We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Posta Del Cangrejo
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
Reviewed 11 November 2012

clearly this hotel and restaurant were once hot spots. the hotel is still good but could do with a thorough overhaul. unfortunately it seems as if the surrounding houses have sprung up over the last few years in an uncoordinated fashion. the result is a mixture of styles and qualities that is not appealing. staff were extremely friendly.

Room Tip: choose a room in the main building, the outer rooms are more expensive and isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Location is great, almost down by the beach, and close to pubs, restaurants. This is a classic Punta del Este hotel, but a bit dated.... The rooms seems to have undergone a renovation recently, but the building is old, no elevator it has only 3 floors, but if you have mobility issues, you should keep this in mind. the hallways are narrow, and there are a lot of steps everywhere.
That being said, it's a very "cozy" hotel. If you get a room facing the ocean, the view is awesome!
We stayed there off season, so the price was reasonable. the breakfast was not very good... only 2 kinds of bread, ham, cheese, butter and fruit jam. the bring you a basket of "bizcochos" to the table, but they where not good at all... I guess the breakfast is better during the high season.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricrey1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

After a long search for a hotel around Punta del Este, the nicest of beach resorts in Uruguay, we thought to try La Posta. It was down a beach-front road south of Punta, almost a neighborhood to itself, more reminiscent of a small California beach town than South America. La Posta, I learned, had been in one family for many years and the woman who owned the complex was renowned in local society for her culinary skills and friendliness. Our room was not inexpensive, a bit over $200, but it was beautiful and the view overlooking Punta and a beach below the hotel and a mere hundred yards away was sublime. The large bed was romantically surrounded by drapes and was made with expensive linens and piled high with pillows. The bathroom was spotless tilework from floor to ceiling in intricate patterns and colorful motifs. We loved it. Each corridor was beautifully appointed with slightly worn furniture and aging paintings. Rough dark beams were set against bright stucco walls. Blue paint added plenty of color. The dining area was understated elegance, the breakfast was complete and very tasty. Staff were quite friendly, very helpful and courteous. Check in and out were handled with respect and kindness. The hotel has Wi-Fi, but was hard to connect in our upper and corner room. Not far away, just a walk in fact, were plenty of nice shops and little cafes where the locals and the seasonal visitors congregated. We would not hesitate to stay there again, especially for any special occasion we might wish to create. We simply loved the place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

MANAGEMENT: The hotel is run by a family that uses the hotel as their own house, with no respect for the guests. They use the nice swimming pool as a family gathering place, shouting from one side to the other. Also the staff prioratizes the owners on top of the guests.
ROOM: The room was antiquated, the queen bed was very small and the matress not comfortable. We had to ask for pillows because what they offered were kind of cushions.The shower did not work properly (the pipes trembeled!!!). The minibar only had 2 bottles of water and was so old that made terrible noise. The drawers were broken and did not open.
NOISE: Our room was near the laundy and was extremely noisy. Also, the hotel was under permanent maintenance during the day, making it even more noisy.
BREAKFAST: very little choice.
All in all, the might be considered shabby chic, but the price is of a 4/5 star hotel...... Too expensive only for location. This is nearly a motel.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

La Posta del Congrejo is not the fanciest hotel in Punta, actually it’s in La Barra, but it’s one of the best located. Sitting just above the beach in La Barra, the hotel is perfectly situated.

The hotel is a little worn around the edges, but nice; I felt it had a kind of shabby chic quality to it. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable, with safes and mini fridges.

The bar services the pool area and offers food and drink. We enjoyed drinking the Clerico, the white wine sangria type drink ubiquitous in Punta, and the Uruguayan beer. The kitchen is actually quite decent and, if you like shellfish, for a snack try the Almejas. The ones in Punta reminded me of a delicate cousin of New England style steamers. The hotel cooks the clams in a wine and butter sauce - they are delicious.

The beach down below the hotel is family oriented and there is a surf school. The beach break is mellow and decent for learning. But there is actually a nice left-hander that comes off the point. It turned on while I was there and I had a good day out on the water surfing fun, head high sets. I rented a board at a surf shop on the main drag just past the Citi Bank for $25 a day (they take US$).

The bar and restaurant closed rather early considering the Punta is such a late-night place. All in all, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exploricon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

In the last 20 years I have stayed in La Posta many times and it is my go to choice for a great vacation(or two ) virtually every year. Yes there are now a small handful of chic hotels and a couple of luxury hotels which over the years I have sampled but like a great many people I keep returning every year to the rustic warmth and hospitality of La Posta . Indeed sometimes by the pool in season it can feel like a private club for everyone knows at least some of the other guests.
Why do I return? First the Location is fabulous as are the team in the hotel and the Locals. Sunrises and sunsets are spectacular. The climate in the summer here is invigorating with both brilliant sunshine and on other days fresh fresh air perfect for walking the beautiful totally unspoilt beaches that stretch from La Posta in the heart of La Barra with its rustic chic charm to far North of Jose Ignacio now the latest low key hangout of the celebrity set. But all is rugged ,windswept and beautiful. Yes ,to some the decor at La Posta could seem a little dated but much about the place reminds me of the Mediteranean and its personality for many of us perfectly suits this windswept and mesmerizing and now very fashionable coastline .
This is a family run hotel which can offer guests warm and personal service, great views of the ocean from many of its rooms and an ambience that over the years has attracted some famous guests all appreciating the low key atmosphere. The restaurant can serve up some excellent food on a great outdoor dining terrace and there are many great cafes and restaurants nearby in season.
In season prices soar in this part of Uruguay and this is no longer a relatively inexpensive area to visit. Expect North American prices but the food is beautifully fresh and tasty. Its not St Barts prices with every hotel trying to out chic the next but in season the crowd is attractive and interesting and La Posta is an excellent choice for tuning into the Punta vibe which in reality starts in La Barra

Room Tip: Ask for the Junior Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicogogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

Starting off with the positives, the hotel has a great location near a beach in La Barra, and a nice-looking territory.

I should have gotten the hint when I was making the reservation. Almost none of the staff speaks English, and simply making a reservation required a very complicated series of emails and international phone calls that lasted more than a week. The inconveniences were to continue when I arrived, which would be fine for a $80 hotel, but not for $120 (which actually increases to $320 the week after I was there). It's an understatement that the "decor doesn't seem to have been updated in a very long time", as another reviewed put it. It is antiquated, and not in a good way. Various shelves and doors are difficult to open and close, the door key is a very cumbersome, annoying mechanism, water sprays everywhere from the facet and shower, and the dubious, unappealing tiles on the floor are still from the 60s.

Only two people from the staff spoke English, I think. I don't know about other hotels, but every restaurant in the area was English-speaking. Breakfast was a very complicated affair in which the incompetent waiters stood there without telling me what was available. I had to guess. They made mistakes with orders, couldn't remember what I liked from the previous days, placed things on the table in a cumbersome way, and it was hard to get their attention.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Montelais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
0.5 mi away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#2 of 11 in La Barra
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Bluette
Hotel La Bluette
#4 of 11 in La Barra
148 reviews
4.8 mi away
Posada de los Pajaros
Posada de los Pajaros
#6 of 11 in La Barra
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
5.2 mi away
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
1.0 mi away
Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posta Del Cangrejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posta Del Cangrejo

Address: Ruta 10 esq. Los Remansos Km 11300 | Punta del Este, La Barra, Maldonado 20001, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Posta Del Cangrejo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Posta Del Cangrejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posta Del Cangrejo Hotel Punta Del Este
La Posta Del Cangrejo Uruguay/La Barra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing