We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! (but don't expect a chain hotel)”
Review of Hotel La Bluette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Bluette
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My fiance and I stayed here in March of 2012 (whoops...a little delayed on the review!). We absolutely loved our stay. This is a great time to visit Punta as the weather is still warm but most of the tourists have gone home for the winter. We also got a great rate - about $120 USD per night. The owner, Hugo, makes the visit worth it even outside of the great hotel! He is gregarious, funny, and speaks great English if that's a necessity for you. He made restaurant reservations for us nightly and would hand-draw maps to each place. His recommendations were great, and as travelers who had never before visited PdE, he helped make our trip a memorable one.

The hotel is located in La Barra, outside of Punta proper. We found this area extremely enjoyable, with small restaurants and shops. The hotel is also right across from a great, and fairly private, beach. You probably need a car as it's quite a long walk from everything. If you want to be right in the middle of the action, I'd look elsewhere. If you want a quiet place to retreat after a long day, this is a perfect spot.

The hotel is beautiful, very boutique-y and comfortable. It is an old converted mansion house and still very much feels like a home rather than a hotel. However, I wouldn't stay here if you expect tons of modern conveniences or a chain hotel. A couple who checked in on our second day promptly left after discovering that there weren't TVs and phones in the room. With that said...if you come to Punta to watch TV or talk on the phone, you probably shouldn't stay here anyway! The room smelled slightly damp (not unusual, we found, for older Uruguayan hotels by the beach). But it was beautifully appointed, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom extremely spacious with a romantic large shower. It was perfect for an intimate and enjoyable couple's getaway. If you're looking for white walls and standard amenities, go to one of the mega-hotels in town. If you want charm and relaxation, please stay here! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peggy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Bluette
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel La Bluette. The owner, Hugo, was very helpful and even spoke English! He even went out of the way to stop by the pharmacy to pick up cough drops for my husband. The served breakfasts are delightful and very classy. However, anyone booking at Hotel La Bluette should know that they will need to rent a car if they plan to visit town on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Akmammaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We booked on one of the leading hotel booking websites where this place claims to be a 4/5 star boutique hotel with the sort of amenities one would expect from a hotel at this price. What a shock when we were shown into a shabby, ill-lit room with a sagging mattress (the yellow/orange room in promo photos). After complaining we were given a slightly better, but still tatty, room which we decided to accept since we were only staying one night and the weather was awful. The air-conditioning is antiquated, there is no central light, just 2 very dim bedside lamps, the in-room safes don't function so you have to leave your valuables at the reception to be sellotaped in an envelope just like the cheapest hostel, the whole place looks like it needs a major overhaul, there is no t.v. or entertainment of any sort - okay in the summer perhaps but no fun on a torrentially rainy day in late autumn. The websites claim there is a restaurant and bar - where exactly? Bathroom toiletries - we only had a bar of soap! I could go on...
The place is not without charm - the big reception/breakfast room is beautiful, the breakfast was good, the owner is charming and it's well located just across the road from the beach and near to La Barra. I know Punta del Este is an expensive town but we've stayed there several times before in hotels of a comparable rating and this is by far the worst we've encountered.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanrobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We loved our stay at La Bluette. The owners were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. In the morning we had a delicious breakfast with fresh-squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, toast and jam, and either an omelet or sandwich. It was served on their patio-wonderful!
Our room was a little small, but very comfortable with air conditioning. As other reviewers indicated, the rooms cannot be considered "posh". However we spent very little time in the room, and really enjoyed the breakfast, and the beauty of the great room and gardens The hotel is right across from the beach, chairs and umbrellas are provided for free. They also have a small outdoor pool. The owner recommended some nice restaurants nearby. He even gave us a lift into town! We took a taxi back. Overall it was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chjada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Right on beach for great location. Would need a car to make it into La Barra or downtown Punta Del Este. Best breakfast of our whole trip..fresh fruit like kiwi & watermelon for breakfast, crusty french bread sandwiches..all served in a "great hall" main room that is very gran.d. The rooms need some work/updating..a bit musty (but maybe that's hard due to across from the water)...sheet quality/mattress wasn't the best and it looked about 10 years outdated. The owner, Hugo, was very very kind and generous. Not an stupendous "value" for the money..but then again nothing is cheap in Punta Del Este so all prices are higher. For sleep quality and rooms I would say "below average" but not "poor"..pluses for more unique rooms, demerits for bed quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

directly opposite a nice beach (big waves) lovely big bright communal areas, free umbrellas and chairs for the beach. On the Manantiales edge of La Barra so 10 mins walk to the main strip - realistically you want to have a car. Lovely helpful owners. We had a very large suite - for Punta peak time thought $250 wasn't bad value. Pool looked nice but we were only there for one night and didn't end up using it. Left $300 in my room - returned the next day and they had it for me. Totally trustworthy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HighburyJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I too am blown away by all the positive feedback about this hotel....it seems really questionable actually.
We had read all the great reviews on this site, & given the premium price we paid to stay here - on our honeymoon - we had reasonably high expectations for this 'hotel'.... We were very disappointed.
It is a nice (albeit a bit rundown) old European looking villa, but our room was old, outdated & had nothing in the way of modern conveniences you would expect for the price we paid - (ie - tv, air con, nice towels or sheets or bathroom products). The 'hotel' (read: bed & breakfast) also lacked facilities & atmosphere.
We quickly realised a car was mandatory - you will definitely need transport if you stay here. Yes, the owners were nice enough, but nothing out of the ordinary..

Really like La Barra, though (however this hotel is not in La Barra, it's further down the highway).

Also - this is the first bad review I've written on a hotel - we are not generally whingers!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josephine-simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
0.5 mi away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#3 of 11 in La Barra
108 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
1,930 reviews
4.0 mi away
Posada de los Pajaros
Posada de los Pajaros
#6 of 11 in La Barra
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Conrad Punta del Este Resort & Casino
2.4 mi away
Il Belvedere
Il Belvedere
#1 of 65 in Punta del Este
368 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bluette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bluette

Address: Parada 49, La Barra, Maldonado 20000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Barra
Price Range: £82 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bluette 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Bluette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bluette Hotel
La Bluette Punta Del Este
Hotel La Bluette Uruguay/La Barra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing