We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very much enjoyed our stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barra Brava Casa de Mar
Ranked #2 of 17 La Barra B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very much enjoyed our stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We just returned and really enjoyed our stay. We were the only guests for the first 3 nights, and then two other couples arrived our last night. The staff is unbelievable accomodating. Lovely breakfast each morning, made to order. Anything we wanted, Nicholas took care of. We wanted to go stand up paddle boarding, and he had boards delivered to the property for us. The house is on a lagoon, which has a mouth to the ocean just a block or so away. It is a very quick 5 min walk to the actual beach. The town of La Barra (5 min walk) is lovely - cafe's, restaurants, couple bars, a number of shops, etc. We stayed in the Junior Suite, which has a great little rooftop deck with two chairs - perfect place to watch the sunset. Very quiet, peaceful environment. Much different than Punta (5-10 min drive away). We were very happy with our choice. Renting out all 4 rooms for a family reunion or friends get away would be absolutely ideal!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WNYSue48503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBBCdM, Guest Relations Manager at Barra Brava Casa de Mar, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on the TripAdvisor index.

It gives us great pleasure to read your kind words. Our Staff is constantly defying new and alternate manors on hospitality services. Your review gives us the motivation to keep developing and improving our services.

As you have very well pointed out, BARRA BRAVA Casa de Mar is a great option for groups to have the opportunity of reserving all of our Suites and having the Hotel for their own enjoyment. We are working really hard on offering this alternate experience with the upmost overall services to guarantee and resolve all of our guests requirements.

We do hope to have you back in the near future. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Best regards!
Nicolas Schirinian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kotor, Montenegro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Since the moment we have arrived, we felt welcome and at home. Stuff was very friendly, attentive, ready to help with any problem. They even bought us a thermometer when one of us felt ill and endless supply of freshly squeezed orange juice was a very nice touch.
The hotel is situated in a very nice property on a beach with a beautiful view. Most importantly it is very clean, sheets are great and bed is comfy. Owners speak perfect English, so no misunderstandings! They even have massage service, which has to be ordered in advance.
Thank you for a nice stay in your hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palazzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBBCdM, Guest Relations Manager at Barra Brava Casa de Mar, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on the TripAdvisor index.

It gives us great pleasure to have met your expectations on your stay at Punta del Este. As part of our overall concern on the wellbeing of our guest we remain truly happy to have been of service on your time of need.

We hope to have you back in the near future to serve you once again.

Best regards!
Nicolas Schirinian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We spent the holidays 2 families with teens kids in his very special hotel.
Our daughters loved the localization in La Barra, where everything happens in Punta del Este. Walking distance you find everything you need in Punta.
The Swiming pool area is very cousy and so nice that many times you feel lazy going to the beach. Chilled Rose wine is served at the pool
Breakfast is served with home made bread, medialunas and jam prepared by Thomas, family friend, graduate in administration but above all a good chef specialized in bakery. Ask for the Torta Rogel baked by Thomas.
Nicolas and Federico, managing the hotel helped us on anything we needed to enjoy your holidays. They found us a car to rent, impossible in January and prepared great asados.
Federico organized us an incredible tour by boat to the Isla de Lobos, an island 300'000 sealions.
We swam with the sealions an incredible experience.
Fishing is also Federicos passion so he will be happy to organise some fishhing charters.
We went to nearby beaches Bikini and Montoya. Our girls loved Bikini a evening party beach where all the teens go. We prefered Montoya, quiter, some meters away.
Back from the beach the best is to watch the sunset at Barra Brava enjoying a good Champagne.
The hotel has 4 rooms and we booked all of them it was like filling at home ! We loved it !

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabrizio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBBCdM, Guest Relations Manager at Barra Brava Casa de Mar, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Fabrizio,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your overall experience on your stay at BARRA BRAVA Casa de Mar.

It gives us great pleasure when a group decides to reserve all of our suites. As it doesn’t happen so often we try to improve all of our services to meet the necessities of the entire group.

Our Staff is very proud on the words of appreciation you have written towards them.

Let me just tell you that we have developed several new and exquisite activities to our guide. I recall your positive attitude towards outdoor activities. We hope to have you back in our lovely boutique hotel and serve you as best as you deserve.

Hope all is well. Best Regards!
Nicolas Schirinian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

I stayed at the Barra Brava Casa de Mar for 4 nights in the Junior Suite. This small boutique hotel has 4 rooms and is superb if you are looking to get away for some R & R or perhaps for a romantic getaway and/or honeymoon. The hotel and rooms are fabulous and the view of the sea superb. All of the staff are friendly and go out of their way to help you in any way they can. The staff are polite, professional and think of the little things that will make your stay even more enjoyable. Some of the staff do not speak English; however, the owner does and he is usually near by so no need to worry.

In addition, I am celiac and hotel staff went out of their way to accommodate my dietary needs. For example, gluten free cookies and coffee were waiting for me when I arrived.

The hotel itself is about a 10-15 minute car ride away from the core town of Punta Del Este. Depending on what you are looking for you may want to look at renting a car as taxis are very expensive.

On that note, taxis do not appear to be familiar with the hotel as it just opened in late December. I would suggest you get detailed directions from the owner if you are planning to take a taxi to the hotel. It will cost you about $25 US for the short ride. If you don't want to rent a car while you are staying at the hotel, you can take the bus to and from Punta Del Este for about $24 pesos (just over $1 dollar).

There is a bank machine at the gas station across the street from the hotel; however, it was out of service a few times when I tried to use it. The bank machines let you take out both US dollars and Uruguay pesos. There are also cash exchange places in town. Many shops and restaurants either do not accept credit cards or they charge up to 10% in additional fees.

I ate at a fabulous little restaurant called Alforno. It will cost you about $12-$15 return for the taxi. The owner of the hotel can help you make the reservations for both the restaurant and taxi. The restaurant has a very small menu but the presentation and flavours of the food are amazing.

I typically don't stay at the same place twice; however, if I did, I definitely would consider returning to the Barra Brava Casa de Mar. They have got it right as they always put the customer first!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBBCdM, Guest Relations Manager at Barra Brava Casa de Mar, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Leslie,

Let me start by extending our appreciation not only on your positive feedback but also on all of the lovely pictures you uploaded on our property at TripAdvisor.
BARRA BRAVA Casa de Mar takes great pleasure offering all of our guests the best home-away-from-home experience. Each and every one of our guests deserves and therefore receives as much special treatments as they can handle. In fact, after your visit, we've enhanced our breakfast to have even more options for those who need a celiac free breakfast each morning.
Regarding your comment on the taxi fare let me just tell you that we've added a brand new van to offer our guests transfers from and to the Hotel. Our rates are more accessible than the ones offered by the taxi drivers.
Once again and on behalf of all of our staff we extend our appreciation on your comments and hope to be of service once again on the near future. Do not hesitate on emailing us if you are planning a trip to our wonderful destination. Our staff will be pleased on resolving all of your travel needs.

Best regards,
Nicolas Schirinian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

I spent one night at Barra Brava Casa de Mar, as i booked my carnival holiday in punta at last minute, and first hotel was not avaiable for last night.
The pousada in fact is a former 4 suites residence turned into a B&B. The location and views are great.
The public area is great as well and you fell as you are at home. The service is very attentive and personalized.
The age of the instalations can be noted, even a light updated has been done to run it as a pousada. On the other hand, the rooms and bathrooms are spacious, and the garden very well kept.
For sure I recommend Casa de mar, for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardocmeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBBCdM, Guest Relations Manager at Barra Brava Casa de Mar, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on the TripAdvisor feedback.

We take great pleasure on having exceeded your expectations. At BARRA BRAVA Casa de Mar we are constantly pushing our best efforts towards guest satisfaction.
Since your last stay we’ve enhanced and improved several guest services. We sure hope to have you back and offer you the home-away-from-home experience once again.

Best regards!
Nicolas Schirinian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Bluette
Hotel La Bluette
#4 of 11 in La Barra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#2 of 11 in La Barra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 64 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 64 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.8 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 64 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
6.2 mi away
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
Atlantico Boutique Hotel
#7 of 64 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barra Brava Casa de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barra Brava Casa de Mar

Property: Barra Brava Casa de Mar
Address: Route 10 Km 160 | Punta Del Este, La Barra, Maldonado 2031, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in La Barra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barra Brava Casa de Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barra Brava Casa de Mar is a boutique hotel located on the seafront in the heart of La Barra near Punta del Este. It has 4 exclusive bedrooms with sea and garden view. The suites have king size beds, air conditioning, TV LCD 32 ", DVD player (with an extensive selection of movies), iPod Dock Station, safe box, large closets, minibar, free access to wifi. The hotel has a large swimming pool, tennis court, private dock with direct access to the sea and a spa with Finnish sauna and showers. We have available rowboats and kayak to enjoy riding around the lake. We also have a snack bar and a varied menu for you to enjoy. Our concierge is available 24hs to make your stay most enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barra Brava Casa de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barra Brava Casa De Mar Hotel Punta Del Este
Barra Brava Casa De Mar Uruguay/La Barra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing