We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jungle paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My fiancée and me spent 2 nights at this wonderful place!Francisco and his wife were extremely helpful and nice. The service was of very high quality. We enjoyed the beauty of the garden that surrounded our little house. The room and the bathroom were very clean, new and we liked the wood-and-brick design!It is a peaceful and cozy place with all you need: AC, free WiFi, excursions that you can buy directly from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

Las Orquideas Resort is a wonderful place to stay in. Francisco and his wife were very friendly and helpful to us. Room was very clean, cosy and comfortable, breakfast was very good, service - just great. We had a wonderful time there and would certainly come back there again!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed three nights at Las Orquideas, a modern and very comfortable 'resort' run by a Spanish chap and his wife. Although it calls itself a resort, we would more readily define it as a hotel or bed and breakfast.

Located on the southern edge of Khao Sok, you are within walking distance of three mini-markets (7-11 style) where you can pick up anything you might need (including spirits and fresh limes!). About 5 minutes walk to the north along the main road there are numerous restaurants and bars. For us our favourite by far was Pawn Restaurant. They serve incredible fruit slushies (they call them milkshakes!), the perfect recovery after spending a day hiking in the national park further up the road. The dinners were cheap, and also of an extremely high quality, varying from authentic Thai dishes (try the banana flower salad!) through to western standards (club sandwich with a Thai twist).

The 'resort' is located on the side of a fairly steep hill (adjacent to an incredible orchid garden..hence the name!), and if you get one of the rooms towards the back of the resort then you will be in for a short, but very steep walk up a bitumen driveway. Certainly no problem for us, but if you have mobility issues then you might want ask for a room closer to the reception. Wi-Fi access was excellent. The beds were very comfortable and the room (brick walls) was extremely well sealed from any mosquitos or other bugs. On a couple of evenings we took advantage of the balcony at the front of the room to take it easy sipping gin-and-tonics while watching the sunset and listening to the wildlife (squirrels I think) capering through the tree tops.

Breakfasts are served down at reception and were fantastic. The pineapple pancakes with honey were particularly tasty!

Getting into Khao Sok was fairly easy in the end. We were travelling from Koh Lanta (Moonlight Bay Resort) and wanted transport to take us all the way to Khao Sok. The hotel organised a van for us (the rate was the same as if we'd booked on the street at a travel agency) and it took us through to Krabi where we were dropped off at their offices (there's a great cafe about 150m to the east if you need a coffee or bite to eat). We had about a 45min wait before we were picked up in a taxi-truck. Nobody explained to us that this was only a 10min transfer to the bus terminal, so for a while we were concerned that we would be stuck in the back of the truck all the way to Khao Sok, but thankfully that wasn't the case! The bus terminal was absolute chaos! We were told to wait...that's all! Eventually we realised that they were calling out the destinations as the vans arrived. After another 30-40mins our van arrived and we all took off for Khao Sok where they transferred us to another van to take us the 3 minute drive to the hotel (we passed on the way in so we would have been fine walking if we had to). All up I think it took us about 5-6 hours from Koh Lanta to Khao Sok.

Getting out of Khao Sok was also easy, but if you're running to a strict timetable you might to do things differently to us. We were going to Khao Lak next and we had heard there was a public bus that we could use. The Las Orquideas staff confirmed that we simply had to wait at the shop on the main highway and flag the bus down when it arrived (Francisco kindly offered to drive us up there...probably would have been a 15-20min walk otherwise). We had about an hour wait before it arrived, but that was fine. The driver takes your backpacks and puts them in storage under the bus while you take a seat and pay the ticket seller on the bus. Dirt cheap and very comfortable!

Overall we were really happy with the resort and their staff and thoroughly recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Khao Sok and the surroundings!

(As this is a slightly 'out of the way' location, if anyone has any further questions please feel free to message me)

Room Tip: Close to reception, at the bottom of the hill, would be preferable for those with mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Las Orquideas Resort did not disappoint us. It was the perfect jungle retreat in the middle of our Thailand adventure. We too, appreciated the helpful and professional service of Francisco and Yee and their staff. Breakfasts are great, rooms are high class, WiFi is fast and works from everywhere....and the AC, the bathroom, the deck...all perfect! We'd recommend this place to anyone...actually I guess we are!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divetraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I
We went there because of the fame the guest house made up in these last few years. The cocktail is very easy: nice spot, touch of personal elegance (plants everywhere, glass shower cabin, nice sheets, wifi in bungalow) and service on top. Service is the key factor nowadays, and Francisco and his wife know it perfectly and do accordingly: we asked information about the park, and the next morning we were given complimentary tickets valid for a couple of days.
I am sure their next undertaking due to open in a few months time will be a tremendous success: they both deserve it.

Room Tip: All bungalows have shadow and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertolong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort proved to be the best place we stayed at during our three week trip in Southern Thailand.
The resort is run by a Spanish owner Francisco and his wife. The first amazing feature is their outstanding customer service and destination knowledge. They are both helpful and extremely friendly chatting with the guests and treating them as if they if were sharing their own home with them. They helped us from the minute of our arrival in Khao Sok; helped with questions about places to dine; booked excursions and even our transport onward.
The resort itself is spread throughout a beautiful and very natural piece of jungle with colourful flowers and tiny paths... It consists of several huts and bungalows. There is also a house with a huge patio where the meals are being served. Details of a hut we stayed at are listed below. The jungle itself gives you a real 'in-touch with nature' experience with cicadas louder than you have ever heard before.
Breakfast was also great including home-made Thai pancakes, home-made marmalade and fresh bananas and pineapples.
Location is also excellent with the entrance to the park just a short 5minutes walk.
We had an opportunity to compare our place with another resort in the area and the difference was overwhelming! Much better conditions and still a good value.

What else to wish for???

Room Tip: We chose a family hut which features a huge room with a double bad downstairs with a big patio-terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagdalaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Absolutely spotless, beautiful bungalow in idyllic surroundings. We'd been in the bungalow 5 minutes and a group of macques swung past, sitting on the cool balcony we were visited by lots of local residents - flying lizards, burmese striped squirrels - amazing! The breakfast was nice and different on both the mornings we had it, the owners were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the swimming pool was empty but otherwise we loved staying here and were sad not too have booked in for longer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinfridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khao Sok National Park
1.9 mi away
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
Khao Sok Silver Cliff Resort
#4 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
Khao Sok Paradise Resort
#6 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Our Jungle Camp - Eco Resort
Our Jungle Camp - Eco Resort
#5 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
Khao Sok Green Valley Resort
#7 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morning Mist Resort
Morning Mist Resort
#1 of 1 in Phanom
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
Khao Sok Riverfront Resort
#8 of 10 in Khao Sok National Park
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort

Address: 343 Moo 6, Khao Sok National Park 84250, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Khao Sok National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Khao Sok National Park
Price Range: £22 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be surprised by our Thai style bungalows...of Thai aesthetics, but with European comfort inside. They are on the edge of the jungle, and the panoramic windows allow you to feel it and live it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Khao Sok Las Orquideas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Sok Las Orquideas Hotel Khao Sok National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing