We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pulperia No Seas Malo Restaurant”
Review of Bouland Uruguay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bouland Uruguay
Ranked #16 of 18 La Barra B&B and Inns
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pulperia No Seas Malo Restaurant”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Deep in the forest behind Montoya beach, easy to find once making the reservation and receiving directions from the friendly staff.
Upon being greeted was offered a special cocktail which was received gratefully.
The menu, though limited in choices was very good and gave options for both myself and my Vegetarian wife.
Loving the seafood available in Punta Del Este, I went for the mussels for starter followed by the fish of the day. All elegantly presented and very tasty. Finished off with a lemon tart with fresh fruits.
My wife had one of the Vegetarian options and was also very happy with her choice.
The atmosphere was great with background music not too overpowering, mosquito repellent was also provided which was a nice touch.
If you have your own transport and dont mind getting of the beaten track its worth the trip!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    8
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, California, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This is a great rustic place set in the woods, that young travelers need to find. From Bouland Inn I surfed locally and went to great places like Jose Ignacio and Rocha. As soon as I saw the place, I thought to myself "Why go anywhere else, when this is a cool place and interesting people gather here."
Highly recommend using the local surfers as guides for picking the days surf spot.
Great international food by the premises Chef.

Room Tip: Chose a cabin with the new bathrooms or the large cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenKhanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed here after looking at a couple of different hotel options in the area. I would confess that it is not that easy to find a nice and cheap place as Punta del Este is very popular in high season, so it was at first very encouraging to find Bouland Inn and we were excited to arrive.

The location of the house is reasonably good and it is even possible to walk to La Barra, but except for that the experience and facility offered was unfortunately inferior. It is also quite expensive and the bed was very uncomfortable.

We later found a much better place for the same money through a local rental agency, so it could be worth checking around.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SurMer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We received a very warm welcome by the staff, very friendly and will do anything to make you feel at home.

The huge garden in the woods is very nice to relax and to be in contact with nature and animals.

The location is perfect, is in la Barra, in the woods but near to cool places to go dancing and restaurants if you want to, so it's quieter than if you would stay in the center.
The beach is walking distance, and you will enjoy the journey.

Nights in Bouland are amazing, never seen the stars so cute and the magic of the place stays in your heart.
This is the best place to stay if looking to get in touch with nature and peace in a unique place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisitaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I came a couple of years back with friends to Bouland (punta del este as it was), and I see from the pictures that Fonchi has continued building accomodation and extending the existing facilities from salvage. What you see is what you get, its somewhere to feel at one with the beautiful environment forget immaculately disinfected rooms with mod-cons. This is somewhere to turn your phone off for a few days!

Bouland is very open, fun and the perfect place to chill. Dolores and Alfonso are a fun young couple who try to put on lots of entertainment but of course sometimes chilling out prevents much action! We walked through the woods to the beach, made sushi, bread etc. in their kitchen and shared meals with their friends, Alfonso taught us to surf and we free climbed the cliffs of a local beauty spot to overlook the Casapueblo and waited whilst we looked around Carlos Paez Vilaro's masterpiece before driving us back to Bouland via ice creams in La Barras luxury gelateria. The local estancia also checked in which allowed us to go riding the next day at sunrise. Everything comes at a cost but they're upfront about it! I'd recommend doing a little supermarket shop on your way into Bouland as food is (or at least was) only available at the very laid back hours the others kept!

It is however true that the experience is quite expensive for what it is, I'm sure there exist other places that are more organised/well equipped etc. but it will be at the expense of the hippy character which is so special to Bouland and which also keeps the experience exclusive so that you aren't surrounded by tourists!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldonado
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I came to live to Maldonado about 5 months ago, and thats when I visited Bouland
for the first time. I had heard a lot about it from friends. Everyone I knew, that had been there, talked about how nice it is, and the good times they have there. I must say, upon my first arrival, I immediately felt its magnetism, and realized it was a very special space.

The land itself is breath taking! With incredible views, and rich vegetation, which exudes
good energy. You can also find various friendly animals, enjoying their day there with you.
The dog, and 2 baby cats playing around; the chickens and the rooster feasting on the land
all day.. In just 5 minutes of stearin out into that landscape, all your worries vanish, and you
are instantly recharged.

If all that is not enough for you, there are amazing walks through the woods, nice walks to town and to beautiful beaches... and if you still need a little more, you can also ask Alfonso,
the owner to teach you how to do mud constructions, surfing, horseback riding, and so much more, that he has to offer. The place he has created, his care and attention, and the inspiring story behind the journey of his project, are invaluable. I have been very fortunate to spend many marvelous days there, and always leave with countless unforgettable moments that I cherish.

As a local here, 'No seas malo' (there restaurant) is the place to be at, friday nights.
For a good meal or just some drinks.. listening to good music, or even sometimes to dance
the night away. There is no where i'd rather be on fridays!
Stunning starry nights, surrounded by hundreds of magical fire flays. Not to mention,
the mellow yet vibrant ambiance, as well as the charisma and good vibes of the people there;
customers as well as the staff. The people that work there and the owners, are super nice
and friendly, and their attention and hospitality is priceless!

I would encourage everyone with a taste for nature, art, creativity, or anyone that just wants to have a really nice chill vacation, to visit or stay in 'Bouland Inn', or stop by for a good dinner and some drinks to 'No seas malo' if your visiting the area. Most people I've met there, including myself, have a hard time finding reasons or the will to leave, but when you do, Its hard not to feel replenished, and you always leave with a big smile.
Its a unique place to see! It is a memorable experience!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Loved this place.
Bouland is a quiet and relax place to stay, surrounded by nature and ecofriendly constructions. It's an amazing property and laid back alternative, rates are not over priced as many other hostels around the area.
I found it to have all the things that are important to me. A nice quiet room with a forest right outside the door, a tasty breakfast and the greatest host, Alfonso. He was completely open to getting to know his guests, but in a way that didn't feel like you had to. Anytime we needed anything he was right there to give us advice on what to do, where to go, or just help us out.
During my stay, I had some of my best nights sleep, waking to the sounds of local birds and crisp ocean air.
Renting a car is a must, specially cause Bouland is a 15 min walk to the beach.

Room Tip: stay on the tree house
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Barra hotels
1.0 mi away
Punta Del Este Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Bluette
Hotel La Bluette
#4 of 11 in La Barra
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hostal de la Barra
Hostal de la Barra
#4 of 18 in La Barra
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#2 of 11 in La Barra
107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rojo y Negro Hostel
Rojo y Negro Hostel
#1 of 12 in La Barra
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bouland Uruguay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bouland Uruguay

Property: Bouland Uruguay
Address: Camino la Laguna, La Barra, Maldonado, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in La Barra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bouland Uruguay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bouland Uruguay La Barra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing