We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,128)
Filter reviews
2,128 results
Traveller rating
1,855
195
52
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,855
195
52
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elephant experience floating tents amazing experience cooking demonstration local market whole experience local school children the river guide bua evening entertainment bucket list thai dancing once in a lifetime our honeymoon luxury tents from start to finish amazing animals
Filter
Updating list...
1,060 - 1,065 of 2,128 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Well, what can I say, Elephant hills made our honeymoon what it was, simply amazing. We stayed in Elephant hills for one night where we fed and washed the elephants, went on a river canoe and saw a local school perform local dances. The next day we drove for an hour or so to the jungle camp, where we stayed for 2 nights. The jungle camp was an unbelievable experience. We went on a hike in the jungle where we saw loads of monkeys, we went kayaking, again seeing loads of Monkeys, and we got to chill at our floating tent and swim and kayak at our leisure. The best part, no internet or phone signal, so you are completely switched off from the world. Your tent at the lake is solar powered, so if you use all your power on charging your phone / camera, you'll have no power to run the fans / lights. Such an amazing experience, with amazing staff (Meow and Chart were our guides, and they were brilliant, so funny, helpful and knowledgeable). The food was great, and varied each day. Waking up each morning to the sound of monkeys talking to each other is a sound I will never forget, simply magical! Everything ran like clockwork, never once were we left waiting for a transfer or a boat. Such a well run experience. Would recommend Elephant Hills to everybody, for the young, the elderly and everyone in between. One tiny tiny niggle, you can't bring your suitcase from Elephant hills to the jungle tent, so you have to bring a seperate over night bag which we weren't told about so I had to try and fit everything in my hang bag which wasn't ideal, but wouldn't take away from the experience at all. Can't wait to return to Elephant hills in the future.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nikkid86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elephant_Hills, Marketing at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear Nikkid86,

Many Thanks for this outstanding review, it was our pleasure to welcome you!

We are more than happy to hear you had fun staying with us and enjoyed the beautiful nature and our Camps in Khao Sok Nationalpark.

Let us know, when you come back!! :) :)

Greetings from one of the world's oldest rainforests,

Julie and the Elephant Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

So, you have read all the feedback and decided you want to book a few nights. Great choice. BUT ... please remember that you ARE staying in a real jungle - not some American blockbuster Hollywood sort of jungle.

You WILL get hot. You WILL get sweaty . You WILL get bitten by mozzies. So, providing you are not expecting some 5* air con tent with a fridge and slippers you will be fine.

So now you know the reality let's talk resort. Fantastic. One word needed really.

From the super friendly staff, the incredible treks, the awesome food and the new friends you will make, this really is a top place to spend 2 or 3 nights.

Each day you are treated to something new - whether it's canoeing through the mangrove channels or being lazy on a lake, feeding amd scrubbing elephants or hicking to hunt snakes, it's a place that gets you truely back to nature.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elephant_Hills, Marketing at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear Brighton T,

Thanks for taking the time and reviewing us here- great one too!

It was our pleasure to have you staying in our camps and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the nature to its fullest!

We hope you made great memories and send warm regards from the jungle,

Julie and the Elephant Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

First time in Thailand and we wanted to see the real Thailand before we went to relax in a hotel. So arrived the first day and were greeted by some lovely people and our guide, just enough time to put our cases in the tent then straight into the adventure, we were taken to a river and we got to kayak down the river with a local guide the sights were amazing, we saw monkeys and frogs and some great mountain cliffs, then taken to the elephants and WOW!!! This was out of this world, our guid was so well up on his knowledge of the local forests and the tribes that look after the elephants, washing and feeding these animals was a pleasure and something I will always remember. Day 2 was to the local market and then to the national park and a longboat ride out to their camps on the lake, we swam in the lake and the water was perfect nice long relaxing day, on day 3 we left camp at 9am and walked in the jungle for 3 hours (including a great lunch stop) Bamboo was our guide for this and she was great, funny and all the information about how the jungle is used was a real eye opener (in a good way). Overall if the rest of the holiday in Thailand is this good I'll be boring people for many a year. Thanks guys for the amazing experience myself and Geta are wrecked and most grateful for all your hospitality we will be recommending this tour to our friends. But for now we will relax and recover in Khao Lak for the week

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elephant_Hills, Marketing at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear Phil H,

Many Thanks for the stunning review - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest!

We will pass on your regards to the staff, thanks a lot!

Should you want to come back and bring friends...just drop us a mail :) :)

Warm Regards from the jungle,

Julie and the Elephant Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

We did the three night, four day rainforest safari. The elephant experience was superb. A privilege to be up close with these beasts, and clearly respected and well cared for.
The floating tents were amazing. Waking up to the sound of gibbons and monkeys singing and howling was a once in a lifetime experience. Kayaking, flopping in and out of the lake, exploring the forest on foot. The trip was everything we hoped for
And Tik was a brilliant and helpful guide. Thank you

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elephant_Hills, Marketing at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear Andy C,

Many Thanks for the great review and we are happy to hear you had an amazing time!

We will pass on your regards to Tik and we hope you will not forget your adventures in one of the world's oldest rainforests! :)

Let us know if you'd like to return at some stage!

Warm regards,

Julie and the Elephant Hills Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

First of all, booking and confirming a reservation via email was easy and they were quick to respond to all questions. We were beginning our visit from the island of Koh Samui so Elephant Hills had a representative pick us up at the home we were staying in and escort us to Naiton Pier where we took the Seatrain ferry to Donask. Upon arriving we then were taken by van to the camp. We booked the 3 day/2 night program which began with lunch at the rainforest camp upon arrival. Bua was our guide for the entire adventure and she was great. Great English and knowledge of birds, monkeys, and the history of the National Park. She accompanied us on the bus, the canoe ride, to the elephants and to the river camp as well.

We were given tent #23 ( of 21 - 25) which appeared to be a newer tent in a newer section because the vegetation around it was not as dense or big as in the older section of tents. I liked the look of # 15, 16,17 and 18 - very scenic and not as close together as in the newer area. We could hear our neighbors on both sides as the tents were closer in the group of tents 21 - 25. Numbers 1 -20 appear to be older because of the growth of the vegetation and happily housed more birds as well. Our area had a sweet kitty roaming around so I was happy. Tents 1- 6 may hear more road noise.

On our second day, after visiting a market we headed to the dock to take our boat ride to the river camp. Here there are 20 units divided by two central areas used for dining and meeting.

We were given #14, two down from one of the central areas. # 15 and #16 are on either side of one of the central areas but noise didn't seem to be an issue. If I were requesting, which is probably hard to accommodate, I would request #18, 19 or 20. And #11 - #14 would have been good choices - all of these are just further from the central dining areas. Though tent #1 is at one end and farther from a dining area, these units might have more boat and generator noise as this is where the boats gas up and supplies are delivered. Each tent comes with their own kayak and you can take off on the group tours of the river or by yourself. In this area, we saw dusky Langurs and one wild boar on the far side of the river.
This area is fascinating as the geography looks similar to Guilin and Yangshuo China with the karst formations - as well as Halong Bay in Vietnam. There were several families there with kids probably age 8 and up. I'm not sure how younger kids would be handled, but the guides were great with the older kids and made it special for them. . I'd recommend for sure.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elephant_Hills, Marketing at Elephant Hills Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2016

Dear zinniaqueen,

Thank you very much taking the time to write such a detailed review about us!

We are glad you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you made some everlasting memories :)

Lost of love from the thai jungle,

Julie and the Elephant Hills team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews