuine desire is to make your stay a treasured moment to remember. The staff is equally as eager to please....

Having traveled many countries, this little inn is by far my most memorible....and my most favorite.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwalkerfla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Wow did we uncover a gem. We just got lucky on this one because many of the search engines did not bring this hotel up. This is a Swiss owned hotel and that means everything is done right, the first time. Whether it is cleanliness (perfect), the wi-fi, or the location, which is looking right at the water, relaxing here is easy. The beach is across the street, the pool is right in front, and the area, which is called La Barra is the place to be in the summer (late December through mid-March). You should probably have a car, although there is bus service and you can walk to various restaurants/shops. This is a great couples or friends get away place. They do not take children under 12 - - and frankly, I thought that was great. And if your spanish is not so good, the owner, who is there every day, speaks perfect English.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

very nice small hotel with friendly staff. i made the mistake of taking cab from airport which cost me 60$ US. did rent a car after that as driving here doesnt seem to be a problem. posada is in 'la barra' so it is a 15min ride to punta del este. wi-fi worked great and reception was cool with me checking out late. would definitely stay here again... but might not come to punta region again as it is all in all very pricey !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasmarkerttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Just came back from a weekend at the Posada. I had a great time. Staff are very friendly and attentive, rooms are very nice and the Posada is really small and intimate, very quiet and relaxing. I really recommend it!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tquinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

After a couple of nights in Montevideo, at what is supposedly one of the cities best hotels according to ratings here - we were ready to move on. Luckily, landed at Posada de los Pajaros. The minute we saw the room we audibly gasped. Very modern, Zen like vibe - fabulous bed, everything clean, great view of the pool and the ocean across the highway. The location could not be better. Just outside of La Barra, and minutes from Manantiales, you can be at great restaurants in either direction in minutes. The staff is great, Christian, one of the owners, speaks fluent English, if that is a concern for you. Internet, W-Fi, small but delicious continental breakfast, fresh every day. Price is beyond reasonable, may be more in the high season. We went in late October, a perfect time to visit Uruguay. Lovely Posada with nice art, very spacious - cannot recommend higher.,

Room Tip: A little more for ocean view, but well worth it. I'm sure garden rooms are nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmanblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
10.4 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel La Bluette
Hotel La Bluette
#4 of 11 in La Barra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#2 of 11 in La Barra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este
4.8 mi away
La Posta Del Cangrejo
La Posta Del Cangrejo
#6 of 11 in La Barra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
9.9 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 64 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de los Pajaros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de los Pajaros

Property: Posada de los Pajaros
Address: Calle 10 esq. 5 | Route 10 Bus 48, La Barra, Maldonado 20001, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Barra
#4 On the Beach Hotel in La Barra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Posada de los Pajaros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 50 metres from Montoya Beach in La Barra, Posada de los Pajaros Hotel Design is a fascinating place to enjoy and experience an unforgettable stay. It accommodates 16 cheerful & finely decorated rooms which invite you to rest and relax together with the fresh breeze of the sea. Buffet breakfast is served daily with outstanding home-made marmelades, healthy recipes, fresh fruit and natural juices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Posada de los Pajaros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Los Pajaros Uruguay/La Barra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing