We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Zinc
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Bluette(La Barra)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kala Hotel Boutique(La Barra)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada de los Pajaros(La Barra)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Club Posada(La Barra)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
47
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtfooted tubof punta del estethe ownerjose ignacioantiquestalentedbooksglobesfurnituremidstmedialunasbeaches
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Casa Zinc in La Barra, Uruguay is an absolutely charming boutique hotel well worth searching out. At first glance, this hotel is at least a hundred years old and stunning in its own way. The truth is, it is only 5 years old and is built from completely recycled materials, down to the bricks and plumbing fixtures. The rooms are extremely spacious, well appointed and each has it's own personality. We stayed in a room that was comprised of furniture that appeared to come out of an architects office, our son stayed in a suite that felt like a well worn and comfortable library. There are only 8 rooms, all different, and the staff makes you feel like this is your personal home in Uruguay. This does not feel at all like a hotel, it is a personal experience. It is located one block off the beach in La Barra and within walking distance of numerous restaurants that are well worth checking out. The only things new in this hotel is the beds - and they are extremely comfortable. The biggest surprise was the price - amazingly reasonable. We would definitely stay here again and again.

Room Tip: We saw all 8 rooms and all were charming.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is a gem in a humble residential neighborhood just 20 minutes east of bustling Punta del Este. A wooden door leads to the courtyard of this interesting brick building. The breakfast room/office has huge windows and collection of old things: globes, maps, bottles, books and more. The architecture books on the center table hint at the owner's talents, and that this place is special.

Our room was on the second floor with a large window facing the courtyard. Everything is either old or made to look old (distressed metal table lamp, rough wood paneling) but is spotless and lends a feeling of comfort.

Breakfast at the large table was delicious: special cornflakes, slices of ham and cheese, fresh orange juice and breads. The location was a short drive from the center shops and restaurants and beaches of La Barra and other nearby towns.

This is a very special place. Stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trehugr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is a very small hotel renovated with exquisite, refined taste. Every detail is well thought out and carries from the moment you open the Zinc metal doors and peek inside. We'd had a long drive and were welcomed, offered a nice coffee, and given an opportunity to relax before even being shown our room. We immediately felt at home.

When we entered our room, the music was playing softly and our eyes were drawn to the design, simplicity, and comfort before us. Everything is well positioned from the minute you enter be it the antiques, toiletries, wine - you have everything you need. We quickly realized it was all about us, our stay, our relaxation. Upon awakening, we drew the shades, spanning the full wall, to let in the morning sun. We quickly realized, Casa Zinc had "best room and most comfortable bed" right then and there. I did not want to leave that moment...

The hospitality is refined and not in your face. Breakfast is offered near all day and overlooks the courtyard and offers the best cortados (coffee) we had in SA. An easy space to relax and soak in the quiet sunny courtyard. There is a library full of books and little items of interest, bikes available to use, and a beach within walking distance.You can easily walk, bike or drive to explore a handful of restaurants and shops in La Barra. WiFi available and works well.

Casa Zinc is located in La Barra just outside of Punta del Este proper. A car is recommended to move around. This is a great launching spot for other hot spots on the coast and you'll still have access to PDE if you find you even need to go there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We had the pleasure of spending a few nights at Casa Zinc while touring the coast of Uruguay and absolutely loved the place and the staff. The aesthetic is funky and charming, in a comfortable, low-key, upscale sort of way. Our room had a huge window facing the inner courtyard (which we loved) and was well appointed (e.g., great reading lamps, comfy robes, nice towels, fast wifi, in-room fridge, etc.).

The common areas are equally charming, including the courtyard, the breakfast room and the other area which doubles as a reception area, office and alternative place for breakfast. We borrowed their bikes to tour the various beaches within easy reach, and then enjoyed a bottle of wine while reading and writing in the courtyard one evening before dinner. It's not just a great place for a perfect night's rest; it's also a lovely place to hang out. The staff was marvelously warm and helpful, and even made last minute arrangements for us to rent a car and had the car brought to the hotel for us.

We’ve traveled the world extensively and always look for interesting boutique hotels that evoke a sense of place. Casa Zinc is exactly the sort of hotel we love, and it’s one of the best boutique hotels in Uruguay: simply stated, it’s not to be missed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Was it real? Was I really there? Was I in some foreign movie? Possibly the movie "The Motorcycle Diaries" based on Che Guerara's epic motorcycle ride through South America in the 1950's?(The design of Casa Zinc could be something right out of that movie.)

No, just a delightful stay at an amazing place and an amazing experience at Casa Zinc.

All the reviews on TripAdisor are all spot on....I do not see a bad one! My experience was the same.

Arron, the owner, had a vision when he build this special place. Knowing something about construction,I know how hard it is to build something new to look old and then to pull it off. The building its self is very solidly built. He has integrated old building materials, objects, plumbing fixtures all with the perfect ,old patina into the posada.....The old plumbing fixtures especially are very special and all worked great with high pressure and plenty of hot water.

He also put a lot of thought into his staff and the over all experience that he wants his clients to have during their stay. Estefany and her sister were both very personable and there for all of our needs. Aaron was there often drinking great coffee, Illy Coffee, with us and giving us local history and restaurant recommendations......I dream of the day that I can go back to Casa Zinc!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forrest l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews