We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL and SUPERB RESTAURANTS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fasano Punta del Este

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
Certificate of Excellence
ascona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL and SUPERB RESTAURANTS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at the Fasano a week before Xmas to avoid the crowds. We enjoyed everything, the architecture, the views, the rooms, the food, the service and especially the peace and quiet. The spa is great, had one of the best massages ever - and I have had them all over the world. The beach is 9/10km away, you need a car to get to one. Both restaurants are superb. The personnel was very helpful, forthcoming and efficient - although a few of them were newcomers with no hotel experience.

Room Tip: All the suites have a good view, just different, depending on the hight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GranmaAlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grupo_Fasano, Gerente at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Fasano "Las Piedras". It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. A

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Hermes Cuello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    21
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
31
94
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I enjoyed everything about this hotel: Its physical beauty, the rooms, the staff.........
It is the perfect location if you are looking for a small intimate hideaway, but with the ability to drive a short distance to all the action (great restuarants, bars, shopping in neighboring towns). I was with teenagers who all loved it too!!!!
Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grupo_Fasano, Gerente at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guest,

it was a great pleasure have you at Fasano Las Piedras. On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you immensely for sharing your positive comments.
It will be an honor to welcome you again on next visit to Punta del Este, where I hope to have the pleasure of knowing you personally.

Sincerely,
Hermes Cuello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

The services was amazing and the staff was extremely helpful . The facilities were brand new. The spa and the pool are fantastic. The breakfast is excellente. I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in december and enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcelo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grupo_Fasano, Gerente at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guest,

In name of our team I would like to thank you immensely for your thoughtful comments. It will be an honor to pass along your observations to the entire team and I have no doubt that it will be a great incentive for all our staff.
It will be an honor to welcome you again on next visit to Punta del Este
Yours Sincerely,

Hermes Cuello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

From the moment I arrived at the hotel, I thought I found Heaven. I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed it so much that I never left, I ate all my meals at the restaurant and just enjoyed the beauty of the grounds.

The grounds are very spacious and you can hike, bike ride, run, go to the spa or enjoy the amazing pool. They have a beach along the river that is quite gorgeous as well.

The restaurant is amazing and they really take care of the guests staying there. The food is reasonably priced and worth every penny. The wine list is also great and priced very well. I was coming from Brazil and couldn't believe how great the hotel was and how reasonable the cost...worth every penny. I sat outside and it was a bit chilly and they even brought me a blanket and then ordered a golf cart to drive me to my room!

The hotel staff is amazing...willing to answer all of your questions and get you anything you need. They will pick you up at your room and take you to the restaurant, the spa, anywhere you want and they are very quick!

I would recommend to anyone who wants to relax and breathe clean air and enjoy beautful scenery!

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can see the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelmaniacNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I wouldn't expect less for this kind of hotel. In fact, I would be very disappointed if the services weren't amazing but Fasano Las Piedras was no exception. An amazing staff of extremely helpful people who actually want their guests to have a fantastic time there combined with brand new facilities make Fasano one of the best and most upscale accommodation options in Punta del Este. However, people must take into account that it is not a beach resort. This means that it might not be the best option for the high season, when everyone wants to be near the action: beaches, restaurant, clubs, etc. It is far from everything and you need to rent a car if you want to explore Punta del Este and its surroundings. However, it is an isolated hotel in the countryside but not that far away from Punta that at the same time, especially for foreigners who are used to driving long distances, since it's part of their daily routine. In my opinion it is the best choice for November or March, when the weather is great but there is not so much going on in Punta yet, or when you are just looking for a great place to realx and enjoy nature, peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Fasano, General Manager at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your experience at Hotel Fasano "Las Piedras". It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your comments, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Found the Hotel Fasano Las Piedras to be a wonderful experience. Very serene and peaceful in late October prior to the start of their busy season... Food was very good and healthy; Staff were exceptional and Spa Treatment was one of the best we I hae had out of the more than 2 dozen Spa's visited over the last several years.... Each room is a free standing building with the smallest being 88.74M (approximately 890sq. ft.)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyTwiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Fasano, General Manager at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Roy Twiste,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Fasano "Las Piedras". It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Virginia Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Fasano is a hotel that in person is actually 1000x better than what you see online. What pictures and reviews cant translate very well is the feeling of being in this place. Its breathtaking. Wildflowers everywhere, sheep grazing in the fields, birds singing...its gorgeous.
What I loved about this hotel is that each bungalow ('bungalow' makes it sound so rustic..its definitely NOT) is basically its own seperate house. You have complete privacy. There are 2 room choices, but considering that the suite is twice as big as the standard, and is well worth it to upgrade. There are 2 huge sliding glass doors which you can open all the way up, making it feel like you dont even have one wall...its just you and 1000 acres of pristine nature.
The food was yummy...comfort food at its finest. This was not pretentious, artistic fusion food, this is home-cooked, country food with lots of ingredients from organic farms nearby. Think meat, pastas with homemade buffalo mozzerella, risottos, lots of wine, warm apple pie and vanilla ice cream. The restaurant Fasano, on top of a rock face with amazing views of the vast Uruguayan countryside, will be one of the most memorable dining experiences of your life.
The spa.....oh my god. Perfection in every detail. Each guest is welcomed with a complimentary hot stone foot massage with lavender oil. From there, check out the eucalyptus scented steam room, the dry sauna with relaxing music, or the warm infinity pool. The outdoor pool is stunning - it's carved out of a boulder, and is spring-fed, surrounded by wildflowers, and has a nearby bar which makes it so that you never want to leave.
What I couldnt get over at Fasano is how sensual it is. For example, in my room there was a 12 ft sheepskin rug...I swear I almost grabbed a pillow off of the large sectional couch and slept on the floor one night, : ) Each room is stocked with books, making it hard to leave to enjoy the other activities such as tennis, hiking, or horseback riding.
For me, I wanted to experience Punta del Este, to know it for a while, but I did not exactly want to participate in the circus or scene that is sometimes found in the city. This was a laid-back option, super tranquil, that let me get a taste of Punta and go running back quickly to the heavenly refuge that is Fasano. I warn you , it is not a place to stay for just one night, as you will not want to leave. If you can, try to plan on at least a few nights there to give yourself a well-deserved break, a time to deeply relax. I went in the off season, in October, and it was great. There was a lot to do still. Whereas Punta in the winter pretty much shuts down as no one goes to the beach, Fasano offers a great option for a getaway year round. Just go. Nothing I can say can accurately describe Fasano Las Piedras, so just trust me and book it. It is slightly expensive, but all of Punta is expensive. Fasano will at least give you a vacation experience that you will never forget. I was totally, completely enchanted by the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Fasano, General Manager at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Cathy,

It was a great pleasure to have you with us at the Hotel Fasano Las Piedras Punta del Este.

In name of our team I would like to thank you immensely for your thoughtful comments. It will be an honor to pass along your observations to the entire team and I have no doubt that it will be a great incentive for other developers our hotels.

Thank you again for sharing your comments, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Virginia Scherer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
7.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 63 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
6.8 mi away
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
#10 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
5.3 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 63 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#2 of 11 in La Barra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel L'Auberge
Hotel L'Auberge
#3 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
7.0 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 63 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fasano Punta del Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fasano Punta del Este

Property: Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
Address: Cno. Cerro Egusquiza y Paso del Barranco | La Barra, La Barra, Maldonado 20400, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Barra
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Barra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fasano Punta del Este 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fasano group’s international expansion begins in Punta del Este, with the hotel Fasano Las Piedras in one of the most extraordinary locations in Uruguay. The Fasano family brings its century old tradition in fine cuisine and in the art of serving to its new development in Punta del Este, one of the most elegant coastal towns in South America. Located in La Barra, the hotel Fasano Las Piedras was projected on an area overlooking the Maldonado River, with breathtaking views and surrounded by exuberant nature where you can enjoy one of the most spectacular sunsets of the Uruguayan coast. Architecture and interiors designed by Isay Weinfeld, also responsible for the hotel Fasano São Paulo, the project rescues the elegance of this countryside property once owned by the traditional Braun family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fasano Punta del Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fasano Punta Del Este Uruguay/La Barra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing