We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay at the Stork”
Review of Stork Hotel

Stork Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Billinge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stork Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Billinge B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay at the Stork”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were delighted to have a reason to stay at the Stork again and were not disappointed. We stayed for two nights this time and the room, food and hospitality were just as good as our previous stay back in March 2013. We will definitely return again on our next visit to the North West.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveAndKath92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    15
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
11
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a Saturday night as we were going to a friends 50th up the road. In total there were 10 of us over 5 rooms. It's a very old building (300 years) and in some parts you can tell. The room was very large and decently equiped though parts of the roof/plaster were coming away. Bathroom was pretty modern. However the overall experience makes this a great place to stay, the cost of drinks at the bar was very cheap, and the staff were very good indeed. Breakfast was a treat, full English and very tasty, fresh tea and coffee, toast. As I stated its not the best place you will ever stay for comfort or luxury but the experience and staff make it worthwhile.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperFJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I recently stayed three nights while visiting a relative.

There was a warm welcome and this continued throughout my stay.
My room was spacious, neat and spotlessly clean.

I could have done with a little more shelving/surface area, especially a place to do my make up. Perhaps as simple as a shelf under the mirror.

John and Jean and the other family members who work there are all lovely people and they made me feel at home.

I will be making regular return visits and I'm not going to look for any other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with an excellent en suite shower. The food was excellent, plentiful and reasonably priced and John keeps an excellent cellar. Jean and John are lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed several times over the last three months and our hosts were particularly helpful during what was a very difficult time for us. We would not think of going anywhere else. Irene & Philip

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Kath & i stayed at the Stork on Friday night (29/03/13) and we will certainly come back on another of our footy trips next season.

The hospitality and friendliness of our hosts was second to none and we were made to feel right at home from the moment we arrived. We booked an en suite room which was lovely, impeccably clean and comfortable.

We had a meal in the bar after we'd unpacked and both of our meals were terrific. I had the Rib Eye steak which was delicious and came with proper home cut chips and a generous coating of fried onions & mushrooms. Kathryn had the salmon which was nicely cooked and came with fresh vegetables and again, had a lovely home cooked taste. The same can be said about the breakfast which was also delicious.

We'd recommend anyone looking for an over night stay in this area to sack off the travleodge and enjoy a friendly, hospitable night in Billinge.

D & K

Room Tip: We stayed in the en suite room 8 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveAndKath92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here for the second time for a reunion.

Allocated last room, a family room, but was only charged their very low anyway single room rate! Room was warm clean and comfortable with an excellent hot shower!

Had a very ample breakfast on morning and can only highly recommend this hard working friendly pub and restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donnasfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

It's a pity you cannot review this place under restaurants aswell.
After reading trip advisor reviews we decided to give it a go.
We ordered the steak and chips which I would reccomend. The steak was very nice. It was so tasty. The apple pie desert was also nice. The serving staff were very friendly.
Good value for money.
Although where you eat is seperate from the bar (no door/wall) it can get a bit noisy if there is a football match on the tv.
This said i'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoodGrubMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Billinge
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lancashire Manor Hotel
3.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Wrightington Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn St. Helens (A580/East Lancs) Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
3.2 mi away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stork Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stork Hotel

Property: Stork Hotel
Address: 33 Main Street, Billinge WN5 7HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Billinge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Billinge
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing