We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in La Barra
Reviewed 25 December 2007

Punta Del Este is a coastal resort lined with beautiful rental homes and condos along the coast. However, the number of halfway decent hotels is minimal. Las Olas is one of them. Las Olas is clean, almost in a sterile sort of way. The walls, exterior and interior are painted white. The floors and doors are all white. At times, you feel as if you could be in a hospital. However, it is located a mere 100 meters from the ocean, and has balconies where you can watch the ocean and hear the waves crashing. That is why I selected this hotel. I initially reserved one suite which accomodated 4 to 5 persons. However, the living area with the two convertible couches is rather small and was much too crowded for my husband, and two daughters, 10 and 14. So after one uncomfortable night, we decided to splurge and get a second room for the girls. We were much more comfortable. Unfortunately, we had lousy weather the 5 days we spent here, so our visit here was not very memorable. The included breakfast is very minimal. However, the restaurant's snack menu was adequate. We did not get to experience the snack bar at the beach or the transport and set up because no one was going to the beach because of the weather. They did have two nice pools and a jacuzzi. The other problem with the hotel is that it is not that close to the town of La Barra and it is a $20 taxi ride one way to the center of Puntal Del Este.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank miatennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2007

We booked our room for Dec 22 through Dec 26th. Their weren't any reviews on Tripadvisor to get any idea of the place and we went on blind faith and a good feeling. Thank goodness for my intuition! We loved this place. It is in a great location in La Barra, about a 10 minute drive to Punta del Este. La Barra is a little surfer town that reminded me of Laguna Beach or HB if it had been 50 years ago. Unspoilt! The people are what made the place. Maria helped us book the reservation and the front desk staff were incredibly kind to us. They took extra steps to make us comfortable and feel at home. Anything we asked for they went above and beyond. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. We had an ocean view and the beach was right across the street. We had dinner at an excellent restaurant around the corner from the hotel called Hernan Tainan. When we left the hotel on the last day I cried because I felt I was leaving some very good new friends. We will be back next year we hope!

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank Traveltracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank retrunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jorge B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jota B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Barra
0.6 mi away
Kala Hotel Boutique
Kala Hotel Boutique
#3 of 11 in La Barra
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Bluette
Hotel La Bluette
#4 of 11 in La Barra
150 reviews
0 mi away
Posada de los Pajaros
Posada de los Pajaros
#6 of 11 in La Barra
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 65 in Punta del Este
2,066 reviews
14.1 mi away
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
La Viuda de Jose Ignacio
#1 of 9 in Jose Ignacio
249 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Fasano Punta del Este
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este

Address: Ruta 10 Parada 50 La Barra, La Barra, Maldonado 20000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Maldonado > La Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in La Barra
Price Range: £109 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Olas Punta Del Este
Las Olas Resort Hotel Punta Del Este Uruguay/La Barra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing