We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

While not on the beach, a short drive from La Barra. A modern hotel, that this year has introduced golf carts for each large luxurious free standing rooms, all with a good view over the country. I really like this hotel. The swimming pool, while looking good, is too small - but a small price to pay. The restaurant is outstanding, as is it's position, but out of season is not always open.
However, it is very expensive!

Room Tip: It is better, not to be too far on the outside, if you want to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    21
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
32
94
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed for a family vacation over Xmas holidays. This is a very adult resort and boring for kids. For adults, particularly couples, it's a beautiful retreat, relaxing and romantic. The views are fabulous, the pace calming, the spa beautiful. The best part are the rooms, with lamb skin rugs that make you never want to leave, great beds and lovely balconies. It's a treat that they give each room it's own golf cart to get around the extensive property. The food is good at this resort too. It is the only hotel I've ever been to that gives the guests a different gift daily: wine, olive oil, alpaca wraps, candy. Also, I can't say enough good things about the staff. The most hospitable people ever; kind, warm, and helpful. Just a delight.

Tips: 1) You MUST rent a car if you are staying at this resort if you want to ever leave, which there is plenty of great reasons to do. Car rentals are ridiculously expensive here. 2) If you are insecure in a bathing suit, don't lay around the pool with all the Brazilian models in their thong bikinis. 3) Note that this is not near the beach and that's one of many reasons you will need a car.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AsISeeIt37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHazi, Assistant to the General Manager at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Fasano Las Piedras. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Házi
Assistant to the General Manager
Hotel Fasano Las Piedras
elizabeth.hazi@fasano.com.br
T +598 4267 0000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint louis
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed at the hotel off season in the summer of 2011. We prefer to stay in more remote locations out of the chaos and this hotel was perfect for us. If you want action and a place to be seen, this might not be the right hotel. The hotel is beautifully designed to fit into the countryside. Our room was modern, comfortable and quiet. It was easy to relax and we could have spent quite a bit of time in our room. We had a nice massage in the spa but it was neither memorable or quite worth the price.
We had very good dinners and the service was excellent. Because it was off season, we were often one of the few guests. We enjoyed breakfast but it was not up the same standard as our dinner meals.
We would recommend the hotel during off season as a quiet place to relax and enjoy the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Fasano Las Piedras. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests.

We wish you could return and stay at the Hotel Fasano Las Piedras and experience the remarkable improvement we have achieved in relation to the points indicated by you (massage in the Spa and quality of breakfast).

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcioming you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Hermes Cuello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Visited Punta Del Este / La Barra and stopped at Fasano Las Piedras. The Reception and the restaurant are very cozy and amazing. The library and the architecture of Las Piedras are amazing. The staff is great, in special Silvana and the chef of the restaurant, They did a great job that night. Great service and food!!! They are making a golf part in the hotel and I want to come back with calm after it. Thank you for such great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Guest,

we appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Hotel Fasano Las Piedras. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our customers.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience at Fasano, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Hermes Cuello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
142 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

The hotel is not centrally located in Punta, which I find a plus, since the district where it's located (La Barra) is much more charming than central Maldonado. If you have a car you shouldn't worry at all.
The property is very impressive, beautifully landscaped in Punta's already interesting topography, amongst local vegetation and rocks. The "rooms" are spread through the terrain as big concrete bunkers, with lots of space and very well decorated, a great bathroom (excellent shower and amenities) and a huge terrace. Lots of privacy I must point out.
They also have a wonderful swimming pool (climatized) and pool lounge area, as well as a restaurant uphill with very nice views and Fasano's known gastronomy. Breakfast is disapointing as in the other properties of the chain - not bad, but far from living up to it's gastronomy tradition.
They have a river beach with service, which was not working as I was there in late April, low-season and kind of cold weather.
I find it a must see and would definitely consider it on my next visit to Punta del Este.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Hotel Fasano Las Piedras.
We have noticed that the breakfast did not meet your expectations and I do apologize for any inconvenience. We appreciate if you would like to share additional comments about the experience at puntadeleste@fasano.com.br
At Hotel Fasano Las Piedras, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations, therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Sincerely,

Hermes Cuello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

On our last weekend which we spent on the Atlantic coast of the Maldonado District in Uruguay we decided to get to know the latest addition of Fasano hotels and we went to Las Piedras which is about a 15 minutes drive from La Barra, a village adjacent to Punta del Este.

I have to admit this property is one of the most inspiring I have seen in a long time. The driveway, more than 500 hectars of land, landscaped in the most beautiful way and yet so casual at the same time. There are no hotel rooms in a traditional sense but separate bungalows for each guest. They have two restaurants, one called Fasano, the other one Las Piedras which we tried out. Since it was a Sunday when we visited the property, the restaurant offered a brunch package at price of US$ 86 per person and would include starters and desserts from a buffet and a choice of a main dish out of six, water and sparkling wine. That is by no means cheap but for what you get, we thought it was absolutely worth it. The food was superb, from the selection of starters, main course and the desserts.
We sat outside on the terrasse facing the small courtyard of the former Hacienda which used to be there. Service was absolutely perfect, friendly and very attentative. What a delight compared to almost any restaurant you would be visiting in Buenos Aires where you largely only encounter arrogant waiters unhappy and bored to provide good service.

We stayed more than 2,5 hours on the property, getting inspired about its serene beauty and tranquility. We highly recomend visiting the this place. If you can afford to pay room rates starting from about US$ 800 upwards, then we are sure you would not regret either. But at least go there and try the restaurant. We for sure will go back there during our next trip to the Maldonado Coast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grupo_Fasano, Gerente at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to having you with us at our Restaurante Las Piedras. On behalf of our team we would like to thank you immensely for so thoughtful comments you have posted. It is always a pleasure receiving returns from our guests.
I will pass along your observations to the entire team.

It would be an honor to receive you again in a future visit to Punta del Este and I hope to have the pleasure to meet you personally.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Kind regards,
Hermes Cuello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed for four nights in March 2012. When we arrived we were greated by a very polite mananger and shown to our room which was sensational (15). Our first impression was great but it quickly went downhill.

We found the service to be notably aloof. For instance -We had arranged to hire a car for all our stay and confirmed at check in that it was ready for us when we arrived that night.We ddin't use it that night but at 10am the next morning we went to pick up the keys and were told that they had given it to some-one else and we had to wait for a four hours for a replacement - no apologies about this and no real appreciation of why that might annoy us. We we meeting some friends for lunch in Jose Ignacio and were two hours late. The next morning they told us as we walked into breakfast that our original hotel car was now available and we had to leave the keys for the replacement car they had arranged for us - we said ok but that we would need to have it ready in one hour's time - to our astonishment they said it would be ready until the afternoon as it was being serviced and washed in Punta and that we would have to wait until after lunch ! we had an argument with them for a while and eventually they said we could keep our existing car - this hire car cost us around USD 350 per day !!!

The breakfast was poor quality for a hotel of this price bracket - very slow coffee service with poor quality cooked dishes - for instance - the scrambled eggs we ordered were microwaved and very overcooked and served in a massive bowl that would have fed 4 people. If you asked for water at breakfast - it would take 30 minutes to arrive.

By far the worst thing was however the mosquitos - they were everywhere and as our stay went on, we became increasingly stressed by this. On the first morning, we left the bunglalow to walk to breakfast at 8.30am in daylight and I was attacked by about 10-20 mosquitos and was bitten about 20 times - I hardly ever get bitten. After that we walked around using deet at every moment that we were on site - it was horrible - they were even mosquitos in the gym. the staff said it was related to the weather and that they sometimes gas the place but hadn't for a while. It was awful - we spent as much time as possible off the campus and in La Barra, Jose Ignacio or Punta. Each time we drve back on campus we would stop the car at the checkpoint and spray pourselves from top to bottom.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank arby561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grupo_Fasano, Gerente at Hotel Fasano Punta del Este, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Fasano Las Piedras. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in full; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

At Hotel Fasano Las Piedras, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Regarding the hire of the car, we are very sorry about the confusion in the hiring process, but we found a solution as soon as we possibly could, due to our location I do apologized that took more time than expected.
Regarding your comments about the mosquitos, we are working with a group of biologists in order to achieve the natural control of the reproduction of mosquitos in our property, we are aware what the hotel and the region are suffering due to this natural invasion.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures with the team to improve the service standards and also to take the control of the mosquitoes in order to prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future

Sincerely,
Hermes Cuello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
7.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 64 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
5.3 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 64 in Punta del Este
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
6.8 mi away
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
Serena Hotel Punta del Este
#10 of 64 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hotel L'Auberge
Hotel L'Auberge
#3 of 64 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#3 of 11 in La Barra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
7.0 mi away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 64 in Punta del Este
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fasano Punta del Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fasano Punta del Este

Property: Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
Address: Cno. Cerro Egusquiza y Paso del Barranco | La Barra, La Barra, Maldonado 20400, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Barra
#2 On the Beach Hotel in La Barra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fasano Punta del Este 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fasano group’s international expansion begins in Punta del Este, with the hotel Fasano Las Piedras in one of the most extraordinary locations in Uruguay. The Fasano family brings its century old tradition in fine cuisine and in the art of serving to its new development in Punta del Este, one of the most elegant coastal towns in South America. Located in La Barra, the hotel Fasano Las Piedras was projected on an area overlooking the Maldonado River, with breathtaking views and surrounded by exuberant nature where you can enjoy one of the most spectacular sunsets of the Uruguayan coast. Architecture and interiors designed by Isay Weinfeld, also responsible for the hotel Fasano São Paulo, the project rescues the elegance of this countryside property once owned by the traditional Braun family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fasano Punta del Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fasano Punta Del Este Uruguay/La Barra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing