We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in Beeston”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grove Guest House

Grove Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grove Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Beeston B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Beeston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at the Grove for 5 nights in total during our 3 week round-trip to Britain (well, mainly Scotland) as part of revisiting our old uni haunts in Notts. It's a convenient place to stay in Beeston. You pay pretty much when you walk in (CC at a 3% surcharge). Our welcome was business-like yet friendly. Be prepared to climb some steep & narrow stairs to your room. Our room (9) on the top floor was rather on the small side for 2 people - no place for your luggage, but the double bed was okay in size. This is a guest house (not B&B), and (a basic) breakfast is only served at a surcharge of about 4 quid pp. However, a Coop is just around the corner, so do your own. And you have a practical microwave/ oven/ grill combo at your disposal in a small kitchen for evening meals (small table in the room). The bed is made and used cups are replaced every day. Apart from payment the owner doesn't bother you, which is good but if you prefer the classic B&B touch this won't be your place. Conclusion: very good if you're looking for a practical no fuss place to stay in Beeston, within easy reach of places like uni campus or QMC but also Nottingham city centre. If in Beeston we'd stay there again!

Room Tip: Room 9 is very small for 2 people, though it's practical to have the microwave/ oven combo and k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Ideal location for Dusk till Dawn casino only a couple of miles away. Top floor room, very clean and nicely decorated. Tea & Coffee available rooms got refreshed when were out, Couldn't really ask for anything else. shops near by. Will go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 & 9 top floor ideal for family or 4 adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

There's nothing about this place that I can really fault. It would have been nice to have breakfast included in the cost (they offer a continental breakfast for £3.50 extra) but at £45 for a double room, or £22.50 per person, and £26 for a single room, I was willing to overlook the fact that they didn't provide any. Granted, Beeston is not exactly renowned for being a vibrant, touristy place but still.....=P Stayed in a clean, quiet and comfortable double standard room on the first floor facing towards the back of the guest house which felt like an en-suite because the bathroom was right next to our room and there didn't seem to be anyone occupying the adjacent two rooms on the night we stayed. The room was sufficiently big and the double bed was very comfy. There was an extra duvet in the wardrobe in case you needed it. There was also a microwave and a small fridge, along with tea and coffee-making facilities. The fold-up chair and table were also pretty handy and obviously didn't occupy too much space. The TV worked fine and was a good distance away from the bed. The Wi-fi was patchy and could have been better, as could the shower pressure in the bathroom. There is a Co-op just round the corner and Beeston town centre is only a 15-20 minute walk away. Payment is taken on arrival, best to bring cash as there is a charge for debit and credit card payments. All in all, a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melancholymayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great place to stay in Nottingham. Owners are friendly and very helpful. Rooms are well equipped with microwaves, electric kettle (tea, coffee and fixings) and fridge. Narrow and steep stairs so heavy luggage is not easy maneuver. There's a Coop store around the corner so food and supplies are nearby. Free parking available too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nylicence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Top floor room, very clean and nicely decorated. Continental breakfast good idea :-) use of fridge and crockery even a microwave. Couldn't really ask for anything else. Be prepared to have the cash ready as you need to pay pretty much as soon as you walk in! Other than being shown to the room didn't see owner again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beeston
0.3 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Beeston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hylands Hotel
Hylands Hotel
#32 of 54 in Nottingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.3 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 54 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
2.5 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#34 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 54 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Guest House

Property: Grove Guest House
Address: 8 Grove Street, Beeston, Nottingham NG9 1JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Beeston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Beeston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Guest House Beeston, Nottingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing